Horror logo

The Hidden Clan

Prologue

By Jelyssa SalcedoPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

PROLOGUE: A New Mark Has Risen

"Mommy can you tell me a story?"

Sure thing my little dragonfly...

Long ago there was a island deep in the middle of the sea, where the water had a mind of its own never crashing on the land, but instead walking on sand. And if you went through the trees over the mountain that stood beyond the horizon you will come across a meadow, so serene it will take your breath away. In the center of the meadow standing boldly and proud is a weeping willow. Though, this willow is unlike any other beautiful, mystic, and gorgeously hypnotizing. You couldn't take your eyes away from it no matter how much you try, but listen carefully and heed my warning for there is more than meets the eye when to the willow deep in the meadow.

Thunder ringed in the night like the sound of a crashing waves, building and booming as lighting stroked the air in a blinding light. The sound of cries howl in the wind as the storm grows stronger. A tree branch bang repeatedly on the large double panel bedroom window of a beautiful two story modern Victorian house. The bedroom door open to a tall gorgeous brunette woman with a beauty that would make any goddess envious.

For the willow will lead you to clan of true warriors, but she won't just lead just anyone, no only ones that can see her would be lead to the Hidden Clan.

"Why can only certain people see her?" Hush now child and listen all will be revealed, now where was I? OH yes.

Follow the willow deep into the forest to the gate that hides in plain sight, enter to the clans labyrinth where if you belong you'll hear the music of the clan ancestors. Let the music guide you.

She walks into the room gliding as if on air her eyes set on the bed in the middle room in front of the window lit by the lightning glow. In the bed lays a beautiful girl of 15 with natural silver hair, she lies peacefully in slumber completely unaware of the storm outside. The gorgeous woman walks up to the bed staring loving at the girl.

Into the clan of Hidden Warriors, the Hidden Clan.

"Why is it call the Hidden Clan, mommy?"

Because my little dragonfly, everyone in the clan is born with an ability no human has.

"What, mommy?"

Sighing she lays a book on the bed stand to the right of the bed and whispers into the air "I hope this does more good for you than bad." BOOM!!! The woman jumps as a loud crash of thunder rings in the sky, "Oh", she whispers as she calms down her heart beat. Suddenly a whimper is heard whipping her head to the noise her eyes widen to the sight before her.

Everyone has the ability to the bring out their spirit animal from within.

"Spirit Animal?"

It's animal that represents our souls everyone is born with them and they help guides us through tough times in life. Humans see them in their dreams, but people of the clan can literally turn into them. When they come of age a mark of their spirit animal is marked on them and they can bring out some parts of their animal out like ears, tails, or wings.

AAAHHHH, a painful scream echoes off the bedroom walls as an outline of a dragon is being drawn out on the girls left wrist. Blood dripping down her hand onto her white silk sheets as if some invisible was carving the dragon out on her skin. The woman rushes forward gathering the sleeping girl in her arms then rushes to the bathroom.

"Wow really? Can they turn fully into the animals?"

Only when they prove themselves to fully bond with their animal forms. Communicating as one and struggling against each other. Then and only then will they receive their cape that will make all transformations not so uh painful.

"Why is that?"

Because your animal although part of you is still another being that has it's own mind and needs to be heard not shut down. It's kind of like having a sibling that you just so happen to share the same body with. You guys have to work together to be strong, the more you pull away from each other the dark and weaker you will be to one another.

The woman kicks the bathroom door open she flies towards to the bathtub, throwing her body in front of it with her daughter in her arms. She turns on the water on letting the warm water fill the tub as her daughters painful whimpers fill her ears. Looking down towards her daughter wrist she sees the dragon was almost on carving all was left was the wings. Gently she places her daughter into the water, every part of her was soaked in water except her head and wrist with the dragon being still carved. One the wings where done she places the wrist gently into the water, and once she does her daughter wakes up screaming from the sheering pain the water cause her.

"SHH SHH my child it's all okay the water is just cleaning the mark, it needs to be done."

"AH AH, Mom what's happening?! Why does it hurt?! Mom?!"

"Listen. LISTEN. Everything will okay I promise you. All will be okay, all will revealed."

