Horror logo

The Mirror Does Not Reflect My Face

The Terrifying Tale of a Mirror's Spell: When Reflections Turn Into Gateways

By ArivuPublished about a year ago 6 min read
1
The Mirror Does Not Reflect My Face
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

It started with a dare. My friends and I were at a Halloween party, and we were all dressed up in spooky costumes. I was a vampire, complete with fake fangs and a cape. We were all having a great time, dancing and drinking and telling scary stories. But then one of my friends suggested that we play a game.

"Let's go into the bathroom and turn off the lights," she said. "Then we'll each take turns looking into the mirror and saying 'Bloody Mary' three times."

I scoffed at the idea. I didn't believe in that kind of thing. But my friends were all giddy with excitement, egging each other on. Before I knew it, we were all crowded into the bathroom, shutting the door behind us and turning off the lights.

"Okay, who's going first?" someone asked.

"I will," said my friend Sarah. She stepped up to the mirror and took a deep breath. "Bloody Mary," she whispered. "Bloody Mary. Bloody Mary."

We all waited in tense silence, half expecting something to happen. But nothing did. Sarah laughed nervously and stepped back from the mirror.

"Your turn, Matt," she said.

I hesitated. I didn't want to do it, but I didn't want to be the only one who chickened out. I took a step forward and looked into the mirror. My reflection stared back at me, looking slightly distorted in the dim light.

"Bloody Mary," I said, my voice shaking a little. "Bloody Mary. Bloody Mary."

Nothing happened. I breathed a sigh of relief and stepped back. But as I turned to leave the bathroom, something caught my eye.

The mirror.

It wasn't reflecting my face anymore.

Instead, it showed a dark, shadowy figure standing behind me, its eyes glowing red in the dim light. I froze, unable to move or speak.

"What's wrong, Matt?" one of my friends asked, noticing my expression.

I tried to speak, but my throat felt dry and scratchy. I pointed at the mirror, and my friends all turned to look.

"What are you talking about?" Sarah asked, peering into the glass.

But she saw nothing out of the ordinary. The mirror showed only our reflections, distorted by the dim light.

"It was there," I whispered, still staring at the mirror. "I saw it."

My friends exchanged worried glances. They could tell that something was wrong.

"Let's get out of here," one of them said, opening the door and leading us out of the bathroom.

But I couldn't shake the feeling that something was following me. Everywhere I went, I felt like I was being watched, like there was something lurking just out of sight.

And then, one day, I saw it again.

I was getting ready for bed, brushing my teeth in front of the bathroom mirror. I looked up to spit out the toothpaste and saw it there, behind me. The shadowy figure with glowing red eyes.

I tried to turn around, to confront it, but my body wouldn't move. I was paralyzed with fear.

The figure spoke to me then, in a voice that was both menacing and seductive.

"Come with me," it said. "I can show you things you've never seen before. I can take you to places beyond your wildest dreams."

I wanted to resist, to say no. But something inside me was drawn to it, like a moth to a flame.

I took a step forward, and the figure stepped forward too, beckoning me closer.

And then everything went black.

When I woke up, I was lying on the bathroom floor, my head throbbing with pain. I stumbled to my feet, stumbling to the sink to splash water on my face. As I looked up into the mirror, I saw that the figure was gone. My reflection was back, but it seemed different somehow. It was as if the person staring back at me wasn't quite me anymore.

I tried to shake off the feeling and went to bed, but I couldn't sleep. Every time I closed my eyes, I saw the figure and heard its voice calling to me.

Days turned into weeks, and I became increasingly isolated. My friends stopped calling, and my family grew worried. I couldn't tell them what was happening to me. They would think I was crazy.

One day, I found myself standing in front of the mirror again. This time, I wasn't afraid. I was drawn to it, like a moth to a flame.

I looked into the glass, and the figure appeared once more. It spoke to me, its voice soft and persuasive.

"Join me," it said. "Together we can explore the depths of the unknown. Together we can discover the true nature of reality."

I didn't hesitate. I stepped closer to the mirror and reached out to touch it.

And then everything went black.

When I opened my eyes, I was in a different place. It was dark, and I couldn't see anything at first. But as my eyes adjusted, I realized that I was in a room with no doors or windows. The walls and floor were made of the same black, reflective material as the mirror.

I tried to scream, but no sound came out. I was trapped, alone in this dark place with no way out.

Days turned into weeks, and weeks turned into months. Time lost all meaning in that dark room, and I became a shell of my former self. I could feel the figure's presence all around me, whispering to me in the dark.

But then, one day, I saw a glimmer of light. It was faint at first, but it grew stronger as I approached it. I realized that it was coming from a small crack in the reflective surface of the room.

I pressed my face to the crack and peered through. On the other side was a world of light and color, a world that I had forgotten existed. It was beautiful, and I longed to be a part of it.

And then, just as suddenly as I had entered that dark room, I was back in front of the mirror. My reflection was back to normal, and the figure was gone.

I stumbled out of the bathroom, disoriented and confused. It took me a while to realize that I had been gone for over a year.

No one knew where I had been or what had happened to me. But I knew that I had been somewhere else, somewhere beyond this world.

And I knew that I would never be the same again.

___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___

Thank You For Reading...Please Subscribe, comment and Like.

vintageurban legendtv reviewtravelsupernaturalslasherpsychologicalpop culturemovie reviewmonsterinterviewhow tohalloweenfootagefictioncelebritiesbook reviewsart
1

About the Creator

Arivu

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.