Horror logo

The Silent Monster

I based my Halloween costume off of one of my friend's paintings.

By Nancy DPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My 2020 Halloween costume.

I call my costume 'The Silent Monster', to me this costume represents the experience of isolation that comes with the 2020 pandemic. I made this costume after being inspired by an untitled painting that my friend Chris Scott had painted.

Due to Covid and social distancing, it became apparent to me that there wasn't going to be any Halloween parties this year. At least not any that I was invited to. However, I didn't want this Halloween to completely pass by me ...

Eventually I was able to make the best of the situation. The best thing about Halloween this year is that I can be as creative and unique as I wanted to be. The best part is that I don't have to deal with people asking me again and again what my costume is. Which is why this year I made sure to take full advantage of this opportunity and I made my costume something that truly inspired me.

To me, this monster is something much worse than something you would see in a horror movie. This isn't the kind of monster that would attack you one night and have the story end so quickly. This monster is more like a silent lingering darkness that will just never leave you ... yet doesn't completely destroy you either.

My Costume on the left. The original painting that inspired my costume on the right.

So, you are probably wondering ... who is this amazing artist that made the original painting? His name is Chris Scott! Chris Scott is an artist working out of Durham Region (a.k.a. the greater Toronto area).

He has a degree from Durham College in 'An introduction to art and design' and he also has a bachelor's from the Ontario College of Art and Design University in Drawing and Painting Fine Arts.

Christopher works as a commission painter, but also does his own original work. He primarily focuses on portraits, both traditional, and in darker more macabre surreal styles.

The artist, Chris Scott, is featured on the left of this photo.

So what is macabre surreal art? According to the merriam-webster dictionionary macabre means "having death as a subject : comprising or including a personalized representation of death" as well as "dwelling on the gruesome". Surreal means "marked by the intense irrational reality of a dream".

Macabre Surreal is a unique an art style that literally focuses on the stuff that comes from nightmares. It is both dark and surreal. Macarbre surreal art is also referred to ask Dark Surreal art.

Examples of Chris Scott's Dark Surrealist art.

"The concept of dark surrealist art has been a major aspect of surrealist work from its very beginnings. Surrealism (or 'above realism') has its dark roots in the aftermath of World War I and the Dadaist’s response.

Its outlook was an anti-rational, apolitical and social response to a world that allowed a horrific disregard for humanity. Whatever the reason surrealists rejected any degree of rational explanation. Instead they embraced chaos and unconscious desires, and Freud’s theory of psychoanalysis.

Surrealists believed that the adoption of these principles would help in discovering the true world – through the unconscious mind and interpretation of dreams."

This quote is from 'theartist' on davidcharlesfox.com.

A skull painted by Chris Scott.

You probably know another Dark Surrealist artist, Salvador Dali.

"Dali was both scared, yet compelled, by death. The skull acted as a symbol for human mortality in his and other dark surrealist artworks."

- 'theartist' on davidcharlesfox.com

Needless to say, skulls were a big part of the Dark Surreal art movement.

However, don't be fooled. Chris also paints other art styles as well. Chris also loves to paint both animal portraits and portraits of his loved ones.

More art by Chris Scott.

My favorite thing about Chris' art is his color choices. Not everyone chooses to put green in a portrait a portrait and very few artists and make it work like Chris Scott does.

Keep in mind that the photos shown in this article are only the tip of the ice berg. There are tons and tons of more artwork where these came from.

A photo of all of Chris Scott's older and filled sketch books.

Since Chris has tons more where this came from! So let me know if you want to see more by giving this article a like and share. Better yet, if you send a tip attached to this article. I'll send it straight to Chris.

art
Like

About the Creator

Nancy D

Facebook @NancyDBlogging

Twitter @BlogsNancy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.