Horror logo

The Lawyer And The Wolf

A monster of a legal problem

By Matthew DonnellonPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like
Photo by Mateus Campos Felipe on Unsplash

It was hard to keep my eyes closed in the lobby of the lawyer’s office as the man sitting next to me wouldn’t stop fidgeting.

“I’m nervous Jasper,” he kept saying.

“I told you I’d take care of it. Stop worrying.”

“Are you sure she can help?”

“I’m confident she can handle it.”

“Even with my, uh, condition?”

I opened one and looked at him, “Quiet, let’s not announce it to the whole world.”

“Okay.”

“Just relax Tobias. We’ll see her in a minute and then you’ll be more at ease.”

Tobias Moon had every reason to be nervous but I didn’t want to tell him that. He'd been jumpy since I pulled him out of the 24.7 diner he'd been holed up in after running from the cops. I also didn’t want to say that I was only reasonably sure she could help. This was the first time I’d asked her to help in this kind of situation. You never knew how people would react.

I slipped my earbuds back in and tried to rest a few minutes. I’d been up all night looking for Tobias. I wish I could say it was out of concern, but in truth his father asked, and he paid well. Most of my work paid peanuts if at all so I was always happy to help the Moon family. Tobias came from a long line of wealthy men who started using their unique gifts for monetary gain.

“Who are you listening to?” he asked.

“Tyler Childers,” I said without opening up my eyes.

“Can I listen?”

I gave him the earbuds, and he nodded along for a bit. I was just happy to keep him quiet.

“You really like this country stuff don’t you?”

“It’s okay.”

In truth, I didn’t for a long time but I’d spent enough nights in the backwoods hunting people down and developed a taste for it.

“You know you can get wireless ones now right?”

“I’m aware,” I said knowing that my iPhone was ancient by his standards.

“I have some extra Air Pods. I’ll give them to you. Before I get put away.”

“You’re not getting put away. Did you bring the money?”

“Yeah,” he said pulling out a wad of cash.

“Stop, keep it in your pocket,” I said. The room was empty aside from a bored looking receptionist, but you can never be too careful.

‘How much did you bring?“ I asked quietly.

“Ten grand.”

“Good.”

It was a good amount. He’d need at least five grand for the retainer and I figured we might need another grand to keep her quiet.

The receptionist gestured to us.

“She’ll see you now.”

We got up and I just about had to drag Tobias who didn’t want to move.

“I don’t want to go Jasper.”

“Let me explain how this goes. Either you come right now or I take the silver knife on my hip and we get this over with. If word gets out you’re wanted. People are going to come after you.”

His face went white.

He started to shake.

“What’s going on?” I asked.

“Something’s wrong.”

I turned to the receptionist, “Can we have a moment please?”

“I’ll go get a coffee,” she said sensing trouble.

“Are you changing?” I asked as soon as the room was clear.

“It feels like it.”

“I thought you could control it.”

“We’re close to the full moon and I’m nervous. It makes it harder.”

In addition to the knife, I had a revolver with six silver bullets. I was afraid he might lose control.

“Get a hold of yourself.”

“Are people really after me?”

“They will be.”

“My father will protect me.”

“Who do you think sent me?”

The realization made him snap out of his nervous haze.

“What?”

“He wanted me to bring you in. He wanted to know if there was a way to make this go away. That’s why we’re here.”

“And if I didn’t come in?”

“I needed to take you out.”

He nearly passed out.

“Why?….w-why would he do that?”

“He didn’t want to Tobias but the police can’t bring you in. It’d risk exposing your kind and they rest of creature world. He knows the rules. That’s why he sent me.”

Then it hit him, “Because you’d at least make it quick.”

“He was sick about it Tobias, but if you get caught. You father, mother, sisters your whole pack is as good as dead. Now let’s go.”

We sat down in two nice leather chairs in front of a large live-edge oak desk. It was beautiful. I guessed it was at least two thousand dollars.

“Hello gentleman,” the lawyer said, “My name is Amanda. I know Mr. Ford here. Who might you be?”

“T-Tobias.”

“Just Tobias?”

“Tobias Moon.”

“Of the Moon family?”

“Yes.”

Good, I thought. It would make it easier if she knew he was rich. Money greases all wheels.

“What seems to be the problem? I’ll have you know I cleared my afternoon when Jasper called. He always has the most interesting cases.”

I needed her help a couple times. The work I did sometimes made it hard to explain to law enforcement. But a high powered attorney made things go away more often then not, even if it cost me my life savings each time.

I was sure she had suspicions about the nature of my work, but she was about to learn the truth.

I didn’t want to do this. The fewer people who knew the better. But lawyers are literally paid to keep their mouth shut.

“Well?…I was with a woman,” Jasper started.

“That’s how it always starts,” she said.

“But nothing happened.”

“I’m sure it didn’t.”

“She…died. The police found her the other day.”

“She died violently I take it.”

“Yes. She was ripped apart.”

“Would this be the young woman on the news?”

“Yes.”

“I see. They said she was torn apart. It almost looked like an animal did it.”

“Yes, and I was the last person anyone saw her with,” Tobias said.

“So the police want you for questioning.”

“Yes.”

“Let me guess you ran.”

“Yes.”

“And now you look incredibly guilty.”

“Yes.”

“Why did you run?” she asked.

Tobias looked at me.

“Just tell her.”

“I…I’m…I’m….”

“Spit it out dear. I promise you can’t shock me.”

“I’m a werewolf.”

True to her word, Amanda didn’t even flinch.

“Are you surprised?” I asked.

“I’ve had my suspicions with your other other cases. Besides in my line of work it’s hard to be surprised anymore.”

“So you’ll take me case?”

“Do you have money?”

He pulled out the wad of cash, “I’ve got ten grand and more where that came from. Plus my father will be grateful I’m sure.”

“Toss it here,” she said “That will get us started. I’ll have a contract drawn up.”

“Works for me,” Tobias said, noticeably less nervous. Of courses, handing over large sums of his father’s money to get out of trouble came naturally to Tobias. He was in his element.

“Just one thing,” she said.

“Name it.”

“Can I see?”

“You mean you want me to change?”

“Yes.”

He looked at me for approval.

“Can you control it?”

“Yeah.”

“Go ahead,” I said but discretely slid my hand under my jacket in case things went south.

And he removed his shirt, he changed right then and there. I’d seen the change enough times that it didn’t phase me, but it was still something to see.

Tobias stood up. Four inches taller now, with a wolf’s head and thick grey fur covering his body. His upper body grew immensely, rippled with muscle and his hands terminating in thick, nasty claws.

“Awesome,” she said.

Tobias changed back. Even though he could control it it was best not to stay in that form for two long.

“I think we have a deal gentleman. I’m going to get to work. Jasper I’d like you to keep an eye on Mister Tobias here.”

I agreed knowing I could squeeze some more money out of the old man.

“Tobias just sit tight and listen to Jasper. And make a call to your money guy. This is going to get expensive.”

“Name the amount and I’ll have it wired.”

“Good. I think that’s all.”

“So you don’t mind?”

“Mind what?”

“You don’t mind representing a werewolf.”

She laughed.

“What?” Tobias asked.

“One, you’re hardly the first monster I’ve had as a client. And two…”

“Yes?”

Honey, I’m a lawyer. I’d represent the devil himself if the check cleared.”

monster
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Donnellon

Twitter: m_donnellon

Instagram: msdonnellonwrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.