Horror logo

The Queen of Gothic Horror

Reading V.C. Andrews since 2015

By Ted RyanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4
The Queen of Gothic Horror
Photo by Cristina Gottardi on Unsplash

Going to second-hand stores and finding battered and dusty novels is something I had been doing since childhood - well, before the global pandemic. I can talk about the many unusual finds that I have in the library that is my room - but one author in particular kept me going into those stores, hunting for their books. V.C. Andrews or better known as Virginia Andrews in the UK.

Andrews's novels combine Gothic horror and family saga, revolving around family secrets and forbidden love (frequently involving themes of consensual incest, most often between siblings), and sometimes include a rags-to-riches story. Her best-known novel is the bestseller Flowers in the Attic (1979), a tale of four children smuggled into the attic of their wealthy estranged pious grandmother, and held prisoner there by their mother. Her novels were successful enough that following Andrews's death, her estate hired a ghost writer, Andrew Neiderman, to continue to write novels to be published under her name.

Combining both Andrews and Neiderman's work, I have nearly 100 books from both authors - they even have their own bookcase. After reading the original Flowers, I immediately become engrossed in the V.C. Andrews fandom. Looking at all of my books would make this a very long article, so I will be focusing on V.C. originals or the ghostwritten novels based on her own series.

The Dollanganger series

Andrews's first series of novels was originally published between 1979 and 1986.

Flowers in the Attic and Petals on the Wind focus on the children: Chris, Cathy, Cory, and Carrie, who, after losing their father in an accident, are imprisoned in an attic by their mother and grandmother; Flowers in the Attic tells of their incarceration, the death of one child, and subsequent escape of the other three, with Petals on the Wind picking up directly after. With If There Be Thorns and Seeds of Yesterday, the story also includes Cathy's children, Jory and Bart, after a mysterious woman and her butler move in next door, gradually turning Bart against his parents. Garden of Shadows is a prequel which tells the grandparents' story, and also how the parents became involved.

  • Flowers in the Attic (1979)
  • Petals on the Wind (1980)
  • If There Be Thorns (1981)
  • Seeds of Yesterday (1984)
  • Garden of Shadows (1986) (by V. C. Andrews and Andrew Neiderman)

I own three physical copies of Flowers in the Attic. Yep, three - four if you count the one on my Kindle version. As well as owning my first copy of the book - which I found in a local store along with Petals by chance - I have the 40th anniversary edition and even the first UK publication edition. This book in particular made an appearance in my last short film Womanhood - which mirrored themes seen in Flowers.

This really was a find when I needed one, because initially my character is gifted with a first edition of Jane Eyre - which was quickly rewritten due to its impracticality of finding said book. While in a thrift store, I was amazed and relieved to find the original hardcover of the book and with that in mind, rewrote the scene to include it.

My completed series is a real mixed bag of paperbacks and hardcovers - thanks to my many trips to different stores throughout the years, but I personally like that each book has its own look and style.

Audrina standalone

My Sweet Audrina was the only stand-alone novel published during Andrews' lifetime and was a number-one best-selling novel in North America. The story takes place in the Mid-Atlantic United States during the 1960s and 1970s. The story features diverse subjects, such as brittle bone disease, rape, posttraumatic stress disorder and diabetes, in the haunting setting of a Victorian-era mansion near the fictitious River Lyle.

I had two copies of these one was a pretty battered and bruised paperback that I sadly lost a few years back. Although I wasn't a fan of the Pocket Books - mainly for the font size in these small books, I tore through this book - loving the twisted and dark themes weaved through the Adare family.

However, I did want to find another edition to physically have after losing my first one. So I decided to go with this hardcover edition I found through an indie bookstore. It was cheap and cheerful. But I did prefer the other cover.

The Casteel series

The five novels making up the last known series started by Andrews were published between 1985 and 1990. Only the first two appeared before her death. This series traces the lives of a troubled West Virginia family, originally from the viewpoint of Heaven, a young girl whose mother died during childbirth and the love/hate relationship with her father during the first three novels, and later, to Heaven's daughter Annie in the fourth book, with the fifth and final novel centred on Leigh, Heaven's mother.

  • Heaven (1985)
  • Dark Angel (1986)
  • Fallen Hearts (1988) (started by Andrews, finished by Neiderman)
  • Gates of Paradise (1989) ("inspired" by Andrews, finished by Neiderman)
  • Web of Dreams (1990) ("inspired" by Andrews, finished by Neiderman)

This may be hard to believe due to the pristine condition of these books, these books took awhile to get together. Through lucky finds and terrific indie online bookstores, I was able to have a perfect collection of the Casteel Saga - all hardcovers and with the same cover design. Which was even more perfect as this was my favourite series next to Audrina.

For me, having these in my book collection is more sentimental as V.C. Andrews original tales of family secrets and dramas. But lets just say, this fandom has given me plenty of reading material.

book reviews
4

About the Creator

Ted Ryan

When I’m not reviewing or analysing pop culture, I’m writing stories of my own.

Reviewer/Screenwriter socials: Twitter.

Author socials: You can find me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, TikTok and Goodreads as T.J. Ryan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.