Trying to calm her breathing her daughter glances down at her wrist where the pain was admitting from and seeing a glowing white grey sliver dragon with wings mark that wasn't there before.

"MOM!! WHAT IS THIS?! IT WASN'T THERE BEFORE. WHAT'S HAPPENING TO ME?!"

"Gale. GALE. Listen to me, all is calm all is fine, everything will be okay."

Pulling her daughter into her arms holding close and calmly, she whispers comforting words to her panicking child. As the storm brew stronger with the sound of howls in the background only thought echoes in her mind. "Goodbye my love, may you continue guiding and watching over our daughter as you lay up in heave."

NEXT DAY

Lawyer Office

Mother and daughter walks calming into the lawyer office hours later after receiving the call confirming the death of the father barely known. Gale's left wrist is wrapped snuggly in white gauze shielding the mark from prying eyes.

"Ms. and Miss Swanson please take seat." said the lawyer after seating as comfortable as they can. The lawyer continues "First I wanna say I'm sorry for your lost I - " Gale interrupts so coldly it sends shivers down everyone spins in the room, "Don't bother it's not like he was around." Gale!! Please he's still your father, am sorry please continue. The lawyer looks heavily between mother and daughter gulping at the tension seeping into the room. "O-of course, like I said sorry for lost, but I have here is the will of the fallen and offerings he left you too." said lawyer "Now he wrote his will as a letter to his daughter as well as his gift to her for her 16th birthday, which I believe was already given to her." he says this looking at Ms. Angel Swanson. Angel nods It's back at the house this morning was a-a little hectic. The lawyer nods "Every well as long as it's given to her, now onto in his words my beloved Angel with my passing it's time the truth is brought out to the light, and our beloved dragonfly is shown where she belongs so I leave $20,000 dollars. With this money you should be able to take of the expenses to keep our human world home and move into the family home in the mother land where my sister would be waiting for you both. Good luck my love I hope you and our daughter never forget I'm here for you and that I'm so sorry I couldn't truly there for you both." Once the lawyer finish Angel has tears in her eyes as Gale sit shell shock by her mother. "Now I know this is lot, but you have 90 days to put the money in the bank before it's void and since it's sounds of importance I wouldn't wait. Though I'm curious on what he meant by human world home." said the lawyer wiping away the stray tears Angel says Oh it's nothing just an old banter between us two. $20,000 DOLLARS!!! Gale finally exclaims out loud causing the other two in the room to almost jump out of there seats. Well yes you do know your father comes from a wealthy family how else do you think we lived so blissful without me ever having a job stated Angel "I don't know I always thought you came from the wealthy family." said Gale Of course I'm a foster child never adopted "WHAT? Okay what have you been keeping from me. Should I even read this?" questioned Gale holding the envelope in said hands. Oh no you definitely should I know it would explain things somewhat better than me and I'll fill in the rest, but lets do this at home shall we. Gale nods at her mother and the two say goodbye to the lawyer.

The Swanson Household

The duo walks into the household with anxiety and exhaustion written clearly across their faces. Settling into the living Angel steps out for bit returning a moments later with a big brown leather bound book held closely to her chest. Sitting down next to Gale after a moments of hesitation she speaks I know there's a lot questions you have that have yet to be answered and trust me when I say that letter holds most of them. Gale tries to interrupt please let me finish I will give you privacy to read the letter because once do a whole lot of emotions will flood gate you though please please I beg don't shut me out you will be mad at both me and your father, but everything was done for a reason. I love you don't ever forget that. Gale chuckles nervously "jeeze mom you really are selling this letter." Haha every funny just keep my words in my mind, oh one more thing here this is yours don't freak out.

"Why would I - - once Gale takes ahold of the book it shifts into a little black book that fits into her hands perfectly with a beautiful exotic covering that's all her. Gale gasp dropping the book stuttering like a buffoon "What the - h- how I - - what?!" Angel laughs standing up I told not to freak out look all will be explain just read the letter I'll be the kitchen. Angel walks out the room leaving Gale alone with letter holding all the answers and a freakish book. Gale groans "Ugh I why can't I have a normal day for once in my life."

END OF PROLOGUE

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jelyssa Salcedo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.