Horror logo

The terrible story of the Sundarbans

Horror Story by Sundarbans

By Bijan MondalPublished 10 months ago 8 min read
Like
The terrible story of the Sundarbans
Photo by Maitheli Maitra on Unsplash

It's the middle of the month of Ashad, but it's not raining much this time. I was sitting in our rooftop room looking at the sky outside. At that time I heard a thump on the stairs and looked back to see the old man entering the room. He appeared and said, “Go quickly. Aranyadadu has arrived. He told me to call you." Aranyadadu is actually Patai's grandfather. He was a forest ranger by profession. He has traveled to many places in his long career. He came to Pataid's house after four months and told us great stories. When he came earlier, he told us about a great ghostly experience of a zamindarbari in Samudragarh.

Before reaching Patai's house, it rained in big drops. The others have already arrived at the front porch of the house. Sajne is very fond of eating, and as usual started eating chips from a packet of chips. There is a chair on which grandpa will sit. As soon as I and Puhul sat down, Aranya Dadu came and sat down with a cup of coffee in his hand. After sitting down, he looked at us and said, 'Then. What's up everyone? How is the study going?'

"Good going grandpa"

'Bah! Bah! Well, then do you eat any new food? Or are you cutting the old ones?

The gentleman chewed on the chips and said, "Am I the cow that will be cut?" At this time Patai was trying to anger the man by saying something from behind, but we obeyed him.

Aranyadadu sipped the cup of coffee and said, 'Come on, let me tell you another story today

At that time my posting was in Sundarbans. My office at Chamta. You know, we don't have anything as beautiful as Sundarbans in India. The tiger infestation in the Sundarbans was much greater during the period I am talking about than it is now. In my area, not only tigers but also poachers. A few days ago we found the dead body of a well-known old tiger here.



The tiger was killed by poachers. But when the guards came, they left the body and ran away. That, one day sitting in the office and working in the afternoon; At that time a guard came and said, 'Sir. Your phone has arrived. Barosaheb called. Asim Ganguly, the chief of Chamta region, is a very rash man. If you see a little carelessness at work, you are very angry. I quickly went and picked up the phone. On the phone, Barosaheb told me that the team that killed the tiger that day had received news through Char that they would all be at Tentulbanki Char today. May I reach there without delay. And arrest them. I informed that I will be leaving shortly.''Dadu said this and immediately there was a crackling sound and lightning struck somewhere nearby. And Patide's CFL light went off. Loadshedding. Darkness has come too early for the clouds today. In no time, Patai's grandmother came and put Murimakha and a wallgiri in a big bowl. Dadu also got down from the chair and started again with a handful of bandages in his mouth.



Then as soon as I got the call, I went out with two forest guards. After walking along a canal for a few minutes, our launch came and fell into the Kalindi river. At this time, there is a lot of water in the river, so our launch started swaying with the water waves. By that time it was evening, the light of the moon fell on the water of the river and the bushes on both sides. Thus, after walking for about twenty minutes we entered a relatively narrow canal. This is the crocodile canal. At the end of Tentulbankir char. This tamarind char is not very popular. Tiger infestation is quite good here. Passing this way during the day, one can often see the most terrible mark of this Bada area, a torn shirt or a piece of gingji attached to the end of a stick, fluttering about.



I asked, 'Grandfather, why is this sign the most terrible.' Grandfather said, 'Did you know that the life of the people there is not very easy. On the one hand, this sign is very painful as well as caution. What actually said; If a man is taken or killed by a tiger, his party mates tie a piece of his cloth to the end of a stick and bury it. That means the tiger killed people here,''



Listen then, you know that there are many broken huts in many islands of Sundarbans. Most were made during Mr. Hamilton's tenure. This tamarind has one too. We moved towards it, hoping that the poachers might be found there. Surrounded by wild Hetal, Guran bushes within it, the house stands like an ancient beast in the darkness of the evening. There is no door lock. We entered very carefully, as quietly as possible. But, the house is completely empty. Poachers have nothing but a few rats and spoons. We were quite shocked to see it. So they already knew that we will come. Well, I've come so far while waiting.



