Horror logo

The light

A hazy story...

By Xo Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Jolting up from the floor I look around and stand up hastily, looking out the window I see nothing but darkness and a... dim light in the distance? The light almost seems hazy; maybe covered over with a dark grainy film. As I stare hearing a voice in my head: “It’s here”. I shake my head in an attempt to regain control of my thoughts- Suddenly. No. Abruptly, a very loud noise shakes the room I’m in forcing me to cover my ears, my body his the floor and my back presses against something cold and wet; normally I’d be concerned by this odd feeling, but I’m too alarmed to even think about it.

The noise grows louder… Oh, it stopped. I take a minute to recall what the noise was, it sounded almost like a train passing above, but louder. Recalling the cold wet sensation, I jump up in shock quickly swiveling around to inspect the cause of that sensation… there's nothing there, just a wall… I think. I press my hand against the so-called wall, it should be concrete- What is this? The wall slowly melds around my hand like a thick gooey substance and I feel that cold, wet sensation once again. I pull my hand back in such an aggressive manner that if faced with another person it’d be mistaken for hostility. Once again I recall, I should be looking for a way out; Looking around the room with desperation I notice a door. Can it be opened? Correction, Will it open? I grab the handle and push the door open furiously, soon faced with a dark void-like plane.

There's nothing to be seen for miles… I feel a fire burn inside me, quite literally I may add, it feels like a heart attack as I clutch my chest and fall to the ground filled with stress and confusion. This isn’t real, at least I hope it isn’t; I look out at the void once again to see the dim grainy light… It seems… Closer? Where am I? How did I get here? Memories seem to flood back like a waterfall onto a river sending my mind in an endless spiral. This isn’t real! This isn’t real! Echoing in my mind as if I was screaming in an empty room...the solid ground that was once under me suddenly disappears. Turning I reach out to grab something, anything, but there was nothing there; This isn’t real! This isn’t real! Almost like a ticking clock in my mind, actually… it was like a parrot repeating the only word it knows when something shocking happens, but now it’s quiet, or maybe I can’t hear the thought in my mind over the sound of wind flying through my ears as I fall.

I had almost forgotten that I was falling until now, I thought it’d be more horrendous, terrifying or traumatizing but I was only shocked for a moment. An almost hazy feeling washes over me, it’s warm and not the most soothing feeling; I can’t help but let my mind wander and wash away with this feeling... Unfortunately, I’m brought back to cognitive thought as I come to a realization: when was the last time I ate? I don’t feel hungry, in fact I feel nothing at all, physically at least. Suddenly, a sound in my head, almost like a wind chime beckoning me not to think any further, and I oblige. This can’t be real! Flipping over I’m suddenly facing toward the light that had seen before, It didn’t seem real… gradually the light grew clearer: it was real.

psychological
1

About the Creator

Xo

I write the most chaotic and random thigs that come to mind. Most of my work is inspired by images, music or just things that I've heard before.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.