Horror logo

The Hunted Highway

By: Alexandria Clayton

By Clayton TorresPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
The Hunted Highway
Photo by Intricate Explorer on Unsplash

I was walking for hours and hours just trying to find the trail I was recently on. It was getting dark and the clouds were rolling in making it darker than before. I was all alone in a dense dark forest, not knowing where I was. Until a highway. I did not know why there was a highway in the middle of nowhere. But it was there and I needed a ride to find my way home. It had already started to rain and it was so cold. I didn’t bring an umbrella with me, it looked really nice that morning. I wish I did though because I'm soaking wet. I see a car on the road maybe 800 ft away from me so I put up my hand to wave it down. It stopped for me. An old man with a beard said, “Do you need a ride?”. I said yes please and got in. It was warm in the car, way better than outside. He started to talk to me but I couldn’t quite hear him. I was just too focused on that object in the ride, it was like someone or something was coming over me. Then the man saw me staring at it and started yelling for me to put on my seat belt. Then he started to drive and ran over the object. After he did, I could hear him again. He tried to explain what it was and why he had to do that. But, then again I couldn’t quite hear him. I was just staring at the figure moving, shaping into different things. It looked like it was hurt and injured but when it saw me looking at it, it got up and started for the car. That made me freak out, so I started yelling at the driver to drive but the figure had already got to the car. It looked like a man at the window, I knew it wasn’t. I tried to tell the driver not to open the window and to lock the doors but the man didn’t listen. It was like he couldn’t hear me or something. The man with the beard just opened the window and the figure took its cranny, long, killer fingers and raped it around the man’s neck. I didn’t see what happened after that because I closed my eyes in terror. What is he going to do to me? Is he going to kill me too? Yup, he saw me in the back. He took his hand and drugged the man with the beard out of the car. The man’s neck was all bloody, he was lifeless laying on the road. It was like the figure had gotten stronger from killing him. He had ripped out the driver's seat and threw it so hard it went BANG! He was coming after me! I couldn’t move, I felt paralyzed. That thing was killing me slowly. The only thing I could see now is its bloody red, razor-sharp fangs. I couldn’t breathe, it had my neck, choking me. It’s fingernails digging into my juggler. Then it all went black.

So, If I am dead, how am I telling you this story you might ask? Well, the man did try to say that I shouldn’t be on this highway when it is storming. But he didn’t mention the legend. They say that if you get killed on this very highway US 421, your soul will live on and kill anyone that comes in your path. So, I’m one of them now, feeding off of people on that very highway I was killed on.

supernatural
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.