Horror logo

The People In The Picture

How Many People Do You See?

By Shelly BartleyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photograph By: Shelly Bartley

It was in the middle of summer, but this day was cooler than the other days. I had a doctor's appointment that day to get to at a specific time. The time that we left was earlier than intended. It is always better arriving early than late. I took my phone out along the way to take some pictures. My appointment was outside of Marion that would take about 2 hours to get to. I had taken several pictures of all the things that had caught my attention. On a side road that was a shortcut, I could see a house behind the trees. I decided to take a picture of it. I only looked at the picture for a short time because there were several other spots that I had seen along the way that I wanted to take a picture of.

I arrived at my doctor's appointment with plenty of time to spare. After my appointment had been over, I decided to take some more pictures on the way home. It was not until we had arrived back in Marion that I had started to really look at the pictures that I had taken on the ride to my doctor's appointment and back. I looked at each picture checking that it still looked good after I sent them over for me to save them. When I opened the picture of the house that I had taken I saw a few things that I had not seen when I took the picture. As I moved the picture closer and closer in I noticed that there were pictures of people who were not in the picture when I took the picture.

There was an outline of a young man on the left-hand side of the picture. It looked like there was a lantern hanging on the right side of his head. His face was much brighter than the rest of him, and his arms were just casually down. The young man was standing there looking down. Just above him was another face but it was only a face and nothing more. When I was looking at the window, I noticed that some of the tree branches formed a woman's face. I looked farther behind these branches into the window. There were two images further inside the window. One image was the shape of another young man. The image on the left side of him was in the shape of an animal. I thought that it looked more like it was a cat. In the right bottom corner of the picture, there was an image of a small image with a face. Just outside the window on the right wall was a woman's face that looked like it was angry. In the middle of the picture is another face but this one was much harder to make out.

Everyone knows that the mind can sometimes play tricks. Some of the hidden shadows in this picture that you will discover as you look deeper at the picture will come to life. It is hard to tell which ones are from the imagination, and which ones are literally staring back at you from this picture. Look at this picture and see what images show themselves to you. Can you tell which images will stay while the others fade out with the mind that created them? I wonder what the story was behind this house for it to have so many unnamed faces roaming around? Can you see the story as you look at the picture or is your mind creating what it wants you to see?

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Shelly Bartley

From a very young age, I have always written anything from poetry to books. Enjoy painting and other arts. Have written a few songs and short stories to.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.