Horror logo

"The Housemaid" by Sarah A. Denzil

Denzil pens a true page-turner in this Gothic Horror

By Ted RyanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

Housemaid wanted.

Skills required: Discretion, and the willingness to go the extra mile.

It seems like the perfect job. Great wages, accommodation provided, and all located within the walls of Highwood Hall, a stunning stately home owned by the Howard family. Not many little girls dream of becoming a maid, but this is an opportunity for me to get back on my feet. And for me to revisit my past...

But I soon realise I've made a mistake. The strict housekeeper, Mrs Huxley, watches my every move, emerging from the shadows when least expected. Lord Howard's son, Alex, takes an interest in me, and as a former addict, I find myself drawn to him because I know he's bad for me.

There's a general atmosphere of unease at Highwood Hall, from the narrow tunnels laced throughout the sprawling house, to the abandoned north wing, rumoured to be haunted. It's easy to imagine the secrets hidden within these walls, like the secrets I hold close.

On my first day, I receive a mysterious package. I open up the pretty gift box to find a miniature doll version of me trapped inside a dollhouse. In this scene I'm dead, lying in a pool of red paint at the bottom of the perfectly recreated staircase. Someone sent this threatening diorama to me, but who even knows I work at the hall? And what do they want?

I know only one truth: my perfect job is turning into my perfect nightmare.

When I interviewed Sarah A. Denzil on one of her recent thrillers last year, this quickly became one of my anticipated reads - and I was not disappointed! From the first page, I was immediately hooked by the two mysterious narrators - both characters remain nameless throughout the majority of the novel, their identities gradually being revealed. In this book, Denzil captures a truly gothic undertone that had the essence of Charlotte Brontë, Virginia Andrews or Daphne du Maurier.

This was my first read of 2022. Honestly, it's one of the most challenging reviews I’ve written without divulging spoilers - I’ll give it a go though; this is definitely one of those novels you should go into without any preconceived expectations.

The protagonist of this book is the new Housemaid of a new manor - she’s a working-class girl in her twenties, has lived in a suitcase, is very guarded and has her own motivations for taking a job at a house with a dark past.

Interwoven with our heroine (who’s determined to keep her identity a secret from her employers and the reader) we also read chapters from a previous maid. Both women’s experiences eerily mirrored from the past and present.

An aspect I thought Denzil handled well was portraying such a complex cast of characters who for the most part, are confined to a house of horrors. The social class and privilege conflict of this book was a well-crafted subplot - it had a very modern Downton Abby upstairs/downstairs dynamic, except with the added bonus of blackmail and mystery.

As well as a narrator that kept my interest throughout, the Housekeeper, Mrs Huxley was definitely one of my favourite characters. She had all the makings of a Mrs Danvers antagonist. Still, she had that added layer of complexity and depth - in my head, I’d mentally cast Adjoa Andoh as the formidable Huxley (which would be a superb casting choice if this was ever to be adapted for the screen).

Peaky Blinders’ Sophie Rundle was a perfect casting choice to narrate this audiobook. She brought each character to life flawlessly and gave a superb performance throughout.

This was a great book to start the year with, and it kept me guessing till I reached the last page. If you’re a fan of Jane Eyre, My Sweet Audrina or Rebecca - this is definitely the book for you.

My rating for Sarah A. Denzil’s The Housemaid is - ★★★★.

book reviews
2

About the Creator

Ted Ryan

When I’m not reviewing or analysing pop culture, I’m writing stories of my own.

Reviewer/Screenwriter socials: Twitter.

Author socials: You can find me on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, TikTok and Goodreads as T.J. Ryan.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.