Horror logo

THE TWISTED MAN

Based on a true story

By Rebecca RedPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Last night I felt a fear like nothing I'd ever experienced before. last night I felt true terror. Even typing this, I still get shivers. It's like he's still here.

The evening started like any other. I had made dinner, showered and got into bed. I like to read before I go to sleep, I find it helps me to wind down and relax. I hadn't closed the curtain next to my bed, so the crisp white light from the full moon was the only thing illuminating my room once I had turned out the lights. It was beautiful. I had left the door to my bedroom open so that Felix - my cat- could wonder freely. He liked to move between the various cat beds throughout the apartment during the night, and sometimes he'd keep me company in my bed.

I was laying on my side facing the door to my room. Felix had decided to sleep on the pillow next to mine, and I could hear his soft little cat snores as he drifted further and further into sleep. Beyond the boundaries of my room, were the landing, and the stairs that went down to the front door of my apartment. I couldn't see my door from where I was sleeping, only the large arched window that's located right as you start descending the stairs. the streetlights outside cast an orange glow throughout the hallway, and the shadows of the trees danced on the walls. I was just starting to drift off to sleep, I could feel my eyelids getting heavier and heavier. This is when I heard it. a creak in the floorboards.

I opened my eyes.

Maybe it was just the cat, I remember thinking.

But Felix was still asleep on the pillow beside me. He hadn't stirred or opened his eyes, and usually he's a very light sleeper so I thought nothing of it and closed my eyes.

But there is was again - another creak.

Then another, and another.

It was as if someone was trying to climb the stairs very slowly. It made a shiver go down my spine. I was wide awake now, and my attention was focused on the creaking of the stairs. The noise had even woken Felix, who was on full alert and leapt off the bed and bolted to the kitchen to hide leaving me alone. My eyes were fixed on the stairs now, not blinking, not looking away for even a second. The creaking was getting louder and louder and every time I heard it, another chill went down my spine. I could feel my blood run cold in my veins. I lived alone. There was nobody but me, and this intruder. I tried to keep as quiet as possible, not making a sound, not even a breath as I heart who or whatever was creeping up my stairs. Any minute now I would see it.

Oh, how I wish I hadn't seen it.

What looked to be a man was now stood at the top of my stairs. I could hear his heavy breathing, and slight wheezing. The light from the window behind him was the only thing illuminating the hallway. The only thing casting light on this dark figure. I could just about make out his features, - his eyes and cheeks were sunken, and his skin was pale. His face almost looked distorted, not quite right. he was tall but he looked to be hunched over like his spine was twisted, distorted- like his face. his long bony hands were gripping to the side of the rail for support.

I was petrified. glued in place, too scared to move.

He took a step toward me.

My blood ran cold. I had nowhere to go - I was totally trapped. I moved to the window at the end of my bed and flung it open.

He took another step closer, with a twisted smile on his lips.

I screamed out the window hoping someone,- anyone could help me.

I could hear him getting closer, moving slowly across the room.

I screamed until my lungs gave out and my throat was raw. Not daring to look back.

And then..... silence.

I slowly turned around and scanned my room. There was nobody there.

He was gone.

I didn't sleep at all that night, I can still see his face when I close my eyes. He haunts me. I don't know who he was or where he came from, but I'm sure I haven't seen the last of him.

1

About the Creator

Rebecca Red

Just a spooky writer, living her spooky dream.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.