Horror logo

THE LAKE & ME!!!

The Inheritance That Was My Demise.

By Tanya CruzPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read
4
THE LAKE & ME!!!
Photo by Jan Antonin Kolar on Unsplash

I couldn’t believe that my only sole relative left me an inheritance, that was defiantly a WTF moment in my life… was I expecting that? Nope, & you know why because my mother didn’t even know she had a sister. SURPRISE TO US ALL!!! She was a distant gossip in the family & by this point in my life everyone was dead. It was just me and my animals.

So, I received this awkward looking letter in the mail address with the words: TO THE SOLE LIVING RELATIVE OF THE CRUZ CASADO family. Sealed in a wax stamped family emblem. I didn’t even kn0w we had one. All the letter said was time & location. Somewhere by the lake houses in Maine, New York. All I know about that place is that is Nautical in nature and some properties are by a body of water.

I am extremely excited and scared at the same time of my unexpected events in my life. When I arrived in Maine it was a hot summer day. The odd thing about it the sun was starting to set & that is just odd when it was only 4, or 5ish in the late afternoon, early evening. Mid-Summer, East side of the coast 0f the States, not supposed to happen. There was something off in the air and that uneasy feeling just hit and stomach turned.

I arrived to this beautiful historic lake house, the only thing, the house had Spanish Moss everywhere, made it look scary in the same turn around. The lawyer was outside waiting for me. I was there to sign the paperwork stating that the property I just arrived to was all mine. As soon as I signed there was a complete shift in the air. It felt cold and chilly, it almost had the feel like it was about to storm, cloudy & gloomy. There was a darkness lingering throughout. It wasn’t even 6pm yet. My intuition was telling me something was wrong, very very wrong. This was supposed to be a happy moment for me so I brushed it off and ignored what my gut was trying to tell me.

What solidified it for me was the dancing still mist lurking over the murky water. If you stared at it long enough it almost looks like ghostly figures waltzing over the water. The view was captivating and gorgeous even with the gloomy scenery. I am an artist so I had to bring out my canvas & paints…wanted to indulge in painting my surroundings. I must have been painting for a while because I was nearly done. The fog like mist just stood there as if it had no where else to flow to, like stopped in time, no wind to glide over the body of water.

I was nearly done picking up my things & out of the corner of my eye, I saw something run through the mist. It looked like a black shadow jetting across the water where it actually left an empty spot in the mist where it shot across the fog. It even made the water ripple as it jetted by. As usual I didn’t pay it no mind, incident ignored. I just thought it was due to me being tired and exhausted. Then it happens again, this time in the opposite direction. Now I am moving faster to go inside, where I might feel safe.

Felt like I couldn’t get to the house fast enough. But I am stubborn in nature so I wanted to take some still photos to. The need to capture what I was seeing couldn’t be ignored.

As I am taking the photos of the beautiful eerie view, I saw a flash of light then followed by a piercing ringing tone so loud in my ear. The feeling I got next was that of a nightmare. It felt like I was transported to a parallel world where I know & felt I wasn’t suppose to be there. I felt stuck, alone and abandoned. The only two humans that knew I was there was the lawyer and my driver and they were strangers. It gave you that feeling of being in two worlds at once. The oddest thing I have ever had to experience, this just can’t be!!!

I woke up from sleeping on the sofa, I don’t even recall laying down to nap to begin with, I was just outside. It felt I was sleeping for hours & in my sleep time stood still. It felt as if I was in some dark labyrinth. I know I was dreaming & waking up where I wasn’t suppose to be. It felt so real, it confused me of my existence. What confirmed the supernatural for me was the cast of black shadows hovering over & around the dark gloomy lake, which was ab mist earlier that day. I was really fighting the urge not to freak out & stay calm. I knew I had to figure out what was wrong & how to get out of this feeling I didn’t want to be in.

As I am watching these dark figures just lurking still over the dark water their shapely shadows started taking form. I couldn’t even imagen how this was happening. The way the water started rising from the lake meshing into the black glops lurking over the lake was breath holding, like I stopped breathing watching what I was watching. It was captivating to see how this was taking transformation from a body of water to a black ooze that the lake was earlier in the day. Well not no more! Now it was a black oozy body of water. At the same time the way life came into each black oozy glop was memorizing. It left you quite breathless on how it all became tangible in that instant. What made it even more petrifying was the fact as I see them come to life, they have eyes. When an army of these black shadowy figures decide to open their eyes, which mind you they didn’t have eyes when the black oozy water transformed them, apparently, they had their eyes closed.

When they opened their eyes, the sounds emulating from these dark oozy figures waltzing over the lake was out of this world defiantly not natural. The sound generating from this army filled the air as I was teleported to another dimension or parallel world. What made it more ominous was the eerie fact that each dark glop had a familiar sense to them, like I knew them from somewhere. All of the unworldly figures had yellow piercing eyes, except for one of them. The main one seemed to have pierced red eyes he had to be the leader he was the only one with those red glowing eyes. The vibration that came with their sound felt like a magnetic pull wanting me to become a part of their world. The bad part about it, it felt tempting, like if they were trying to engulf me into their world. What made even more scarier is that I wanted to give in & in the same turn around all I wanted was a way out. To awaken from this horrible nightmare. What made it even more disturbing was the way they were chanting my name “Tanya Melissa” over & over again in a low rhythm vibration sort of way like this was my hazing moment. Everything that was going down hill…had me feeling I was stuck in place & I couldn’t run. Not that I didn’t want to, is that I couldn’t, I was literally stuck in their goo. I literally had no were to run. The dark dense shadow figures moved slow and fast & in synchronization getting closer & closer to where I was standing. I left the shoes right there… I was able to run & run fast… the faster I ran the faster the gooey black lake & house appeared faster matching me trying to run away from it. I WAS RUNNING IN CIRCLES! No streets, no highway, not even a path where we drove into earlier that day. Yup not being able to go no where I dropped right where I stood. Sitting Indian style on the floor absolutely giving in. The army of black shadows just stood over me still in time.

The one with the red piercing eyes reached out and touched me & the memories of the car crash on my way to the estate came fluttering in all at once with a thousand and one images right before my eyes and reliving my whole life. To the unfortunate realization, I apparently died on contact during the collision on my way to sign for my inheritance. The moment I accepted my demise I noticed the red hallow moon which drained my energy on top of everything else. The moment I accepted it all, my environment shifted yet again, & this time it felt like home.

This was my purgatory because I wasn’t suppose to die yet… I had unfinished business. Now I’ll be stuck in between... until someone comes to show me the light. This is what my life ended up to be. Just the lake and me.

supernatural
4

About the Creator

Tanya Cruz

My name is Tanya Melissa I have a passion for writing that I never pursued before. I am coming out my shell to do so. Inspired by other people, as well encourage others that feel the same way I do.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.