Horror logo

The love of my death

A love that will never let go...

By Karen CavePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
9

You think you can escape from me? I will never let that happen. You are mine, oh love.

I first saw you across the street, and you caught my eye. Immediately, you had my heart. From that first moment I could not back off.

I followed you to see where you were going, because that's what you do when somebody belongs to you. I wanted to see who you were, and where you belonged, and be there with you.

If only you could have known how close I got to you on several occasions, close enough to smell your hair, your perfume. Nice smells, the smells of you. I'm good at hiding, you see. Blending in with the crowd, dipping out of sight behind another passerby or up an alleyway, then rejoining you, getting within a hair's breadth without you even realising.

I watched you go shopping many times, buying clothes to feel beautiful for me. I silently approved the wine that you bought. But then I accompanied you as you visited a house. I watched you leave that house a few hours later, and you did not look your best. I discovered who lived at that house, and I felt very disappointed. I am always frustrated at how easily people betray the people they love. You let me down my love. I bounced back however. That's what love means doesn't it? Being resilient.

I had to do something about that situation of course. I was glad to remove that person from our lives so that I could continue to love you, and you could continue to be your best for me.

Oh my love, if only you could realise the depth of my feelings for you. People talk about how hard relationships are, but it is ridiculous how easy it is to love you, to spend time with you. If you were to know how close I feel to you, it would take your breath away.

Maybe you think you could have got away. But of course you don't think that; you can't think that, because you love me too. You must do, to have let me get so close.

If you had met me and got to know me properly, you would have known instantly that we were destined to be together. You would not think anything else, because you cannot argue with fate.

Those months and months that we got to know each other, I put in all the work. I didn't mind all that investment, the miles and miles of following behind you, staying out of sight. I was determined to woo you, to enjoy every single moment of our beautiful romance, 'clocking up those hours' as it were.

I am lucky of course in my absolute determination; I never gave up. I always had faith in us. I knew we would eventually end up together forever, that you would come to see the light and accept me in your life.

Of course if we had both seen the lights of the speeding car heading towards us that fateful day, we would both still be alive.

I knew it would all pay off, my love. All the waiting, the watching, the hiding, my efforts to ensnare you. To capture our love. And now, even in death, I am still always a few steps behind you, just out of sight. I can tell that you sense me, even though you never see me.

I love you so much my darling. You are the love of my life, and my death.

psychological
9

About the Creator

Karen Cave

A mum, a friend to many and I love to explore dark themes and taboos in my

Hope you enjoy! I appreciate all likes, comments - and please share if you'd like more people to see my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.