Horror logo

The Shadows of That Cursed House 👻

A Horror story based on true experience

By Unbounded SoulPublished about a year ago • 4 min read
2
The Shadows of That Cursed House 👻
Photo by Abbilyn Rurenko on Unsplash

It was a dark and stormy night when I first arrived at the old, abandoned mansion. My friends and I had heard rumors of the house being haunted and decided to investigate. The house had a certain eerie feeling to it, and as we made our way inside, we couldn't help but feel like we were being watched.

The house was in disarray, with furniture overturned and debris scattered throughout the rooms. As we ventured deeper into the house, we began to hear strange noises coming from the shadows. My friends and I were on edge, unsure of what we might find.

We eventually made our way to the basement, where we found a strange, ancient-looking book. The book was bound in human skin and had strange symbols etched into its cover. We couldn't help but feel an overwhelming sense of dread as we opened the book.

The book was filled with dark and twisted tales of the occult. It told of a powerful and malevolent spirit that had once inhabited the house, seeking to claim the souls of anyone who dared to enter. The spirit was said to be able to control the minds of its victims, driving them to madness and ultimately to their deaths.

As we continued to read, the storm outside grew more intense. Suddenly, the power went out, and we were plunged into darkness. We could hear the sound of something moving in the shadows, getting closer and closer.

My friends and I were frozen with fear, unsure of what to do. Suddenly, the spirit appeared before us in the form of a terrifying, ghostly apparition. It reached out with its ghostly hands, its eyes glowing with an otherworldly hatred.

We were powerless against the spirit, and it began to take control of our minds. We could feel its dark energy consuming us, driving us to the brink of insanity. We were stuck up there, without any hope to get rid of this haunted house.

Just as we thought all was lost, a bolt of lightning struck the house, destroying the spirit and freeing us from its grip. We stumbled out of the house, barely alive and forever changed by the terrifying experience.

As we walked away from the house, the rain pouring down on us, I couldn't shake the feeling that something was following us. Every time I turned around, I thought I saw a figure standing in the darkness, watching us. We all had a feeling that we had narrowly escaped something sinister that night and it was just the beginning.

After that night, strange things began to happen to us. We would hear strange noises in our homes, see shadows moving in the corners of our eyes and we started experiencing terrifying nightmares. I couldn't shake off the feeling that the spirit was still with us, still trying to claim our souls.

I tried to tell my friends that we needed to do something to rid ourselves of the spirit, but they all thought I was just being paranoid. They said that I was just imagining things, that the experience at the mansion had affected me more than I realized. But I knew what I had seen and felt that night, and I knew that we were not safe.

I did some research and found out that the spirit was known as a "Kanashibari" and it was said to be able to possess anyone who encountered it. It was said that the only way to get rid of the spirit was to perform an ancient exorcism ritual. I knew it was our only hope and I had to convince my friends to do it.

It took some convincing, but eventually, my friends agreed to perform the ritual. We returned to the mansion, this time armed with the knowledge of what we were up against. We performed the ritual, reciting ancient words, and burning sage to purify the area.

As we finished the ritual, we felt a strange energy shift in the air. Suddenly, the spirit appeared before us, but this time it was in a weakened state. We knew this was our chance to banish it forever. We recited the final words of the ritual and the spirit let out an ear-piercing scream before it disappeared into the shadows, never to be seen again.

We left the mansion that night, feeling a sense of relief wash over us. We knew that we had defeated the spirit and we were finally free from its grip. But the experience had left a deep impact on us, and we knew that we would never be the same again.

We never spoke of the mansion again, but the memory of that night still haunts me to this day. The experience had shown us the true power of the unknown and the terrifying reality of what lies beyond our understanding.

© Unbounded Soul, 2023

You may also like,

monstersupernaturalfiction
2

About the Creator

Unbounded Soul

25, Poet, Learner, Searching for lots of adventures, Traveler.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.