Horror logo

The Red Sky at Morning: A Tale of Horror and Madness

Trapped in a World of Grotesque Nightmares, One Man's Desperate Battle for Survival

By muhammad nadeem naqviPublished about a year ago 8 min read
Like
The Red Sky at Morning: A Tale of Horror and Madness

The first sign of trouble was the sky, bathed in an eerie red hue. It was like nothing I had ever seen before, and I couldn't help but feel uneasy. As I walked down the street, I noticed that everyone else seemed to be going about their business as usual. It was as if they didn't notice the red sky at all. But I knew that something was wrong.

I made my way to my apartment building, a small three-story brick building on the edge of town. It was an old building, with creaky wooden floors and a musty smell that seemed to cling to everything inside. As I climbed the stairs to my apartment on the second floor, I couldn't shake the feeling that something was watching me.

When I reached my door, I fumbled with my keys for a moment before finally unlocking it and stepping inside. The first thing I noticed was the silence. It was as if the whole building had suddenly become soundproof. I couldn't hear anything outside, not even the sound of cars passing by on the street.

I made my way to the living room and turned on the television, hoping for some explanation for the strange sky and the silence. But all I found was static. I tried changing the channel, but every station was the same. Just static.

I was starting to panic. What was happening? Was it some sort of terrorist attack? A natural disaster? I tried calling my parents, but the phone was dead. I tried my cell phone, but there was no signal.

I sat down on the couch and tried to calm myself down. I took a few deep breaths and closed my eyes. When I opened them again, I saw something that made my blood run cold.

There was a figure standing in the corner of the room. It was tall and thin, with long arms and legs that seemed to stretch on forever. Its face was featureless, with no eyes, nose, or mouth. It just stood there, watching me.

I tried to scream, but no sound came out. I felt like I was suffocating. The figure started to move towards me, its limbs stretching out even longer as it approached. I tried to run, but my legs wouldn't move.

Just as the figure was about to grab me, the television suddenly came to life. It was showing a news report, and I could hear the reporter's voice clearly.

"Residents of the town of Millfield are being advised to stay indoors and lock their doors. There have been reports of a strange, featureless figure roaming the streets. Authorities are urging everyone to remain calm and to not approach the figure under any circumstances."

I watched in horror as the figure in my living room turned and walked out the door. I sat there for a few moments, too scared to move. Then I got up and locked the door.

I spent the rest of the night huddled in my bedroom, listening to the silence outside. Every once in a while, I would hear a strange noise, like someone scratching at the door or tapping on the window. But when I looked outside, there was nothing there.

When morning finally came, the sky was still red. I cautiously made my way outside and saw that the town was deserted. There were no cars on the road, no people on the street. It was as if everyone had disappeared.

I started walking towards the center of town, hoping to find some answers. As I walked, I saw more and more signs of chaos. Buildings were destroyed, cars were overturned, and there was a strange, sticky substance covering everything.

Finally, I reached the town square, where a group of people were gathered around a large metal structure. As I got closer, I could see that it was some sort

of portal or gateway, pulsing with a strange energy.

One of the people in the crowd noticed me and called out to me. "You shouldn't be here," she said. "It's not safe."

"What's going on?" I asked.

"We don't know," she replied. "But this thing appeared in the middle of the town last night, and now there's no way out. We've been trying to figure out how to shut it down, but nothing seems to work."

I looked at the portal, and as I watched, I saw something emerge from it. It was the featureless figure that had been in my apartment the night before. It looked around, as if searching for something, and then it spotted me.

I froze, not knowing what to do. The figure started to move towards me, its limbs stretching out like before. I turned and ran, not stopping until I had put several blocks between me and the portal.

As I caught my breath, I heard a voice behind me. "Hey, you!" I turned and saw a group of people, armed with makeshift weapons, running towards me.

"Get out of here!" one of them yelled. "You're not welcome here!"

"I don't understand," I said. "What's going on?"

"It's your fault!" another person said, pointing at me. "You brought this on us with your strange behavior!"

I tried to explain that I had no idea what was happening, but they didn't listen. They chased me through the streets, throwing rocks and sticks at me. I ran as fast as I could, dodging their attacks and trying to find a place to hide.

Finally, I ducked into an alleyway and hid behind a dumpster. I could hear the mob searching for me, their angry shouts getting closer and closer.

That's when I saw it. A small object, glowing with a faint blue light, sitting on the ground next to me. I picked it up and examined it. It was a strange, alien device, unlike anything I had ever seen before.

Without thinking, I pressed a button on the device. Suddenly, I was surrounded by a bright light, and everything went black.

When I woke up, I was in a strange, sterile room. There were no windows, no doors, just smooth, white walls. I tried to stand up, but my head was spinning. I felt like I had been drugged.

As I tried to gather my thoughts, a door appeared in the wall. It slid open, revealing a figure standing on the other side. It was humanoid, but its skin was a sickly gray color, and its eyes were pure black.

"Welcome," the figure said, its voice echoing through the room. "We have been waiting for you."

"What is this place?" I asked.

"This is our world," the figure replied. "And now that you are here, you will never leave."

I tried to run, but the figure moved faster than I could imagine. It grabbed me by the arm and dragged me towards another door. As it opened, I caught a glimpse of a strange, alien landscape outside.

I struggled against the figure's grip, but it was too strong. I was pulled through the door, and suddenly I was falling through the air, surrounded by a swirling vortex of colors.

When I landed, I was in a different world entirely. It was a barren wasteland, with no signs of life anywhere. The sky was a sickly yellow color, and the ground was covered in a layer of ash.

As I stumbled through the wasteland, I realized that I was no longer on Earth. I had been transported to another world, a world ruled by creatures that were beyond my comprehension.

And as I looked up

, I saw a red sky at morning, just like the one I had seen back in my own world. But here, it was even more terrifying, as if it was a warning of the horrors that lay ahead.

As I wandered through the wasteland, I realized that I was not alone. In the distance, I could see figures moving, shambling towards me with an unnatural gait.

I tried to run, but my legs felt heavy, as if I was moving through molasses. The figures got closer and closer, and I could see that they were humanoid, but their faces were twisted into grotesque, inhuman shapes.

I backed away, trying to find a way out, but there was no escape. The figures were closing in on me, and I knew that I was going to die.

Suddenly, I felt a sharp pain in my arm. I looked down and saw that one of the figures had stabbed me with a sharp, pointed object. I stumbled backwards, feeling my strength ebb away.

As I fell to the ground, I saw a figure approach me. It was different from the others, taller and more imposing. It had a regal bearing, as if it was the ruler of this world.

"Welcome," it said, its voice booming through the wasteland. "You have come at a time of great importance."

"What do you want from me?" I asked, struggling to keep my eyes open.

"You have been chosen," the figure replied. "Chosen to be the vessel for our return."

"Return?" I asked, my vision growing blurry.

"Yes," the figure said. "We were banished from this world long ago, but now the time has come for us to reclaim what is rightfully ours. And you will help us."

As I slipped into unconsciousness, I could hear the figure's laughter echoing through the wasteland. And I knew that I was doomed, trapped in a world of horror and madness, with no hope of escape.

The red sky at morning continued to glow overhead, a sign of the darkness that had descended upon this world. And as I closed my eyes, I knew that I would never see the light of day again.

monster
Like

About the Creator

muhammad nadeem naqvi

Naqvi is a renowned writer and journalist from lahore, Pakistan. He has written several critically acclaimed books on social issues and has been recognized with several awards and honors for his work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.