Horror logo

The Passenger

By: Nova

By Jasmine LaytonPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
1
The Passenger
Photo by Roland Lösslein on Unsplash

As I stared at my reflection I couldn’t stop my hands from pressing against either side of my face. My fingers traced the curves of my orbital bones, down my sharp nose, and over my lips. Every inch of my face felt foreign, and no matter how hard I stared, I couldn’t find any semblance of recognition. This person in the reflection meant nothing to me. My thoughts echoed through my mind like a scream in a canyon.

Who am I?

My memory was gone almost entirely. I had nothing to cling to from my past. I could remember how to read and write. I could remember what a train looked like, and could deduce that I was on one, but not how I got there. I could remember the concept of photosynthesis, the cycle of water. All these things, but I couldn’t recall a single moment from my childhood. I couldn’t think of any moment where I had learned these things. I could vividly picture a swing set, but never a moment I had ever seen one. The feeling of knowing that I didn’t know enough pressed against my skull.

How did I get here? Where will I go?

I sat there staring out the window. The sunlight flickered as it fought to break through the canopy of the forest. It danced around my cabin, illuminating the absolute emptiness that surrounded me. I had no possessions of any kind to speak of. My pockets were empty, aside from a small notebook and a pathetic stub of a pencil. The notebook was mostly void of any writing.

There were some scribbles on the first few pages and the hastily written words, DON’T LOOK on the back. The words felt like ice sliding down my spine and sent my stomach churning.

I shook away the feeling and stood up. The cabin door slid open with ease I slowly pushed it aside. I peered into the hallway to find nothing but endless darkness to the left and a simple door labeled “Dining” to the right.

Gentle music drifted from behind the door. Perhaps there were other passengers on board. My body screamed for me to run in the opposite direction, but even still I reached out for the latch to the door.

Click.

I stepped through the door to find the room mostly empty. There were a few place settings, devoid of any food, and there were mannequins all around the dining car.

My heart threatened to shatter my rib cage and my breath faltered for just a moment. My eyes scanned the room. Each of the mannequins was damaged to varying degrees. They were all faceless, and yet I could have sworn to see terror spread over the featureless plastic beings.

Some were seated at the tables, as though they were about to enjoy a meal. Some were standing around the car, arms raised in joyous celebration. Even still, the room felt airless, and fear protruded around the edges of my body.

I refrained from touching the mannequins as I weaved through them. When I got to the end of the dining car, I cautiously took a glimpse through the small window to the next car.

There were a few more mannequins, but not much else. I turned around to go back to the safety of my cabin, but the door had disappeared. I banged against the wall and yelled for someone to help me. I darted to the window and panicked as the train whizzed through the forest, somehow seemingly faster than before. My hands were shaking as I picked up a chair and threw it against the glass window. It bounced off the glass, leaving not even a scratch. I cried out once more for help and continued throwing all of my weight against the wall, hoping I could break through to my cabin.

I couldn’t say how many moments had passed, but soon after I was faced with a man. He was sweaty, terror floated behind his eyes as he pressed a finger to his lips. My breath hitched in my throat. I tried to question him, but he pushed me down, forced me under one of the tables, and growled at me to shut up.

Before I had even a moment to react the sound of heavy footsteps rang out through the dining car. I pressed my hands over my mouth and nose to keep myself from crying out. I could see the man under the table across from me, still begging me to be quiet with his eyes.

Horrific silence fell over the entirety of the train. The rumble of the wheels on the tracks was gone. The hissing of the engine had ceased. The gentle rustle of the flatware against the tables couldn’t be heard. Most glaring of all, however, was the footsteps. They were impossibly loud. Like cinderblocks slamming down, they echoed through the dining car, they echoed through my body. I could feel the vibrations from each step that was taken. I tightened my hands and squeezed my eyes closed.

Step.

Step.

Step.

Step.

Silence.

When I opened my eyes I could see the plastic feet of another mannequin suddenly in front of me. They were decayed and rotted. The plastic was falling apart, brown, black, and copper streaks covered the floor from each step the creature took.

The seconds ticked by like days as the mannequin stood between the man and me. We both fought to remain silent. The mannequin didn’t move even an inch.

For a moment I thought perhaps it was safe. Perhaps whatever the creature was, had become another lifeless being like all of the ones that already filled the dining car. I wanted terribly to look and see what had become of the thing in front of me.

No. I thought to myself. Don’t look.

A ferocious growl sounded from the mannequin. It was harsh and distorted, unlike any other beast I could think of.

The man looked pale as freshly fallen snow. He stuttered over his words as he emerged from under the table.

“Emily? Is that you?” he called out.

A breathy how left his lips just before the mannequin turned to him. My heart twisted in my chest as the mannequin’s arm snapped up and its hand wrapped around the man’s throat. The man gasped for air and struggled against the creature's grasp, but all the while he smiled.

His face twisted in pain, but the smile never left his lips. There was a blinding flash and seconds later the being let him go. His body fell back into the booth behind him. He straightened his posture like he was about to take part in a meal, but tears began to roll down his cheeks. His entire body seemed to grow more rigid as each second passed. He looked as though he wanted to cry out, yet no sound came from him.

It happened in the blink of an eye. Quicker than I could comprehend. The man was gone, and in his place sat an awfully similar mannequin.

My stomach churned and my head spun as I forced myself to stay quiet. The being turned and seemed to scan the area. It soundlessly glided across the floor, and the sound of a door opening and slamming shut echoed through the dining car.

I waited for a few more beats, then cautiously stuck my head out from under the table. There was no sign of the mannequin creature. I slowly crawled out from under the table with the hope I could return to my cabin.

I was not so lucky.

I felt tears prick the backs of my eyelids and my throat burned as I held back my sobs. The new mannequin that replaced the man was not much different than the ones scattered around the dining car. The plastic skin was far cleaner than any of the others, but that same empty, yet terrified, expression was painted across his face.

I turned away from him, immediately faced with the being from before. It was far more hideous up close. It was so dirty, its face covered in grime and riddled with holes. Its eyes glowed brilliantly, and I instantly squeezed mine shut. The creature gripped my arms and squeezed hard enough to draw out hearty groans from me, but I kept my eyes closed. I tried to break myself free from its grasp, but nothing I did seemed to be enough.

Just then, as my bones grew heavy, I heard the voice of a woman calling out. “Baby,” she whispered directly into my ear, “open your eyes.”

I furiously shook my head, tears once again welling up.

“Alex,” her breath was hot against my skin; a complete contrast to the clammy feeling of the mannequin. “Please, it’s okay. I just want to help you. Don’t you remember me?”

She wasn’t wrong. Familiarity flooded my senses. A gentle touch here, a bright smile there. I did know her, and perhaps more importantly, she knew me.

Maybe…

I opened my eyes slowly. The mannequin was gone, overtaken by a shimmering and vivid blue light. As the light faded I realized I was still on the train. Memories exploded in my head, as everything I had forgotten came flooding back to me. Who I was and who I wanted to be.

Then, there she was; the love of my life. I couldn’t help but smile as she embraced me. Her hands were warm and soft as they crept up the sides of my face.

“You see, baby?” She whispered. “It’s okay.”

I nodded as her hands fell to grip mine. I couldn’t wipe the smile from my lips as I stared into her eyes. It erased everything that was wrong in the world, my cares melted away and my suddenly constricted breathing faded to the background.

This was home.

I was home.

supernatural
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Matthew Streifel2 years ago

    Captivating

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.