Horror logo

The Sister

The One In The Woods

By danielle mcgeePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
She's there

October 17th 2010 was a day that I will never forget. I saw my sister a few times that day but at 8:17 p.m. was the last time I saw her. My sister is a smart girl but she trusted a lot of people and I believe that this time she trusted the wrong person. We called the police and reported her as a missing person, but the police just said that since she was nineteen she probrably just ran away from home to live her own life. My sister loved this family and she would never leave us, especially without saying goodbye. I’m now the same age she was when she disapeared. It's hard for a nine year old to lose her sister but I managed to live through it by believing I could find her.

I went through everything I could trying to figure out where my sister could have gone and I never stopped until today, because I found something. I found a picture of her and my dad in the woods.It was taken the night before my sister disappeared, october 18th 2010, my dad never cried about her being missing or even got angry. I went to the place the picture was taken and I found her ring and it was rusted over with blood. Without my parents knowing I took the ring to the police and the DNA tested positive for my dad and sister.

The police asked me what I can recall from when she went missing. I remember my mom asking me to draw what heaven looked like, as I believed it was where my sister lived. “The place you drew are the woods outside of your house Daniella” said an officer visiting me that afternoon. “And now you need to tell us where” I pointed to my dad. “Ask him, he took mom there last night and I haven't seen her since”. The same thing that happened to my sister has happened to my mom, and I’m afraid I’m next.

My eyes widened as I remembered the day my dad took me and Sierra hunting. It's the exact same place as the picture that was taken the night before she disappeared. I took the officers there but as soon as we got close I felt a warmness on the back of my head and a sharp pain. I was on the ground and I touched the back of my neck and there was blood, so much blood. My vision was blurry but I turned around to see the first police officer holding a large stick. He had hit me and my dad was standing right next to him with blood on his hands. My mom was lying next to me with her throat slit and the other officer had been stabbed. That's why the police didn’t do anything before. The chief was my sister's killer.

And I was about to be next. My dad got closer to me as the officer drug my mothers body away. He told me that he thought I could be different and be a part of the tradition, as my mother and sister couldn’t. I felt a sharp pain in my chest, but I heard sirens. As it turns out even though the other officer had been stabbed multiple times, he was still alive and had called for backup. My dad was drugged off of me and I woke up seven days later in the hospital. My mom survived but was in a coma not sure if she would survive, I planned my sister's funeral since they found her body. It had been ten years and I finally had peace knowing what happened and being able to give my sister a proper rest.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.