Horror logo

The Secret Garden’s Unexpected Savior”

By-Fabler

By FablerPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Secret Garden’s Unexpected Savior”
Photo by Inga Gezalian on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn’t my own. At first, I thought it was just my tired eyes playing tricks on me. But as I rubbed them and looked again, the figure in the mirror remained the same. It was a distorted version of myself, one that looked almost demonic in nature. My heart began to race as I stared at the reflection, unable to look away.

I reached out to touch the mirror, but my hand went straight through the surface as if it was liquid. The figure in the mirror reached out as well, its hand passing through the surface and grasping mine. I felt a chill run down my spine as I pulled back, my hand trembling as I backed away from the mirror.

As I turned to leave the room, I felt an icy breath on the back of my neck. I spun around to see the demon version of myself standing there, its eyes glowing bright red as it stared at me with a menacing gleam. I felt a scream building in my throat but I couldn't make it come out. I was paralyzed with fear, unable to move or speak.

The demon version of myself lunged forward, reaching out to grab me. Suddenly, the room was filled with a blinding light and a deafening noise, like thunder crashing around me. When the light faded, the demon was gone.

I stumbled out of the room, gasping for air as I tried to catch my breath. Everything felt surreal, like I was living in a dream. But the fear was very real, and it stayed with me long after the incident.

Days passed, and I tried to convince myself that it was all my imagination, that I had simply been tired and seeing things. But then it happened again. The mirror showed a reflection that wasn’t my own, but this time it was more defined, clearer. It was the same demon version of myself, and this time it spoke.

“Run,” it said, in a voice that chilled me to the bone.

I stumbled back, tripping over my own feet as I tried to get away from the mirror. But the demon version of myself didn't come out of the mirror this time. It disappeared without a sound, leaving me alone in the room, quivering with fear.

As the days turned into weeks, the occurrences became more and more frequent. The demon version of myself appeared in the mirror almost every night, sometimes laughing, sometimes crying, sometimes just staring at me with those glowing red eyes. Each time, it seemed to be getting closer to breaking through the mirror and entering the room.

I tried covering the mirror, but nothing worked. The demon version of myself would always find a way to show up, even when there was no reflection to be seen. The fear consumed me, making it hard to sleep or focus on anything else. My grades started to slip, and I found myself avoiding mirrors altogether.

One night, I woke up to find the demon version of myself standing at the foot of my bed. Its eyes were glowing brighter than ever before, and it was breathing heavily as if it had been running a marathon. I didn't dare move as it spoke.

“I'm here,” it said in a whisper. “I've broken through.”

I felt a cold sweat break out on my forehead as it reached out to touch me. But just before its hand made contact, the blinding light and deafening noise filled the room once again.

When the light faded, the demon version of myself was gone. But in its place was a creature so horrific that I couldn't even describe it. It had glowing eyes, sharp teeth, and long, thin limbs that seemed to go on forever. Its skin was a sickly green color, and it oozed a putrid liquid from its pores.

The creature advanced on me, making a sound that was a cross between a growl and a hiss. I tried to run, but my legs wouldn't budge. I was trapped with this creature, this thing that had come from the mirror, and I knew that I was going to die.

But just as it was about to grab me, the blinding light and deafening noise filled the room again. When it faded, the creature was gone.

I never slept in that room again. I never looked in that mirror again. And I never forgot what I had seen. The mirror showed a reflection that wasn’t my own, but it was something much worse. It was a portal to somewhere else, somewhere dark and dangerous. And I had been lucky enough to escape with my life.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Fabler

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.