Horror logo

The Time I Had To Fight For My Baby

(or so I thought)

By JGPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2
A. D. G.

My baby had a monstrous side. I'm not saying that just because he was a baby boy who through fits and tantrums that can sometimes leave him inconsolable. He turned into this huge evil creature. One with red fiery eyes, sharp crooked teeth and a demonic scowl. Once transformed, the only way to turn him back into a baby was to fight his monstrous side away. So, against every motherly bone in my body, that's just what I did.

I began kicking the creature. I was punching it over and over, while shouting to leave my baby! I seemed to injure it, but whatever hurt I was inflicting on him, he would do the same to me or worse. I continued fighting him for what felt like twenty minutes. During my last stretch of energy, I was able to reach the poking stick next to the fire place. I finally gave the monster a hit that made him dizzy and knocked him off his feet. I saw the monster trying to fight the transformation, but my baby was emerging through. I threw the stick down, to prevent serious and accidental injury to my baby boy. Instead I used my fists to deliver the last blows needed to rid my son of this thing and in a blink of an eye, the creature was gone.

My little baby boy sat there tired with no energy. His cheeks were flushed red as if he felt some of the last hits. He was very weak. No doubt his body endured some of the pain from handling that monster within, including whatever he felt at the end. I began crying as I picked him up and hugged him as tightly as I could without worsening his injuries. He looked at me with a slight smile, as if everything was going to be alright. I shouted and I prayed for God to take away his pain and his wounds and give them to me. So, he did.

I woke up on the hot leathery couch where I fell asleep holding my son. I did not want to move at first, so I would not wake him. My cheeks were hot, my neck was sweaty, and my body was not thanking me at all for the position I slept in. But then, I looked down in my arms at my sleeping Angel and smiled, because it is always worth it. I'm just glad it was all a dream.

psychological
2

About the Creator

JG

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.