Horror logo

The Stranger

And the Little Black Book

By Liss SuarezPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
2
The Stranger
Photo by Jan Kahánek on Unsplash

It was one of those days. You know the ones where you start to wonder about life and what it means. Whether your life would have been different had you chosen a different path. That type of day.

I was getting ready for work looking at my closet full of clothes that either were to big on me, too small on me, or too young on me. I never knew how to dress for me. I was always dressing for everyone else.

I sifted through my clothes and found a blazer, blouse and slacks that fit. Deja Vu kicked in and I felt as though I had already relived this day. If only. I thought to myself. I took my wavy hair and curled it, applied some concealer, some mascara, eyeliner and my dark red lipstick.

I looked at myself completed and was satisfied. Alright, I don't look so bad. I grabbed my purse, put on my heels and walked out my door. Because my car was in the shop, and they were doing construction on my street, I had to walk a few blocks in order to catch a cab to get to work.

As I walked, this stranger approached me. He was holding a little black book. "Hey miss! Wait Can I ask you a question? If you knew you could get 1 million dollars just by buying this little black book for $2, would you do it?"

I looked at him very skeptically. Yea right. I thought. I would think that is how you would get the 1million dollars. I tried to be polite and said "I don't have any cash on me. Sorry" and kept walking.

"Wait. What if I give you the little black book? Would you read it then?" He said giving me a smile. He was charming, I'll give him that. But I wasn't sure how I felt taking something from a stranger. Especially these days. I smiled and said "It's ok. Thank you though" I started to walk again.

The stranger brushed my arm with his hand and instantly felt a spark of electricity pulse throughout my body. He then took my hand and placed the little black book in my palm. "It's yours. Read it. Tomorrow when you wake up, you will receive 1 million dollars" I couldn't move. I stood frozen in place from that spark. He gave me a smile and before I could blink he was gone.

I looked around for him but I did not see him. It was as though he had vanished into thin air. I looked at the little black book in my hand. I didn't know what to think of it.

I put it in my purse and kept walking faster so that I could catch the cab. I got to work with 10 mins to spare. I grabbed coffee and bagel from the break room and went to my desk. I sat down and stared at my computer screen. I couldn't stop thinking of that encounter. It would have to wait until I got home.

Later that night, I took the little black book from my purse and opened it. The first page was blank. The second page had a bunch of numbers. The third page said "I can have all the money in the world. I just need to believe. Repeat after me. I will be successful. I will be a millionaire." The fourth page was blank. Then the next page had a bunch of numbers. Then the same phrase again.

I looked ahead to the rest of the pages and it was all the same. One page left blank, then a page with numbers, then the phrase. What is this? No wonder he was trying to give it away. I closed the book and placed it on my nightstand. That's so stupid.

I laid in my bed and turned the TV on. "There is still time to play the lottery. Come and get your ticket. Grand prize is 20 million dollars." 20 million dollars? I looked at the book. There is like 20 pages of numbers in this book. I can just pick some and play them.

I did just that. I ran to the corner store of my block and played 2 dollars for 1 ticket. I placed the ticket inside the little black book. Maybe this book will give me luck after all. I went to sleep.

I woke up feeling refreshed. As though a weight had been lifted. It was the weekend and it looked like a beautiful day. I decided to check my ticket. I couldn't believe it. I won the second prize. I won 1 million dollars.

I quickly signed the ticket and put in my wallet. On my way to cash in the ticket, I decide to try my luck again with another set of numbers from the book. I open the little black book and instead of numbers, every page was blank except for the last one.

It read. "Since you have received good fortune, please give this book so someone else could receive good fortune as well. If you don't obey, your life will be in danger"

Really? They expect us to believe this? I got to the lottery place and as I was about to open the door a brick fell from the sky missing me by a few inches, and fell in front of my feet. Oh heck no. I have to give this little black book away. I looked around and saw a homeless man laying by the building. "Excuse me. I have something that will change your life. Read it. Tomorrow when you wake up you will be a millionaire" and handed him the book.

The homeless man opened the book "I can have all the money in the world. I just need to believe. Repeat after me. I will be successful. I will be a millionaire."

urban legend
2

About the Creator

Liss Suarez

Author (Thriller/Mystery/Paranormal)

Mom of 👨👩👨

Wannabe Comedian

Never give up 👏

Success is yours 🙌

I accept everyone for who they are 💙

#selfpublished

lisssuarez.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.