Horror logo

The Woods (Pt. 2)

Part 2

By Brittaney EllisPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like
Wallpapers Wide

Jenny got home around dusk. She was happy it was getting late. Less time she had to wait to go get Tracy. She didn't know what that thing was but she hated it. It had destroyed her life. She wanted it dead but didn't know how to make it happen. She figured out that anger is what brings you to it. It's what brought her to it the first time, but she wasn't sure what brought her back. She hoped that maybe if she didn't look at it this time it wouldn't paralyze her and she could find Tracy. Maybe she knew how to get home. She had helped Jenny get out last time.

Jenny's parents went to sleep around ten. Jenny crept quietly out of the house, through the woods to that log. She sat down and closed her eyes. Just like before she could hear the life of the woods all around her. She started thinking about the creature that took Tracy. The thing that had made her life hell for the past year. Tears started streaming down her face. She was mad. Furious even. But she was still in the woods. She closed her eyes again, even madder that it wasn't working.

She opened her eyes. She was in the field. Just like last time, the creature stood on the edge of the field but this time Jenny didn't try to see its face. Instead, she stood up and ran in the other direction. She made it to the edge of the field and glanced back. The creature didn't move. Just hovered, facing her. She kept running. She ran through brush and over a stream until she reached a rock wall. She stopped and looked around. There wasn't much to see. She walked along the wall until she came to an opening. She stepped through it into another field but this one was never-ending, it seemed to be all there was in all directions. There were people all over. Just wandering around. They all had the same tired look as Tracy. She must be here. This must be where the angry people go. Tracy has to be here!! Jenny began walking through the field of people. Looking at their faces. All of them looked haunted and sorrowful. Where was Tracy? Jenny started to yell. "Tracy! Tracy where are you?! Tracy!!" Suddenly, all the people started to move toward her. She stood frozen for a moment. Then she realized that they weren't all moving towards her. They seemed to be making a path for her. She started walking through the path. They were leading her away from the rock wall and to the thing on the other side. She walked for what felt like hours but the sun never moved. Finally, she could see a small barn. She walked to the door and knocked. Tracy opened the door.

Jenny threw her arms around Tracy and started to cry. "I found you!" she said. Tracy pulled Jenny in the door and slammed it. She looked mad. "What's wrong Tracy? Aren't you happy to see me?"

"No!" yelled Tracy. "Why are back here?! I sent you home. Why would you come back?"

"I wanted to save you," Jenny said.

Tracy laughed. "Save me? I don't need saving. This place belongs to me. I am their queen."

Jenny didn't understand. How could Tracy be the queen of this place? What was this place? Tracy could see the confusion on Jenny's face. "Sit down," Tracy said. "I'll explain."

"When I disappeared last year I ended up here. In the same field with the same creature that greeted you. At first, I was confused but when the creature approached me it didn't frighten me. Instead, when it looked in my eyes, I frightened it. It saw the darkness in me. I've always had a rage in me that never went away. So when I got here, I fit right in. This is the kingdom of angry souls and the patch of woods behind our house is the portal. The creature used to run the show, stealing the angry souls that entered the woods and trapping them here to spend the rest of time wallowing in their anger. He fed on their anger, it's all that kept him alive. Now he lives off the scraps I give him. So you see, I am the queen of anger. Anger is one of the most powerful emotions that humans experience. As long as that patch of woods behind our house stands, my power will continue to grow and soon I will be strong enough to open the portal wider and bring more souls to live under my rule."

Jenny couldn't believe what Tracy was saying. All those poor souls. "Why did you send me home the first time?" she asked. "Why not just add me to your collection?"

Tracy smirked "You have never fully experienced anger. You've been mad but never experienced true rage. Until then your soul serves no purpose to me."

Jenny sat silently for a moment. Tracy began to speak again but Jenny didn't hear her. All she could hear was the blood rushing through her veins. She leaped across the room at Tracy. They fell to the floor. Jenny began to pummel Tracy with both hands locked together like a big hammer. Tracy began laughing, spitting blood onto the floor. She grabbed both sides of Jenny's face and said: " You're mine."

Six months later.....

Jenny's mom and dad sat in the moving van in front of the house. They sat and stared at the woods. They had been sitting there for a very long time when Jenny's mom finally said: " Do it." Her dad got out of the van grabbed a jug of gas. He walked into the woods. He poured the gas as he walked back and forth. He circled back to where he had entered and stopped. He set the jug down and pulled a cigarette from his pocket and lit it. He quit when Jenny was born. Too much to live for he said. But what was the point now? He dropped the cigarette in the puddle of gas at his feet and stepped back. He whispered, "I love you girls," turned and walked away. They watched the glow of the fire grow as they drove away.

The End.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Brittaney Ellis

Writing allows my mind to wander free.....

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.