Horror logo

The Two-Faced Demon

Short horror story inspired by the life of Edward Mordake.

By Erica RosePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

"Two-Face Demon"- Horror Story Inspired by the life of Edward Mordake (also known as Mordrake)

"Kill them. Kill them all." It whispered to me as I tossed and turned through the night. No one understood the torment I endured from this demon placed upon my head. It snickered at my thoughts, the smile it gave was that of nightmares. Ohw how I have pleaded to god to end my suffering, how I've pleaded to doctors to remove this monstrosity from me. I am just a poor man no matter my riches, I shall always be poor by grief. I have written out great operas, drenched in the tears of my heart, yet never shall I play them to the world. I shall never give it what it wants, no matter the temptation. "Let me be seen, let me curse their young, let me beckon the gates to release seekers to clinch their souls, let me devour!", The wickedness, only in hell could I imagine such things said, yet it refuses to stop, I must stop it, even if it kills me. I knew from a young age I would never have the solitude of life that I seek, for even in my mothers eyes I could see the sadness she bestowed upon me. A child with two faces, one normal one, and one on the back of the head. Children have always screamed at the sight of it, at the sight of me. I once had hope, hope that doctors would somehow remove this demon, yet they have rejected me of any such hope, instead I've become known as a horrendous creature, lectured about in the papers. The demon shows me no pity when I cry, instead it smiles at my distraught and whispers foul words into my mind. I've tried to gag it, I've tried to suffocate it into my pillow, I've tried to drown the damn thing, yet it resists being called back to hell. I believe that there is only one way to be rid of this creature, though I fear it will continue it's whispers in the grave. I have shut myself away from the world, in hopes that they shall all forget of the man with two faces, and I will be forgotten into an urban tale told to scare children to bed. I know the hideous torments that could await me, but none shall ever trample the torment I have endured. I take no hesitation, and pour a glass of whiskey to ease myself. I thought my hands would at least tremble, yet my body feels no hesitation. The demon giggles, mocking me. "Nothing will stop me, I will whisper in the air and earth, I will feed on the blood and call out to my sisters and brothers!"I'm smiling, it does not realize I feel no fear at this moment. I inject the contents of the vile I had claimed from a man who took pity upon me. I have never felt so peaceful, even as it laughs. I can feel even the smells and aromas around me, never have I felt such sweetness. Never have I yearned so much for such a feeling, I must bid you farewell now though. I can see a flicker of green light, with yellows dancing around it, this is it. My sweet death embraces me with it's kiss.

History of Edward Mordake:

Edward Mordake was born with two faces, one of them being placed among the back of his skull, and was a late 18th century and early 19th century heir to an English Peerage. In 1896 a medical record of him was recorded into "Anomalies and Curiosities of Medicine", co-authored by Dr. George M., and Dr. David L. Pyle. (an e-book file edition of the book can be found at this link http://www.public-library.uk/ebooks/09/23.pdf ) The second face didn't seem to speak, but according to Edward it would whisper awful things to him at night. He begged doctors to remove the second face, but was rejected by each one. At age 23 he committed suicide and left instructions to remove the face from his body, so it could not continue it's whispers in the grave. The story of Mordake has inspired many tale-tells, and even inspired an episode of American Horror Stories. We can only hope though, that in his death he was able to finally find the peace he had been seeking his whole life for.

Edward Mordake Character featured in American Horror Stories Television Series

For more horror subscribe today!

urban legend
2

About the Creator

Erica Rose

Just a mom writing about strange things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.