Horror logo

The Thing On The Ceiling

AKA The fastest I've ever packed house

By Thea Young Published 3 years ago 3 min read
2
The Thing On The Ceiling
Photo by Isi Parente on Unsplash

Way back in the olden days of 1995, I was a kid kicking around an old bungalow in the middle of nowhere with my little sister. It was a hot summer day- the kind with tall grass, little breeze and buzzing insects that feels like it might last forever.

But we didn’t live there, our great-grandmother did. Well, not anymore.

She passed at the ripe old age of 90 and my parents, grandparents, little sister, and I were there to pack up her things.

Truth be told, I was always a little scared of her- she was no-nonsense in every way a person could be. We didn’t live near her, about a 40-minute drive away so we also weren’t at her house that often. She usually came to us for celebrations.

Her little house wasn’t my favourite place to be anyway, but I didn’t hate it. Though it did feel weird without her there. She was my first death at an age where I could really understand what was going on.

So, I’m a bored 9-year-old with ADHD trying to help by keeping an eye on my 5-year-old sister so she isn’t carried off by a bear or moose or something else from the great Canadian wilderness.

And then I feel it.

I can’t see it, but I can goddam feel it to this day- the feeling of being intensely stared at. Not by a parent or grandparent for doing something dumb, but by something floating at ceiling level in the corner of the room.

It’s not happy.

I get the distinct impression whatever it is would murder all of us with glee if it had the ability. I am actively terrified for my and my entire family’s lives and convinced we’re going to die RIGHT NOW.

That’s a super fun feeling, especially when none of the adults (my only way out of there) 1. feel anything is off and 2. blow me off when I beg them to pack faster and leave. They think I’m just being my flighty impatient ADHD-self.

I didn’t tell them what I was feeling, they would have told me it was my overactive imagination or that I was getting in the way when they were busy. Probably both.

I did the only thing I could do.

No, not run into the woods screaming at the top of my lungs. I stayed in the house and helped as much as I could as fast as I could so we could FINALLY leave.

The feeling never let up until we left.

I didn’t say anything until I was in my 20s. My sister was listening to my story along with mom as we sat in our (haunted, but that’s another story) house. When I finished, my sister spoke up saying she had felt the same thing that day.

Excuse me, what?

I don’t think I was ever back to the bungalow after that day, there was no reason to go. And I don’t know that I’d go back to the land even though the building is gone given the chance.

Due to my upbringing in a very fire and brimstone church, I always assumed it was a demon come to kill us all because reasons.

But now I wonder if it wasn’t a sprit related to the land who was angry we were there. My great-grandmother had been a hobby farmer who took good care of the land, perhaps the truce they’d made was over.

I don’t really know what it was, I just know I don’t want to meet it again.

halloween
2

About the Creator

Thea Young

Writer and cat enthusiast.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.