Horror logo

The Vampire's Interview

A Journalist's Encounter with the Undead

By Martian Published about a year ago 3 min read
13
The Vampire's Interview
Photo by Vitaliy Shevchenko on Unsplash

I sat across from the vampire, nervously tapping my pen on my notebook. This was the interview of a lifetime, a chance to learn about the mysterious world of the undead from one of its most notorious inhabitants.

He leaned back in his chair, his pale skin almost glowing in the dim light of the room. His eyes seemed to twinkle with a dangerous energy, and I felt a shiver run down my spine.

"Are you afraid of me?" he asked, his voice low and seductive.

I swallowed hard, trying to keep my composure. "No, I'm not afraid. I'm just... fascinated."

He smirked, revealing his sharp fangs. "Of course you are. Everyone is fascinated by us. But they don't truly understand what we are."

He leaned forward, his eyes locking onto mine. "We are predators, you know. We hunt and we kill, and we do it with a savage pleasure that humans can never comprehend."

I felt a cold sweat break out on my forehead. This was not the interview I had expected.

He continued, his voice becoming more and more hypnotic. "But we are also creatures of immense power. We can move faster than the eye can see, and we can control the minds of those weaker than ourselves."

I tried to stand up and leave, but I found myself rooted to my chair, unable to move.

The vampire smiled, revealing his gleaming teeth. "Don't be afraid, my dear. You have nothing to fear from me... yet."

And with that, he disappeared in a blur of motion, leaving me alone in the dark room, filled with a sense of dread that would stay with me for the rest of my life.

I had always been fascinated by the idea of vampires. As a writer for a paranormal magazine, I had read countless stories about these creatures of the night, but I had never believed that they could actually exist.

Until I met him.

He had contacted me out of the blue, offering to give me an interview for my magazine. At first, I had been skeptical, but when he had sent me a photograph of himself, I knew that he was the real deal.

I had been hesitant to meet him in person, but he had insisted on it. And now, here I was, alone in a dark room with a vampire who had just demonstrated his powers of mind control.

I tried to shake off the feeling of unease that had settled over me. I was a journalist, after all. I couldn't let fear get in the way of a good story.

But as I sat there, waiting for him to return, I couldn't help but feel that something was terribly wrong.

The room was silent, except for the sound of my own breathing. The air was thick with the scent of blood, and I realized with a start that I could feel my own heartbeat pounding in my chest.

And then, suddenly, he was there again, standing in front of me with a look of amusement on his face.

"Are you ready for the interview, my dear?" he asked.

I nodded, still too afraid to speak.

He smiled again, his eyes twinkling with an otherworldly light. "Very well, then. Let's begin."

And so we began to talk, he and I. He told me stories of his long life, of the people he had known and the places he had seen. He spoke of his own kind, the other vampires who lived in the shadows of the human world.

As he spoke, I felt myself becoming more and more entranced. His voice was like a siren's song, drawing me in and holding me captive.

But....?

fictionbook reviews
13

About the Creator

Martian

Fantasy - Writer

Secrets - Teller

Information - Provider

Sometimes - Teacher

Awareness - Maker

Come along with me as I investigate the limitless possibilities of Everything. Together, let's make something spectacular.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.