Horror logo

The invitation

Invitation

By Mohammed yassar ArafathPublished about a year ago 2 min read
18
Invitation

It was a beautiful day in the small town of Millfield. The sun was shining, and a gentle breeze was blowing through the trees. But something wasn't right. People were acting strange. They were whispering, and when I walked past them, they would quickly stop talking and look away.

I didn't think much of it until I received an invitation in the mail. It was for a party at an old mansion on the outskirts of town. The invitation was handwritten and had no return address. It simply said: "You are cordially invited to a party at Ravenwood Manor. RSVP by tomorrow."

Curiosity got the best of me, and I decided to attend the party. I put on my best suit and drove to Ravenwood Manor. As I approached the mansion, I noticed that the gate was open, and there were no other cars in the driveway.

I parked my car and walked up to the front door. It was slightly ajar, and I could hear music playing inside. I pushed the door open and stepped inside. The hallway was dimly lit, and there was a strange smell in the air. It was musty, like the house hadn't been lived in for years.

I followed the sound of the music and found myself in a large room. It was empty except for a table in the center of the room. On the table was a single glass of champagne.

Suddenly, the door slammed shut behind me, and the lights went out. I was trapped in the dark with no way out.

I heard footsteps approaching. They were slow and deliberate, and they were getting closer. I was paralyzed with fear as the footsteps stopped right in front of me.

"Welcome to Ravenwood Manor," a voice whispered. "I hope you enjoy the party."

I felt a cold, bony hand grab my arm and pull me towards the table. The hand was strong, and I couldn't break free. The glass of champagne was pushed towards me.

"Drink up," the voice said. "It's a special vintage."

I hesitated, but the grip on my arm tightened, and I felt like I had no choice. I lifted the glass to my lips and took a sip. It was bitter and metallic, like it had been mixed with poison.

Suddenly, the lights flickered back on, and I saw the figure standing in front of me. It was a woman, dressed in a long, flowing gown. She had a porcelain mask covering her face, and her eyes glowed in the dim light.

"Welcome to my party," she said, her voice cold and emotionless. "You are the first to arrive, but don't worry. The others will be here soon."

I realized then that I had been lured to Ravenwood Manor for a reason. The people in the town were afraid of the woman in the porcelain mask, and they had sent me as a sacrifice.

I knew then that I had to get out of the mansion before it was too late. But as I turned to run, the woman in the porcelain mask grabbed my arm and whispered in my ear:

"You're not going anywhere."

supernatural
18

About the Creator

Mohammed yassar Arafath

Unleash Your Potential: Welcome to a journey of inspiration and transformation! As a passionate explorer of the limitless possibilities of life, I'm here to share insights, ignite curiosity, and empower you to embrace the extraordinary..

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Saffron Josephabout a year ago

    Should do more better stories like this

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.