Horror logo

The Last Light Out of Town

a short horror-esque story

By Erin GreyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Last Light Out of Town
Photo by Sasha Yudaev on Unsplash

It sits. And it waits.

Shrouded in fog, the slowly changing colors muted by the moisture that hung low. Street lights refracting off the crystals, giving the aura of pure mystery. Beyond the light, dead ahead, was darkness. A lone road, leading away from the safety of neighborhood homes and the cozy convenience store that sat at the corner, and to the unknowns of dark country roads, forbidden houses spread apart across miles of foliage.

And at every drive by, I turned right.

It was a four-way intersection, the crossing road acting as the barrier to the town, marking where the town ended and where the unknown began. After sundown, only few would risk going through the light, mostly those who lived out there, beyond it. Or perhaps a wandering traveler, lost and confused by the confetti of fog, they forget to turn around and retreat to safer waters, but instead, they kept driving straight. The light doesn't warn them, it merely influences. Confuses. Plays tricks on the mind of the driver, before the GPS has time to say 'Make a U-Turn if possible.'

The lonesome apartment complex was located at the right turn off the intersection, hesitantly bordering the wildlands and protecting its inhabitants with fences and brick walls. Small and quaint, the community had a healthy balance of friendly and hostility to each other. Some locals speculate it is due to the proximity to the woods. It toyed with the minds of the tenants, splitting them. Dividing them. Hoping some would wander away past the complex's defenses and into the woods without protest.

Every night, the light and fog would play with me as I sat at the intersection, waiting for the colors to change. Red, red, red, red....green. Shaking away any creeping feeling to go straight, I turned right, and into the secluded safety of the four building complex. Driving slow, avoiding the cars parked haphazardly along the deserted street, apartment lights were on, giving beacons of hope as I drove to the last building on the left. It was the furthest away from the abyss of trees, making the chosen tenants more at ease than others, our minds still relatively pure, except for any stories we've been told.

Every night, I would climb out of my two door Civic, making sure it was locked tight. I trusted the town, but not the bordering grounds. Entering the two-story complex, keys in hand to remind myself that I was still unsafe, being out in the foggy air alone, with no neighbor's watchful eye around. The apartment door clicked open after unbolting two locks, and locking it back up with three. You could never risk leaving yourself exposed to what could come creeping in.

Every night, I would breathe a sigh of relief upon turning on a warm lamp, setting my work bag down before slumping at the couch. Second shift was destroying me, it weakened my mind, making myself more susceptible to the taunting fog and curiosity beyond the light. Debriefing myself on my couch at 2am brought me back into a realm of comfort, safety and reassurance. I was okay. And I will continue to be okay.

And every night, I would hastily go to bed after collecting my thoughts. Throw off my scrubs, replacing them with a simple set of shorts and a tank top. Grab a drink of water, plug my phone in, and finally, turn out the lights. To only go and repeat this same process, over and over.

It still sits. And it still waits.

Something was different this time. Almost shocking, as I approached the red light, still draped in a mystical layer of fog. And through the thicket, I noticed it. Him. A man, shrouded in mystery and curiosity, much like the last light out of town. A lanky body leaning against the lanky post, they mirrored each other. The forest was playing tricks on me, it had to be the solution. It wanted to lure me in. It knew I was growing weak to its callings, and it was taunting me. Wanting me to drive off into the bleak black hole that waited for me beyond the light.

I refused.

Like every other night, once the traffic light turned green, I turned right and sped off into the complex, wanting to get away from what the light was tempting me to do. I will not become a statistic. I will not fall prey like many others have. Parking the Civic, I bolted inside the complex, nearly forgetting to lock my car. I was frazzled. And that was my mistake.

He was waiting for me in my apartment. I nearly screamed, but my mouth was quickly covered and I immediately fell weak. Knees gave out, and my vision blurred. He drugged me. This crazy son of a bitch drugged me.

Half conscious, I felt him pick up my limp body, carrying me somewhere. Eyes glazed over, I was able to give him a solid look. I recognized - I knew him. He was a town hero, had many accolades tied to his person, and yet here he was, kidnapping a quiet, college kid. Tears welled silently into my eyes, knowing that I would never be found. The town would sweep it under the rug, and blame it to the trickery of the forest. Yet, the magical fog tried to protect me within its veil.

Thrown into the back seat, he drove away from my once called home, acting like this was a normal late night shtick. Glancing up out the window, unable to feel my being, I saw it.

The last light out of town.

And it was the last thing I witnessed.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Erin Grey

A creator of many different types of media - including writing! Currently a graduate student in PA, I love to write mostly science fiction work (and fan fiction - but that's on a different site). Published author - ask for more info!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.