Horror logo

The Light in the Darkness

Love and Light will always triumph

By SharmiansiPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Light in the Darkness

Depression have taken over my life, feeling alone and hopeless. I had tried everything to fight it - therapy, medication, self-help books - but nothing seemed to work.

I was drowning in a sea of darkness.

One day, I have decided that I could not take it anymore. I took all the pills in my medicine cabinet and crawled into bed, waiting for the end to come. But then, something strange happened.

I felt a presence in the room with me, a warm and comforting presence that I couldn't explain.

Slowly, I opened my eyes and saw a figure standing at the foot of my bed. It was a woman, with long flowing hair and a gentle smile. She reached out her hand and said, "Come with me."

Without thinking, I took her hand and was suddenly transported to a different place. It was a beautiful meadow, filled with wildflowers and butterflies.

The sun was shining brightly overhead, and a gentle breeze was blowing.

I stood up and walked around the meadow, taking in the beauty of my surroundings. As I walked, I noticed a small pond nearby. I approached it and looked into the water, seeing my reflection for the first time in what felt like ages.

I looked different somehow - lighter, more relaxed. My eyes were bright, and there was a smile on my face. For the first time in a long time, I felt hopeful about the future.

I sat by the pond for a while, lost in thought. I knew that I couldn't stay in the meadow forever, but I also knew that I had been given a gift.

The woman had shown me that there was another way, a way out of the darkness.

When it was time to leave, I stood up and took a deep breath. I closed my eyes and imagined the meadow behind me, the darkness in front of me. But as I took a step forward, something amazing happened.

The darkness began to recede, just like it had in the meadow. It was as though the light I had found there had followed me back into the real world, pushing back against the darkness.

I walked out of my bedroom, feeling lighter than I had in a long time. I knew that my journey wasn't over yet, but I also knew that I had the tools to fight the darkness.

I had the memory of the meadow, the love and light that I had found there.

Over the next few weeks, I took small steps towards healing. I went for walks in nature, spent time with loved ones, and focused on self-care. I still had bad days, but I knew that I could get through them.

And then, something miraculous happened. I found myself feeling happy again. Not just content or okay, but genuinely happy. It was as though a weight had been lifted off my shoulders, and I was free to live my life again.

Looking back, I know that the journey was long and difficult. But I also know that I wouldn't be where I am today without it. The darkness had forced me to confront my demons, to search for the light. And in doing so, I had found a new lease on life.

With a deep breath, I made my decision. I chose to stay in the meadow, to embrace the light and the love that surrounded me. And as I did, the darkness began to recede, until it was nothing more than a distant memory.

Depression may have won for a time, but love and light will always triumph in the end.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.