Horror logo

The White Cord

My Involuntary Vacation

By Stephanie KitchensPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

It was the summer of 2010. I was living in a public housing duplex by myself and working night shift at a local nursing home. One night I had a very stressful shift. We were short handed and one of the resident's I really liked died. When I got home from work that morning I ate my pancakes with a couple of shots of whisky and crashed landed on my couch. I was still in my uniform with my work shoes, gate belt and name tag on. I threw my blanket over my head and prayed that the morning sun would disappear.

When I woke up hours later it was dark and around 9pm. My tv had kicked off and I had forgotten to turn on the lights. I got back up and started heading for the lamp in the corner. I reached out to it and I couldn't grab it. When I finally got ahold of the light switch it wouldn't turn on. "That's odd. Is the power out?" I walked over to my living room wall switch and tried to turn on the ceiling light. I kept trying to hit the switch but it was like I couldn't feel it. Suddenly my hand went through the wall and the ceiling light finally came on! I looked at my hand. "What the hell is going on?" I turned around and I was even more afraid. There is someone lying on my couch!

I got closer to the person lying on my couch. There was a blanket over the person and they were face down. When I pulled the blanket back I was even more confused. It was ME! I was seeing myself! How am I seeing myself?! What is going on?! I started trying to shake myself awake and I wouldn't wake up! "WAKE UP!! THIS IS DANGEROUS!!" But I still couldn't wake myself up. Then I noticed something odd. There was a white cord going from my body to the other version of me on the couch. It was made out of light and almost looked silver at times. I walked to the end of the room and the cord got longer. When I got closer to the other version of myself on the couch the cord got shorter. "OK! YOU NEED TO WAKE UP NOW!!!" I said to myself.

Suddenly I started floating above myself. It was like I was Super Mario. I was trying to run but I'm floating above my body. Then I sensed it behind me. I looked up and there was a black hole in my ceiling and set of glowing eyes looking down at me. Now I'm trying to swim in the air towards my body and slap myself. "WAKE UP NOW! I AM IN DANGER!!" I WAS TERRIFIED!! I started trying to pray but every time I would try to say Jesus I couldn't speak. "Je...." Slowly and gradually I was being lifted towards this hole in the ceiling. Then I heard a female voice say from out of no where. "Don't look at it! Just think of Him. Just like the disciples when Jesus told them to walk on water to him. Focus all of your mind on Jesus." I couldn't see her but I could hear her. She was right in my ear. "Je...." I was almost there. "JESUS CHRIST IS LORD!!! GET THEE BEHIND ME!!!" Suddenly I fell back into myself on the couch. When I woke up I could not move but I could still see the hole in the ceiling. I lie there for what felt like half an hour. Then just as soon as I could move I jumped up and ran to the lamp. When I turned the knob it came on. "JESUS!!!" I looked up at the ceiling and the black hole was gone.

Years later I decided to do research on what had happened to me. Its called "astral projection". When you get drunk or do drugs you invite spirits into your life. This particular spirit tried to pull me out of my body with the intention of hijacking it. The female voice that I heard who was telling me to focus on Jesus was the only thing stopping it from doing what it wanted to. I believe she was an angel. I have always wanted to go on vacation but that is one vacation I never want to take again. No matter how stressed out you are don't let it get the best of you. Stay grounded!!

Sources:

Astral Projection: https://www.gaia.com/article/what-is-astral-projection

https://www.erinpavlina.com/blog/2006/12/the-dangers-of-astral-projection/

=

2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.