Horror logo

The Mirror's Revenge

When the Haunting Follows You

By Nikki LynnPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
The Mirror's Revenge
Photo by Klim Musalimov on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. I was staring at it, mesmerized, when I first noticed that something was wrong. The face in the mirror was mine, but it looked different somehow. The eyes were darker, the skin more pallid.

I moved away from the mirror, but the reflection followed me. I felt a chill run down my spine. What was happening? Was I hallucinating?

Suddenly, the mirror began to glow with an eerie light, and I watched as the reflection in the glass began to change, shifting and warping until it revealed a world beyond my own.

At first, the new world seemed familiar, with similar buildings and streets, but as I looked closer, I realized that this was not my reality. The sky was darker, and the air filled with an ominous stillness that made my heart race.

In the mirror's reflection, I saw creatures that defied all logic, twisted and grotesque things that made my stomach turn. They moved through the streets, hunting for something unseen, and I knew with a sickening certainty that I did not want to be caught in their path.

But even as I tried to turn away, I found that I could not. The mirror held me captive, drawing me closer and closer to the horrific world within. And with every passing moment, the reality within the mirror began to bleed into my own.

At first, it was subtle. A shadow here, a flicker of movement there. But soon, it became impossible to ignore. I saw the creatures from the mirror's world slithering through the shadows of my own, stalking their prey.

I tried to tell myself that it was all in my mind, that I was imagining things. But the evidence was impossible to ignore. Doors creaked open on their own, objects moved without explanation, and every night, I could hear whispers echoing through the halls of my home.

I knew that I had to destroy the mirror, to break the connection between the worlds before it was too late. But every time I tried to shatter the glass, it seemed to regenerate, healing itself before my eyes.

Days turned into weeks, and weeks turned into months. The mirror's world continued to bleed into my own, and I knew that I was running out of time. Every time I closed my eyes, I could see the twisted creatures moving through the shadows, their eyes fixed on me.

Finally, I knew that I had to take drastic action. I gathered all of the strength I could muster and hurled myself at the mirror with all of my might.

The glass shattered, spraying fragments across the room. For a moment, everything was silent, and I dared to hope that I had succeeded.

But then, I saw the fragments of the mirror begin to move, to gather together once more. And as they did, I saw the reflection of the twisted world within, still present, still waiting.

I knew then that there was no escape from the horror that I had unleashed. The mirror's world was now a part of mine, and it would never let me go.

The days that followed were a living nightmare. Everywhere I turned, I saw evidence of the other world. The twisted creatures lurked in the shadows, whispering to me, beckoning me to join them.

I tried to ignore them, to focus on my work and my family, but the whispers grew louder and louder until they were all I could hear. I knew that I was losing my mind, that I was on the verge of being consumed by the darkness.

And then, one night, I saw something that changed everything. I was lying in bed, trying to sleep, when I heard a noise in the hallway.

I sat up, my heart pounding, and listened as the sound grew louder. It was a scratching, scraping noise, like something dragging its way along the walls.

Slowly, I climbed out of bed and made my way to the door. As I opened it, a cold breeze washed over me, carrying with it the stench of rot and decay.

I stepped into the hallway, peering into the darkness. And that's when I saw them. The creatures from the other world slithered along the walls like snakes, their eyes fixed on me.

I tried to run, but they were too fast, too relentless. They surrounded me, closing in, and I knew that this was the end.

But then, something miraculous happened. As the creatures drew closer, I felt a surge of power within me, a power that I had never felt before. It was as if the horrors of the other world had given me a gift, a gift that would allow me to fight back.

I closed my eyes, and as I did, I felt the world around me shift and change. The creatures were still there, still lurking in the darkness, but they were no longer a threat.

With a newfound sense of purpose, I opened my eyes and stared into the mirror, the shattered fragments of glass still scattered across the floor. And at that moment, I knew what I had to do.

With a deep breath, I reached out and touched the glass, letting my fingers trace the edges of the fragments. And as I did, I felt the power within me grow stronger, until it was a force that could not be denied.

With a sudden burst of energy, I drew my hand back and unleashed a torrent of light, a beam of pure energy that raced through the fragments of the mirror and out into the other world beyond.

The creatures screamed as the light hit them, writhing and twisting in agony. And then, as suddenly as it had begun, it was over. The creatures were gone, the darkness banished, and the other world was no more.

For a moment, I stood there, panting and gasping for breath, still stunned by what had just happened. And then, slowly, I turned and made my way back to my bedroom, collapsing onto the bed with a sigh of relief.

The nightmare was over. The mirror was destroyed, and the other world had been banished forever.

But even as I closed my eyes and drifted off to sleep, I knew that I would never forget the horror that I had faced. The memory of the twisted creatures and the dark, foreboding world beyond the mirror would stay with me always, a reminder of the power of darkness, and the strength that could be found in the light.

fictionsupernaturalmonster
Like

About the Creator

Nikki Lynn

I have recently discovered that I have a passion for writing. Short fiction stories and poems have been my focus thus far. I am looking for other areas to experiment in.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.