Horror logo

The Reflection

Broken Realities

By SkyCoffeePublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
The Mirror

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. I stood frozen in front of it, staring at the figure that stared back at me. It was a man, but not one that I recognized. He had dark eyes that seemed to gleam with an otherworldly light, and his skin was pale, almost translucent.

At first, I thought it was just a trick of the light or my own imagination playing tricks on me. But as I continued to stare, I realized that the reflection wasn't just a distorted version of myself. It was an entirely different person, staring back at me with an eerie calm.

I tried to look away, to ignore the unsettling feeling that crept over me, but I couldn't. The longer I looked into the mirror, the more I felt like I was being pulled into a different reality.

And then I saw it. A flicker of movement in the reflection, something that shouldn't have been there. It was like a ripple in a still pond, the movement almost imperceptible, but enough to catch my eye.

I leaned in closer, my breath fogging up the glass. And then I saw it again, the flicker of movement. This time, it was more pronounced, more deliberate.

It was like the figure in the mirror was trying to communicate with me, trying to reach out across the divide that separated us.

I didn't know what to do. I wanted to look away, to run from the mirror and never look back. But something held me in place, something that kept me rooted in front of the glass.

And then I saw her. A woman, standing just behind the man in the reflection. Her eyes were wide with fear, and her lips moved, as if she was trying to say something. But I couldn't hear her. I could only watch in horror as she disappeared, fading away into nothingness.

I knew then that I had to get rid of the mirror. It was like a portal to another world, one that I didn't want to be a part of. But as I reached out to grab it, to smash it into a million pieces, something stopped me.

It was like a voice, a whisper in the back of my mind. And it told me to keep the mirror, to let the other reality bleed into my own.

At first, I resisted. I tried to fight against the urge to keep the mirror, to get rid of it and never look back. But the voice persisted, growing stronger with each passing day.

And then things started to change. The air around me grew thick with an unnatural stillness, and I could feel eyes on me, watching from the shadows.

The mirror became a focal point for the strange occurrences that started happening around me. Objects would move on their own, strange noises would fill the air, and I could feel a presence in the room with me, even when I was alone.

And then I saw her again. The woman from the mirror, standing just behind me. Her eyes were wide with fear, and her lips moved, but I still couldn't hear what she was trying to say.

And then the man appeared, standing just beside her. He reached out to touch me, his fingers cold and clammy. And I knew then that I had made a terrible mistake.

I tried to run, to escape from the mirror and the horrors that it had unleashed. But it was like the other reality was bleeding into my own, a slow, inexorable tide that I couldn't stop.

fictionsupernaturalpsychological
1

About the Creator

SkyCoffee

I love being creative, and it expresses who I am. I do not have a catergory, but I guarantee an excellent reading.

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Centina Alexa König-Weichhardtabout a year ago

    The story captures the reader's attention with its eerie and suspenseful atmosphere, and the concept of a mirror connecting to another reality adds a sense of mystery and intrigue. The descriptions are vivid, which helps to create a sense of unease and tension throughout the piece. Here are a few suggestions for improvement: Consider adding some background information on the protagonist and their relationship with the mirror. This could help to provide context and a deeper connection for the reader. To heighten the suspense, you could consider having the protagonist try to solve the mystery behind the mirror, perhaps researching its origins or attempting to communicate with the figures in the reflection. Some sentences could be rephrased for clarity and fluidity. For example, "It was like the other reality was bleeding into my own, a slow, inexorable tide that I couldn't stop" might be better as "The other reality bled into my own, an unstoppable, slow, and inexorable tide." The ending could be made more powerful by describing the protagonist's feelings and reactions as they realize their mistake and attempt to escape the mirror's influence. This would give the reader a greater sense of closure and satisfaction. The story is engaging and suspenseful, with a captivating premise. By enhancing character development, narrative flow, and the emotional impact of the story, it can become an even more gripping and memorable tale.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.