Horror logo

There's Someone Inside Your House

Not disappointed, just confused

By Nicole Renee "ItsFearHerself"Published 2 years ago 3 min read
2

This film was a roller coaster of emotions, storylines, and plot twists. While I would call it a slow burner it did hold my attention for the entire film. Staring Sydney Park, Theodore Pellerin, and Dale Whibley the film lives up to its title. While the plot of the film is over used, the writer put their own twist on the film making it entertaining and interesting. Would I recommend the film? Yes, if you have nothing else to watch and are looking for some light-hearted horror.

There are no dramatic jump scares in this film which I absolutely love. To be honest I am over the jump scares. I think it’s an easy escape from actual terrifying content that can be made and produced. However, the kills were not bad in my opinion. Mostly with either a classic kitchen knife or a Taser they did get pretty creative with the killings. The killer remained anonymous until the very end which is typical. I will say the killer did not make sense to me in regard to the entire storyline. Without spoiling the film, I will say the killer was a shock and not for a good reason. The motive was off and not believable when it came to the killer. Yes, the person they wanted the audience to think it was of course was obvious. However, the actual killer was so far left it had me very confused. Perhaps I need to watch the film again to try and pick up some clues and hints.

The way the film was shot was brilliant. I give props to the cinematographer when it comes to the camera angles and the lighting of the film. The lighting alone really got me into the mood of the film and sucked me in as a viewer. The camera angels made the film way more daunting than it actually was which is a plus as well. The acting in the film was not bad at all either. The actors all played their roles believably well. They were likeable as their characters as well which is a plus for the film. And the chemistry between the cast was relatable and pure as can be with a horror film like so. I was not disappointed with their skills at all.

The plot twists within this film were all over the place. The main plot twist that involved the main character Makani played by Sydney Park was not shocking but quite disturbing. Due to all the flashbacks throughout the film it was pretty evident what was going on. It’s the way it happened that made it so twisted. The other plot twists with the rest of the characters weren’t so dramatic. Also like I mentioned before, the killer reveal was such a shock to me because it genuinely didn’t make sense to me.

All in all, I would only recommend this film if you had nothing else to do and wanted to catch up on what’s new and current on Netflix. Like I mentioned earlier, the initial plot is over used so much within the horror and thriller genre. That alone made me hesitant about putting the film on. However, I did give it a try. Was I disappointed? I was not, I just wish it turned out to be a little better when it came to the killer’s reveal. Why he would kill everyone but the last person is beyond me. But like I said as well maybe I wasn’t looking for the clues hard enough. Give “There’s Someone Inside Your House”, a try and let me know what you think. Maybe I’m overthinking it, or maybe I simply didn’t get it. However, I wouldn’t knock it until you tried it at least once.

movie review
2

About the Creator

Nicole Renee "ItsFearHerself"

After founding her production company ItsFearHerself, solely writing, producing, and directing horror films. She’s made a wave in reviewing horror films, books, and TV as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.