The three of us sat in a room together. One of the two guards who were with me was Vikas Pramanik and the other was Ismail. Before Vikas was in Baul, his only son was taken away by the tiger. Then he joins the forest service. Ismail is the driver of our launch. As evening deepened, the appearance of the forest changed. Various insects and rustling sounds are coming to our ears from inside the plants outside. I heard a deer calling in the distance. I lit the torch and saw the clock once, it was eight o'clock.



Saying this, Grandpa stopped for a while and drank some water. We are all sitting tight then. The wet cold air made the wall light shiver a little and our shadows trembled. Dadu mouthed a fennel lozenge and started saying again,

"We are sitting and Bikash sometimes peeks through the window and looks outside. I was about to obey when I noticed that it was very quiet outside. The sound of all the insects stopped moving as if they were moving. Just then I heard the sound. Overshadowing the splashing sound of the water in the canal outside, we heard a faint voice calling out, "Father!" This is me. your mattress come to me father



It's as if the wind is pushing the sound from the thickets and garan bushes around us, as if there's no way but to give it up. He once looked outside as if trying to find someone, then ran out of the house saying, "I'm coming." Immediately, I saw Ismail and he went out saying 'Sarbanash, sir come soon'. I came out and saw that it was very dark. From among all the islands, as if that incorporeal voice is conveying its call to us, Father! This is me. Come to me father, come.



Going behind Bikash, I asked Ismail, 'Who is Gadai? Why did development go out like that? ’ Ismail said, ‘Sir, Gadai Bikasdar’s son, his great uncle took him last year. Bego ghost sir. Go quickly, otherwise I will not be saved by Bikasdar.' Hearing this, a stream of panic ran through my whole body. What does the boy who was killed by the tiger call again?



Vikas ran to the back of the cottage. The forest is quite deep on this side. Just before he entered the forest, Ismail ran and pounced on him. As I approach them, Ismail drops Bikash on the ground and sits on top of him and Bikash is squirming. I went to ask Vikas when my eyes fell straight. A short distance from where we stood was the beginning of a deep forest.



There are many bushes in the place and it is completely dark. As soon as I saw that, my whole body froze in fear. Even in that darkness, I clearly saw that there was darkness under a beautiful tree. A primordial, unearthly silhouette of the crew, made of dense blackness, watches us. That call around us is still floating in the air. Ismail also seems to have lost his mind after seeing the statue, at which point Vikas knocked him down with a punch and stood up. I can't move then. The legs feel impossibly heavy. As if this is not my own foot. It will not budge in my will. As Bikash and the rest of the idol came close to him, the whole island shook with the tiger's roar, and in a moment, a huge tiger came from the side of the idol and fell on Bikash's neck and disappeared with him before he blinked. And everything became blurred in front of my eyes.



We all sat around him. When grandfather stopped, everyone said, 'Then! Then!'



Then when I regained consciousness, I saw Ismail bringing water from the canal and watering my face. I sat up holding his hand. The head was throbbing. Looking at the place where the statue was, nothing is empty, and the chirping and the call of insects are heard again. We searched a lot for Bikash's body but could not find anything else. Then I came back.



Dadu kept quiet after saying this. Even if it rains, his bouquet is not so much now. In the light of the light, I saw a glimpse of the colorful flower tree. Patai asked, 'Dadhu the tiger was there that you didn't notice?' Dadu smiled a little and said, 'I told you that a dead body of a tiger was found in my area a few days ago.' We said, 'Yes, you said yes.'



I saw the dead body of that tiger. The tiger had no tail. Maybe a fight or a poacher might have killed Rai.' Then he said quietly, the tiger that took Vikas that day didn't even have a tail.'

No sooner had Grandpa finished his speech, there was a loud lightning strike again, and a gust of wind came from somewhere and extinguished the Wallgiri.

travelmonsterfiction
Like

About the Creator

Bijan Mondal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.