Horror logo

The Stuff Nightmares Are Made Of

I’m truly innocent

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 9 min read
6
Image courtesy of Pixabay

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own but it was a reflection that the rest of the world is convinced is me.

I’m on the run from the law and yet I’ve done nothing wrong.

It all started when I was travelling from Perth to Broome for a much awaited vacation and relaxation trip of a lifetime. I had only driven a couple of hours from Perth when I noticed a young lady standing on the side of the road with her thumb out. The universal sign for hitchhiking.

I pulled over and she raced up to the passenger side window, leaned in with a smile and asked, “Where you heading to tiger?”

I let her know I was heading to Kalbarri this first leg on my trip and she jumped in and settled in the front passenger seat.

“Works for me,” she replied.

I pulled back onto the highway and continued down the road. We chatted some. I told her my plans and she explained she was travelling but with no definite destination in mind. Where she’d end up nobody knows.

We drove for a couple of hours and was nearing our destination when I glanced in the rear view mirror to see a yellow Camaro racing up behind me. I could see a male behind the wheel and he seemed to be in a hurry. The Camaro pulled out and began to overtake us. As it come alongside, it slowed slightly and the male driver had a good look inside my vehicle. Then he smiled and left us for dust.

That smile that he left us with, made the hair on the back of my neck stand on end. It was like a ghost had walked over my grave.

I tried to put it out of my mind as I pulled into Kalbarri.

My hitchhiker told me her name was Chloe and asked me to drop her off at the service station on the edge of the town. She was hoping to get another ride before the sun set.

I wished her the best and drove off to find my hotel room for the night.

After a good nights sleep I headed out of Kalbarri for the next leg of my trip.

Within ten minutes of cruising down the highway I noticed the yellow Camaro I’d seen yesterday in my rear view mirror once more. He pulled out to pass me and as he drew level with me and slowed down, I was surprised to see Chloe sitting in the passenger seat. She gave a little wave and the Camaro pulled away, speeding down the highway.

I didn’t think anything more of it and continued on my way.

It wouldn’t have been anymore than an hour later when I saw somebody sitting on the side of the road, leaning against a tree. As I got closer I realised it was Chloe and decided to pull over to see if she needed a ride, but as I got closer I realised that something was wrong.

Chloe wasn’t moving and I was beginning to take note of the blood running down her face. I quickly stopped and rushed to her but I was too late. Chloe was no longer of this world. She’d been shot in the back of her head and the bullet had obviously exited from her left eye. There was just a large gaping hole where her eye should have been and blood everywhere.

I was physically sick and in shock.

I moved back to my car and rang triple zero. Once I’d been put through to the police and explained what had happened, I sat and waited for the police to arrive. All the time I refused to look at what was left of Chloe.

Finally the police arrived and once I’d given my statement I was free to go. I couldn’t get out of there fast enough. This was not the relaxation I was looking for.

A half an hour down the road and I found another hitchhiker looking for a ride. I pulled over and a young man raced up to the window.

“Hello, where are you heading?” I asked.

“Hi, my name is Jed and I’m on my way north. Anywhere in that direction would be great,” he responded.

“I’m heading to Carnarvon for the night,” I replied.

He’d was happy with that and jumped in. We chatted some and I was just telling him the sorry story about Chloe when I noticed the yellow Camaro flying up behind me. Again he pulled out to overtake me and again he slowed as he pulled alongside. After once more giving me that creepy smile, he took off into the distance.

I was officially creeped out.

I warned Jed to be careful with who he accepted a ride from.

Before we reached the turnoff to Carnarvon, Jed asked me to drop him off at the turnoff. He didn’t want to go into the township of Carnarvon and believed he’d find another ride out here on the highway.

I complied with his wishes and once I’d dropped him off, I turned into Carnarvon and stayed the night.

The next morning I headed on my way. Back on the highway and once again I noticed the yellow Camaro pulling out to overtake me. As it slowed beside me, I realised Jed was sitting in the passenger seat. He waved and the Camaro took off once more.

