Horror logo

The Mildew Man

Do you know the mildew man that visits when you sleep?

By SharonSharpePublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
The Mildew Man
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

I have never wanted to work with or have children. There was always something about the invincible way they lead their lives that filled me with fear. I have never longed for the warm fuzzy feeling that parents get while watching their children grow up. Ironic now that I’m in this situation. If you asked me how I ended up as a babysitter for the little boy that lives next door my answer would change depending on how many drinks I had. Sober me would probably tell you that I have been a cynic for too long and wanted to give the whole kid thing a test run. Drunk and even tipsy me would tell you the truth. I want to make a pass at the kid’s mom.

I know it sounds a little skeezy but let me explain. Helen is brilliant. She’s a lead scientist at a medical research facility in the city. The first time we met was at her house warming party. I never was one for events but when a tall brunette with wild hair knocks on your door asking if her four-year-old can use your bathroom and the kid is in baseball pajamas doing the trademark pee-pee dance you open the door and let them in. While her kid was using the bathroom she leaned her head against the door and let out a really long sigh. You know the kind I’m talking about. The kind you make after you clock out at the end of a 12 hour shift, or when you catch a breather from mourning relatives at a funeral. As she stood there I couldn’t help but take her in. The way she holds tension in her neck and subconsciously kneads the skin at the muscle there. The way her hair slumps over her shoulder like even it’s exhausted from the day she’s had. Unlike the other moms on the block she wasn’t dressed in athletic gear with perfect hair pulled up into high ponytails. She is different…simple graphic t-shirt and jeans. The outfit was a big difference from the perfectly pressed dress slacks and collared shirt that she wore to work. Yes I’ve watched her walk to her car in the morning before. Nothing creepy about it. I just want to know who I live next door to. We talked a little while her kid finished up that’s how I know she’s a scientist, she’s single, and she wants to meet a nice guy. That last part may be a bit of a problem, but I have a feeling that I’m right. It wouldn’t be the first time I fell for a straight girl. Our meeting ended just as quickly as it began when the now empty child bounded from the bathroom and she had to remind him to wash his hands.

Henry. The kid’s name is Henry. I should probably use it now that I watch him while she’s at work. Monday through Friday 8 a.m to 6 p.m, Henry will be with me. Every single day.

The first couple of days were fine. Henry is a really smart kid. He’s four but already knows his colors, numbers up to 20 in English and Spanish, and reads. I don’t mean in the sense of books for little kids that are 90% pictures, but books with chapters where only the front cover has a picture. It’s easy being his babysitter. I walk over at seven thirty and have a cup of coffee with Helen. This part was unintentional the first time, because for some reason I convinced myself I needed to arrive early. Despite the accident the morning cup of joe has become a part of our routine. Then Helen leaves at eight and I am left alone for half an hour until it is time to make breakfast and prepare for Henry to descend the stairs. After breakfast it’s storytime which consists of me reading Henry a story and then Henry reads one to me. The rest of the morning till lunch is up to Henry. For the first few days he wanted nothing to do with me and retreated to his playroom or the backyard to play with his imaginary friends. But after the dragons overwhelmed his imaginary castle and I valiantly stepped in to help him slay the beasts, Henry now invites me to play. After lunch is naptime and Henry is the model napper. Without much fuss he lays down in his bed and snuggles close to his bear. Sometimes he needs to feel the warmth of my hand on his back, but usually I just sit and wait for him to fall asleep. That is until two days ago.

The day had started off the same. Helen and I shared a coffee. I read Henry a story about a very curious monkey, and listened to him read about a rambunctious racoon named Ralph. We played cops and robbers and I lamented my woes to the world as I rotted away in the playhouse jail cell. We had tacos for lunch; tacos are Henry’s favorite. Then it was nap time except this time as we climbed the stair Henry paused just outside his bedroom door.

“What’s wrong?” I asked, looking down at the little boy frozen in place.

“Will you stay a little longer today?” He asked, tentatively taking a step forward into his bedroom.

“Sure thing.” I smiled, hoping that it wouldn’t take too long for him to fall asleep.

Since he was such a sound sleeper I had begun bringing my laptop with me to do work during naptime.

Same as always he climbed onto his bed, tucked the covers around his face and pulled his bear close to his chest. I settled into the old wooden rocker next to the bed, sighing as my body settled down for the first time since the morning.

“Two arms, two legs, green hair, big teeth,” Henry mumbled.

I placed my hand on the center of his back, hoping that like other times it would help him settle.

“Two arms, two legs, green hair, big teeth.”

“Shhh. Get some sleep, Henry,” I whispered, rubbing circles onto his back.

I felt his breathing even out and I slowly stood, making sure to avoid tripping over the legos and startling the little boy awake. As I reached the door, Henry began to speak again.

“Do you know the mildew man?”

“Henry, we’ve had a long day let’s rest for a while,” I replied without turning around.

“Do you know the mildew man?”

“Hen—” my words faltered when I turned to see Henry sitting straight up in bed, his teddy close to his chest.

“Do you know the mildew man, the mildew man, the mildew man? Do you know the mildew man who watches while you sleep,” he sang, his eyes focused on the door but looking past me.

I walked over to him, but just as I got near the bed he settled and laid down again. I tucked the covers around his small frame and left the room.

“Two arms, two legs, green hair, big teeth.”

I could hear him from down the hall, but I kept walking anyway. If he needed me he would call. When he woke up I asked him about it but he couldn’t remember where he had heard the song before. Helen didn’t know either, so I just ignored it.

That was four days ago, and Henry has sung that song every day since.

Like

About the Creator

SharonSharpe

It started with Bloody. He was a six-eyed heart monster that my 2nd grade brain conjured up to delight and terrify my peers. I am a fanfic writer (A03), an aspiring author, and hold an M.A in English.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.