Horror logo

The Strange Box

A story of the passion for love and a box with an unknown sender

By Dori H.Published about a year ago 5 min read
2
The Strange Box
Photo by Brandable Box on Unsplash

I’ve been standing at my front door for about five minutes now. I will say I am slightly confused, let me explain. Just moments ago I was looking outside my window to see if my creepy neighbor was still sitting on his porch. He’s really abnormal, he always sits on his porch watching me. He seems to be on the search for something. It is almost like he knows too much.

Anyways, as I was looking through my blinds, I noticed this drone flying above my house. Probably some kid in the neighborhood. Although moments after seeing this drone hover near my door, I see that it has a box. I tug on the blinds a little harder to get a better view of what the drone is doing. After flying around, It stops over my front door and drops the box. After dropping this mystery box it flies out of sight within seconds. This leads me to now, on my front porch looking at this strange box.

The whole reason why this situation is strange is the fact that I have not ordered anything nor have I been expecting anything from anybody I know. Ever since I got married I stay at home except for the rare occasional trip to the grocery store. I have also cut off all family and friends as they have never understood how I feel. There is also the fact that this box was delivered by drone. Very interesting, I thought to myself.

I picked up the box from my front porch and was about to make my way inside when I caught a glance at my neighbor. Sitting on his porch, as usual, legs crossed and staring daggers at me. I look down at the box. I wonder if this box is from him. I decided to ignore him and head inside. I close the door behind me and lock all six of my locks back into place. Ever since I got married to Sara, I wanted to make sure she was safe here so I made sure to install a few locks. I know if people found out about the locks people would think I'm strange, but It’s only for her safety. Especially with that creepy neighbor across from us.

I let out a sigh and picked up the box again to make my way toward the dining room. I placed the extremely light box on the table. The box was a little too light. I still don't know who sent it. I look all over the box yet I don’t see any postal label. I had a feeling in my gut that whatever is in this package, is a threat. I walked over to my kitchen to grab a knife to cut the sealed box. I walk into the kitchen, man I really need to clean up here. This kitchen is a little dirty and has been picking up a stench. Sara will be mad if this mess doesn’t get cleaned up. I decided cleaning would be a task for after, I still need to open this box. I walked over to my knife collection. I like collecting knives. People thought it was strange growing up but I used to carve wood structures as a kid. I was a great artist, I used to make animals out of logs of wood but, I’ve now moved on to a new hobby.

Hm, let's see, butter knife, steak knife, carving knife, machete, ah here it is. I picked up a clean box knife, I don’t use it often. I look back at the rest of my knives. I furrowed my brows, my knives are dirty too. I walk back to the dining table where my box lays. I open the sharp box cutter and stab it into the top seal of the box, then I slide the knife along the side top of the box where the tape still holds the opening shut. I finally cut the tape and slowly opened the lid of the box. When I opened the lid I saw a piece of folded lined paper. Why would someone send a whole package just for it to be a note?

I grabbed the paper and unfolded it. As I opened the last fold I started to read the page, there wasn’t much to read as it was only a short sentence. My heart fell to my stomach when I read the note. It read “I know about Sara. - Q”

The note was signed “Q”. Who could this be? I dropped the piece of flimsy paper and started scratching at my wrist. Are they trying to hurt my Sara? I started to panic. I need to think. I start to hit my head against the wall to try and figure out who this was. Q? Who did this and what do they want with Sara? I stood in shock when I realized. The neighbor, I took a deep breath. His name is Quinn. I ran to my window and ripped the blinds open. It's Quinn. I stood there in shock. Quinn sat in the same spot as usual. Except he was laughing. He hurt my Sara, didn’t he?

I ran to the basement door. I opened all five locks that are protecting my Sara, I swung open the door and started to run down the dark stairwell. The smell. The sweet smell of Sara started to fill my nose. I felt slight relief noticing this. Once I arrived at the main basement I saw her. She was safe, and just as beautiful as ever. She was taking a little nap.

I took a big sigh of relief. I walked over to her and started to comb her hair with my fingers as she slept. I love looking at Sara, she is just stunning. A clump of her hair and flesh fell off as I combed her hair with my fingers. I look at her soft pale face, her beautiful wide eyes, and her mouth open as if she was singing her favorite lullaby. I started to hear sirens from afar, I got into the bed with the corpse.

“Don’t worry, I will keep you safe Sara.”

psychological
2

About the Creator

Dori H.

I love writing! It is a secret side passion of mine and hopefully I can get better. Maybe even one day I can write something amazing 🌿

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Michele Hardyabout a year ago

    Poor Sara 😭

  • Aaron Hubermanabout a year ago

    Woah, really had me going there.

  • Allie Mennenabout a year ago

    The ending gave me chills… great read.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.