Horror logo

The Light in the Window

Strange Neighbor

By Hadayai Majeed aka Dora SpencerPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
Like
The Light in the Window
Photo by Ian Keefe on Unsplash

"The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years. One night, a candle burned bright in the window." Across the pond I could see the small light it was as bright as the sun. I was up writing and when I glanced out the window it hit my eyes like a flash of lightning. A few days later I decided to go to the cabin on my way back from getting my monthly supplies I would stop and see if I could meet my new neighbor. As my boat approached the dock, I thought I saw someone dart behind the cabin. I approached very carefully announcing who I was. Then this tiny high-pitched voice from the rear of the cabin asks, “Who are you?” Bill Hargrove your neighbor across the pond.

Why are you here? “I am just curious to see my new neighbor. The tiny high-pitched voice shouted, “Go away!” Then a shot rang out the bullet hit the water a few feet from my boat. I hurriedly ran to the boat turned it around and left. Wow! A few feet closer and my boat would have had a hole in it. I wonder who she is and why she is so fearful. I see the light on every night and wonder what is she doing? How can I communicate with her? I mean her no harm. This is not the place for a woman I think to be alone.

A few days past and then I see something darting behind the trees of my property. I go to investigate, and it is a very tiny woman like the size of someone with dwarfism just running behind the trees like she is chasing something. I go get my shot gun to track her just in case she is being chased by a wild animal. As I follow her, I remember I did not see a boat on the shore. You can only get unto properties in this area by boat or helicopter. Then I see her running down a wild pig a huge wild pig she catches up with it and began to eat it raw. I watched for a moment in pure disgust and horror. Then she looks up at me with blood all over her mouth like a child who has put its face into the mixing bowl of icing for a cake. She stares at me, and I see her teeth are all jagged like tiny razor blades.

The wild look in her eyes frightens me and I retreat hurriedly to my cabin. I call the game warden on my radio alerting him of the wild pig. Not sure what to tell him about the woman eating the pig. He responds to my call telling me that hunting season has begun, and I may see hunters on my property. Well, if he only knew I already have seen one. For the rest of the week, I kept my dogs near the house and did not go out. What I saw affected me that much. She almost did not look human.

Then late one night I hear the animals they were all distressed making peculiar sounds. When you live in an open isolated place like this you learn the sounds the animals make during the day and at night. Tonight, the animals were restless and maybe even frightened. My dogs are whining and then begin to bark feverishly. I look out my cabin and see nothing. Then I turn on the searchlights and see a group of small people all looking at my cabin from behind the tree line. All small like children however with a mature look about them. I call the Sheriff on the radio I tell him to bring a team of deputies to my home. There are a group of small weird looking people just past the tree line just standing there looking like they may attack. My dogs, barks change from feverish to frantic. The group of people move slowly towards my cabin. As a well-trained squad of soldiers, they begin to grunt and then chant. I gather all my guns most already loaded and put them by the door. I also have several small grenades. They suddenly stop moving forward and grunting. Next the sound I hear is of a helicopter and the Sheriff shouting at them to leave. Like roaches when you turn on the light, they scatter deeper into the tree line.

The helicopter lands and a few deputies in riot gear get out and run toward the trees in a minute you hear all of them screaming in unison Run! The Sheriff tells me to go to the helicopter. I lock the dogs in the cabin and follow him. As the last man jumps on board, we see several large animals that look like feral hogs however they are three times the size of the average feral hog. The men shoot at them from the helicopter as it ascends into the night sky.

The next morning the Sheriff and three of his deputies and a couple of game wardens returned with me to my cabin. All you could see was blood, partial scraps of hair of my dogs and some ugly greenish gray slime all over the place. “My Lord what happened here?” exclaims one of the game wardens. The place was too much of a mess for me to stay. I leave with the Sheriff and his team, all of us scratching our heads. He calls the governor’s office reports what has happened and request that an emergency be declared for the properties along the lake shore.

monster
Like

About the Creator

Hadayai Majeed aka Dora Spencer

Hadayai Majeed writes short, intriguing stories in many genres. The Joy of Islam series and Pieces of Me with Company are collections of her diverse works and those of others. Each book is unique always leaving the reader wanting for more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.