Horror logo

The Woods

A Photographer and Her Encounters with the Haunted Happenings in the Start Forest

By Amanda DeGrassePublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

It’s five in the morning and it’s a crisp fall Saturday morning. I decided to go for a walk in the local woods. I have my bags packed and my camera ready for some leaf peeping. It’s New England and the trees are so full of color and life. My best work is done in early October when the leaves get super yellow and bright orange. I’m a freelance photographer and mostly do this gig as a hobby—but lately my work has been in demand, which isn’t a bad thing. I capture beautiful New England and all it has to offer. Today I am heading to the Freetown woods because I hear the trees are beautiful and the paths are cool. Local legends say it’s haunted and very spooky. I’m not a big believer in that crap, but maybe I’ll catch something on camera?!

I pull into the parking lot, get out of my car and grab my gear. The place was jamming with bikers, hikers, dirt bikers, and walkers like myself. Lots of old women—I call them a gaggle because they remind me of geese when they walk in a group. I see signs that read: “If you see anything suspicious, such as fishing line strung from tree to tree, call the police department right away and report it.” I make a mental note to Google it later because that seems so weird to me; who would do that? I consider asking them about the signs, but decided against it. I smiled, passing them and looking up into the trees, developing a plan of action.

I choose this great path. It’s full of awesome colors! I start getting my camera set up to get my shots in when suddenly my camera powers off and will not turn back on. I’m thinking no big deal, I brought a back up battery pack—I got this. Wrong! Still no luck; won’t turn on. Wonderful. I’m so confused, but it’s OK. This isn’t going to be a day-ender. I grab my phone that has a decent camera and start snapping some photos.

I start walking deeper into the wooded path and my phone dies. WTF?! At this point I’m feeling defeated and seriously think it’s time to head back to my car and just start my day over. I look down at my watch and realized that too had stopped ticking. The time it stopped at was 10 AM. Wonderful. I notice that there is no sound in these woods—I mean no birds chirping, nothing. I think it’s odd, and it has such a creepy factor to it, as I’m alone and left my dog home.

Out of the corner of my eye I see three little blue, orange, and yellow lights. They are dancing in the distance around what looks like a campfire. I didn’t recall seeing anyone or even hearing anyone off in the distance. Wait? A campfire? I think to myself. You can’t camp here? Can you? Then, I hear it: Loud as anything, chanting and singing. It sounds like drums and stomping, but the sound has faded a little. I crouch behind some bushes to get a better look at the situation and there is nothing—nobody. Am I going mad?! At this point I’m freaking out and I’m covered in goosebumps. As I’m sitting there in a state of disbelief, I hear cracking of sticks and someone or something laughing hysterically. This laugh was so full of mischief. Before I know it, I feel like I'm being pelted by tiny little pebbles. I decided that it’s time to head out, because now I’m officially freaked out. I get out of my hiding place and grab my things and head to my car. As I’m walking through the woods to the main path it feels like someone or something grabbed my ankle. I lose my footing and fall, smashing my face against a broken log. I go to stand slowly when right in my peripheral view I see a short creature looking at me, laughing. I think to myself, great I bumped my head an have a concussion. No. I sure didn’t. The creature approaches me, looks at me, and let’s out this hideous scream.

I take off running on what I assume is a sprained ankle, blood gushing from my broken nose, and I am just about to get back on the main trail when I see them. There were about 20 of them, all looking at me through the bushes and trees: Pointed teeth, long noses, and small pea-sized eyes. They had on tattered vests and a small coin purse by their sides. Some had weapons strapped on their backs as if they were waiting to wage a war upon me. I hear a warrior cry from the distance and the little creatures scatter. I am now sprinting to the exit.

I’m in my car and it won’t start. My shit box car won’t even turn over. I am panicking. I am looking around when realize I am the only one in the parking lot—how can this be?! There seemed like there was at least 30 or so people parked here before. I grab my phone and thankfully my phone turns on, but so does my camera. It’s going off in my bag like crazy. What the hell is going on?! I look into my rear view mirror and see this thing crawling on all fours out of the woods. It’s all white, with pure black eyes, white glossy looking skin, and the most terrible terrifying thing of all was its mouth. It was just teeth, sharp, pointy teeth. It was making a B-line for my car. I’m hysterical. I’m calling AAA and trying to get a tow. I have now lost sight of this creature.

I look straight ahead and standing in front of my car is a man. Not just any man, but what looks like an angel. He’s beautiful, he had white hair, bright blue eyes, grayish skin, and seemed to be draped in a gold cloth. I feel at peace, no longer afraid. All of a sudden my car starts! I can go! I can leave! I took no hesitation, put the pedal to the metal, and left, leaving the woods in the dust.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Amanda DeGrasse

I love to write short stories. I am a lover of horror, fantasy, space, and Aliens. Writing has always been my outlet and a place to escape from real life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.