I was horrified and feared for Jed’s life. I planted my foot and took off after the Camaro. I was flashing my lights, honking my horn, trying to get Jed’s attention. The Camaro kept speeding up until I could no longer keep up with it and it disappeared over the horizon.

I knew this wasn’t good and sure enough, half an hour later I come across Jed, propped up on the side of the highway, leaning against a tree. I pulled over, as much as I didn’t want to and I could see that Jed was gone. He had been shot in the left side of his chest and he wasn’t breathing.

I hesitantly dialled triple zero.

Once again I gave the police my statement and was free to go but I could see that they were starting to look at me suspiciously. They certainly made me very nervous and the minute I was free to go, I took off down the road.

I decided that I couldn’t wait to get to Broome now. My leisurely drive was not what I had planned and I just wanted it over. With that in mind I decided to continue to drive until I was too tired to drive any further and I’d stop on the side of the road and sleep, rather than pull into the next town on my planned trip.

I didn’t see another human being that day. Not on foot or in a vehicle and slowly I began to calm down. When I was too tired to drive, I pulled over, climbed into the back seat and drifted off.

Suddenly I was awoken to a knocking on my window and as I opened my eyes I noted it was daylight and I’d slept the night through. I heard the knocking again and turned my head to see a man standing alongside my car.

I sat up and peered out the back window to see the yellow Camaro pulled up behind me. I swung around to the window, where the man had been knocking, in sheer terror. He was standing dead still and smiling that creepy smile at me. He gave me a small wave and walked back to his car.

I watched as he climbed in and began to pull back on the highway. He stopped alongside my car, gave me that smile once more and headed off down the road.

I was officially terrified.

There was no going back to sleep so I commenced my journey and I have to admit, when I saw another young man and a young woman standing by the side of the road with their thumbs out, I hesitated in pulling over.

But then I remembered how I’d gone all day yesterday without seeing any cars and knew I couldn’t leave them out here alone.

I pulled over.

They walked up to my window and the young man leaned in. “Hi, I’m Simon and this is Teresa. Where are you heading?”

“I’m staying the night in Port Hedland tonight. Will that help?” I asked.

They were happy with my answer and jumped in.

We travelled a few hours, chatting and getting to know each other and I have to admit I was not surprised to see the yellow Camaro pull up alongside, give me that smile, and head off again.

I’d told Simon and Teresa about the yellow Camaro and they’d promised they wouldn’t accept a ride if they come across the car and the male driver.

After dropping the couple off in Port Hedland I checked into my hotel.

The next day I headed north and I anxiously kept an eye on my rear view mirror. Surprise, surprise, here comes the yellow Camaro.

As it pulled alongside me and slowed down I was horrified to see Simon and Teresa grinning at me.

No!!!

The Camaro took off and I tried to keep up with it even though I knew it was a lost cause. Sure enough it soon left me eating its dust.

An hour later I saw in the distance two bodies leaning against a tree on the side of the road. I slowed down but reluctantly decided not to pull over. I slowed enough to confirm that the bodies were clearly dead and they were definitely Simon and Teresa.

In shock I continued down the highway and it was only fifteen minutes later that I glanced in the rear view mirror and the mirror showed a reflection that wasn’t my own.

Driving sedately behind me was the yellow Camaro and the reflection the mirror was showing me, was the serial killer that had been tormenting me for days. Tormenting me and killing my hitchhikers.

Now I’m on the run from the law and yet I’ve done nothing wrong.

There’s a warrant out for my arrest and the news on the radio has informed me that the police don’t believe the yellow Camaro even exists. I’m wanted for four murders and no one believes I’m innocent.

There’s a nationwide manhunt under way and I’m just trying to stay one step ahead. I guess it’s up to me to find and apprehend the driver of that yellow Camaro.

It’s the only possible chance I have of clearing my name!

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

travel
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Omggggg, I was like 'wth is happening' the whole time! The yellow Camaro driver seems like a phantom serial killler. Super terrifying! If you write a part 2, I'll read the heck out of it!

  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    I love it but now I want to know if he ever catches the freaking Camero! Good story! Write part two where he catches the guy! Loved the story!

  • Good storytelling ✨❤️😊

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Superhorror story!!! Left a heart!!!💖💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.