Horror logo

The owl people

A short unnatural encounter

By CasperPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

The owl people

I don’t see them all the time.

They don’t blink. They just look, as if they are studying every piece of my sense of being.

I look away, they’re gone. The day is cold, miles of wind passing through the cracks

I'm home, No one's here. My parents are gone. They have gone out for the night.

I'll never forget what happened next, I heard the scratches in their room

My cold feet pressed on the wooden floor boards, tiptoeing to see what the noise is,

I saw them, standing there on the wooden edge of my mother's bed side table

Who are they. They know me. I hurry back to my room and jump in the closet.

I hide under all the blankets my mom thought I folded this morning,

I hear a sound coming from the other room, that room, muttering noises

My parents should be back soon. I quickly grab my walkie talkie and dial my friend,

“You there” Over out, no response, after a couple minutes I start to hyperventilate thinking this is it

This is how it all ends, after convincing myself to breathe, the noises started to fade after a while I dozed off.

SHSHSHSHHS, static noise continued. “Hey I'm here”, frightened by the alarming noise I reply” weird things are happening”

“Are your parents coming home soon its past midnight" my friend anxiously asked

Switched my walkie off. There was a noise coming from the hall, footsteps, laughing, quietly crawling

Through the room in the dark to see who was in my home, its them. Their heads spin back and stare right at me.

My head starts pounding and the back of my arm starts stinging. What's going on, ahhhhhhhh “yelling in pain my head crams with memories I don't recognize

My parents, the memories come rushing back, they captured me when I was little who am I where am I

The creatures that stare at me through the night, I saw them shifting back into their human form.

The ones who hide behind the faces I recognize. they are the abductors. How many times have I found out.

My mind wiped more often than not. A prisoner of my own mind.

I feel my body freezing and them hurrying back into there room

I wake up startled at the sound of pots and pans in the kitchen

Broad daylight, rush into the kitchen feeling braver; since the suns out

I see her standing there the biggest smile there ever was, holding a glass with orange juice and Bacon, toast and eggs in the other. "Hi, honey you sleep alright", she says

Was it all a dream? Or do they not know that I know.

How many of them are there in this world?

I feel all the air sucked out of me, pale as ever, can't help to show how scared I truly am.

"What are you?" I quietly whisper She stops what she's doing. looks straight at me

her head slowly starting to turn, and turn, you know. She grumbles under her breathe. She continues to prepare breakfast and go on with her day.

Too frightened to continue eating but not brave enough to disappoint them

I finish and run straight to my room still watching my back hoping they don't follow me.

I'll leave tonight. When they go out, I'll run fast as far away from here as possible

I hear my door close. I realize I fell asleep, not sleeping does that to me

Windy night again, better close my window for a bit, I quietly grab my bag, and head towards the living room, I won't see this place again,

No one's here, I run towards the back of the house to grab my bike,

Stumbling upon the grass i discover a lump of moved dirt,

Under it lies a staircase leading to a room so clean you can smell disinfectant in the air, curiously i wonder farther into the room and open a door that leads into a steel cage in there i find something that sends shivers

down my back. The other walkie, my friend's walkie, I dont notice it at first

next to the walkie there's something staring at me, in the darkness

I can feel it. The walkie turns on

Mines been on, I leave it on for effect when I'm on an adventure

Are you there, do you want to play a game together? a voice whispers into my walkie

Hes one of them too.

supernatural
1

About the Creator

Casper

Free Spirit

Plants~

Firmly believe anything is possible

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.