Horror logo

The Watcher in the Dark

A Tale of Fear and Paranoia

By SugumarPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Watcher in the Dark
Photo by Thomas Willmott on Unsplash

CHARACTERS :

  1. The protagonist: The narrator of the story, who is afraid of the dark and experiences a traumatic encounter with a mysterious figure.
  2. The mysterious figure: A tall, thin man with a gaunt face and long bony fingers, who is first seen by the protagonist during a stormy night. He is wearing a tattered black coat and his hair is wild and unkempt. He claims to have been watching the protagonist for a long time and warns them that they cannot escape him.
  3. The storm: A powerful storm that serves as a backdrop to the protagonist's encounter with the mysterious figure. The sound of the rain and wind add to the tension and suspense of the story.

It was a aphotic and bitter night. The rain was advancing bottomward in sheets, anguish adjoin the windows and drowning out all added sounds. I was all abandoned in my old, age-old house, aggravating to avoid the activity that I was actuality watched.

I had consistently been abashed of the dark. As a child, I acclimated to brainstorm all sorts of monsters ambuscade in the shadows, cat-and-mouse to grab me and annoyance me abroad to their lair. As I got older, I anticipation I had outgrown these fears, but now I was starting to anticipate that maybe I was wrong.

I approved to focus on the book I was reading, but the words kept abashing together, my apperception too absent with the sounds of the storm. Suddenly, I heard a loud crepitate from upstairs. I froze, my affection anguish in my chest.

I hesitated for a moment, aggravating to argue myself that it was aloof the wind or the old abode settling. But afresh I heard it again, this time followed by footsteps. They were apathetic and deliberate, advancing afterpiece and closer.

I accolade out of my armchair and backed away, my duke afraid as I accomplished for the lamp on the table. I angry it on, calamity the allowance with light. And that's aback I saw him.

He was continuing in the doorway, his eyes aglow in the dark. He was alpine and thin, with a angular face and long, awkward fingers. He was cutting a decrepit atramentous coat, and his beard was agrarian and unkempt.

I screamed and stumbled backwards, benumbed over my own anxiety and falling to the floor. The amount avant-garde on me, a bad-natured smile overextension beyond his face. I was bedridden with fear, clumsy to move as he approached.

And afresh he spoke, his articulation a abrasion whisper. "I've been watching you," he said. "For a actual continued time. You can't escape me, no amount how adamantine you try."

I approved to scream, but no complete came out. I was trapped, absolutely at his mercy. And then, aloof as aback as he had appeared, he was gone. The allowance was empty, the storm still angry outside.

I was abandoned again, but I was far from relieved. I knew that he was still out there, watching me, cat-and-mouse for his abutting adventitious to strike. And I additionally knew that I could never go aback to the way things were before.

From that day on, I was never absolutely alone. I could feel his attendance everywhere, consistently ambuscade in the shadows, consistently cat-and-mouse for me. I was apparitional by his voice, his smile, and the ability that he was consistently watching me.

Years went by, and I anticipation I had assuredly managed to escape him. I had confused to a new city, started a new life. But then, one day, I accustomed a letter in the mail. It was from him, I aloof knew it.

I opened the envelope with afraid hands, my affection anguish in my chest. And there it was, a distinct allotment of cardboard with aloof two words accounting in a familiar, scrawling script: "I'm back."

I angry to run, but he was already there, continuing abaft me with a adverse smile on his face. And afresh I woke up, decrepit in diaphoresis and abashed with fear.

But alike as I lay there in my bed, I knew that it was alone a amount of time afore he begin me again. He was consistently watching, consistently waiting, and there was boilerplate I could go to escape him.

footagevintagetv reviewsupernaturalpsychologicalmovie reviewmonsterhalloweenfictionbook reviews
Like

About the Creator

Sugumar

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.