Horror logo

‘The Haunting of Grady Farm’: Written Interviews with Cast

Check Out This Exclusive!

By Culture SlatePublished 3 years ago 23 min read
Like

The Haunting of Grady Farm

Directed by Matt Dickstein

Starring:

Ben Kaplan as Ryan

Malia Miglino as Emily

Amanda Sadia as Samantha

Shane Hartline as Andy

Jeremiah Burton as Charlie

The Haunting of Grady Farm is a found footage horror film about Emily (Malia Miglino), who hosts a travel documentary TV show called Haunted America, covering supposedly haunted locations around the country. On her second season of the show, Emily stumbles about The Grady Farm in Florida that was supposedly haunted, interested in documenting the history of it by interviewing the local residences and searching for the truth about The Grady Farm. She is accompanied by her significant other, Ryan (Ben Kaplan), and their friends Charlie (Jeremiah Burton), Andy (Shane Hartline), and Andy's girlfriend Samantha (Amanda Sadia). What was supposed to be an easy assignment goes south, as the haunting is real and horror awaits them.

Check out our exclusive interview with the cast & crew of the film.

Director: MATT DICKSTEIN

1. How did you get involved in this film?

I'm a writer, firstly, so people are sending me scripts a lot, just to check them out, make sure they work, and feel good, and I'd done a bit of horror, so I had a fair grasp on the genre. I was sent the outline for Grady Farm-it was planned as a very improvised film-to see if the ideas would work, and if it had solid story beats, and if it had legs. I suggested that they turn that outline into a loose script, as a sort of road map, if they went too far off course with the improvisation, and needed to come back. But it would also make it easy for the production to plan the shoot. I started to bring a few ideas to the table, to help flesh out the story and characters. Then we started to talk about the look of the film, and I was added as the DP, and eventually the director.

2. Why did you want The Haunting of Grady Farm to be your next film as a director?

The more we talked about it, and the more we planned and the more involved, the more excited I was. It was a good story, with likable, multi-dimensional characters, and working with really amazing people, whom I'd work with again at the drop of a hat. What's not to be excited about?

3. Can you tell us the process of this film? How long did it take from pre-production to completion of the film? Any difficulties and challenges?

I was brought on in November/December of 2015, kind of a bit into pre-production. I think they'd been working and planning for a while before they even knew my name. After I was brought on as the director of photography, I started doing test shoots, to get the best look and feel. Found footage isn't the most compelling genre, and often lets the production get a little lazy, because it's easier to shoot a found footage feature on a low budget. That's why there were a million found footage films after Paranormal Activity came out. We wanted this to look great. I love working on low budgets. It actually gives you more freedom story-wise, and I want to make zero dollars look like a million dollars.

That being said, every film has its challenges, and those challenges get harder the lower your budget is. No film is impossible, at any budget, but more challenging, for sure. This was a lot of our first feature. I think during production, the hardest thing is hitting a wall after about a week, which I think we all hit, right before we took our break, which was great timing!

Finishing the film was tough. Because it's so low budget, you can only give so much time and energy, because you have to live, and eat, and pay rent and pay bills, and a lot of post was done for nothing, or next to it. We felt great leaving the set. We knew we had something really great and special, and we rushed into a cut, and we just didn't feel the same after watching that. We must have started and restarted 4, maybe 5 times. So, Shane took a lot of time to watch every clip- every take, and we started piecing it together, and I know all the producers would get together and have long nights, watching and cutting, and starting and stopping and restarting. He's in LA, and I'm in Atlanta, and he moved here, for acting, not the movie, haha, and then we would do the all-nighters, and then finally, we had the film we felt like we'd made. That was an almost 4, 5 year process, but we do feel like we put out the film that we felt like we'd shot.

4. How do you like working with your talented cast?

Such a blast, every single one. I can't wait to work with everyone again.

5. Who are some of your biggest inspirations in the film industry?

Steven Spielberg made me want to make films. I feel like he created my childhood. My tastes have grown and changed, and right now, my biggest inspirations and loves are Paul Thomas Anderson, David Lynch,

Robert Eggers and Ari Aster. Big emphasis on PT Anderson and David Lynch. I want to be them when I grow up, haha.

6. Are there any challenges on directing and doing cinematography simultaneously?

I, personally, prefer to just direct. I certainly have trouble focusing on shooting and directing, and often it means one of those is going to suffer. Plus, I love collaboration, I love working through all the things that come up, and I love seeing what a great DP can do with the ideas in your head, while I can really get into the weeds with the actors. If you're going to DP and direct, I think rehearsing a good bit with the actors before you start production, and before you start rolling is a life saver. That being said, Stephen Soderbergh is his own DP, and Paul Thomas Anderson DP'd Phantom Thread, which is one of my favorite films, and one of my best friends, Isaac Deitz, DP'd and directed his first feature, and killed it, so its not at all impossible, and depending on what kind of budget I can pull together for the next feature, I may DP it myself, and I feel good about that, and I think I'll be ready. I'll probably bring a cam-op on though, so I can really focus in on the performances during takes.

7. Are there any upcoming projects you can tell us?

Yeah! In December, I'm releasing a series of short films, called All Things Must Pass - one every Wednesday in December. It's a super personal series, and each part kind of looks at different aspects of relationships and love under a microscope. It's been a long time coming, and I'm glad to finally release it! Then, after the New Year, I've got a horror short, Giving You That Which You Want Most, coming out, it's kind of a slow burn horror- as slow as a short can be, haha; it was inspired by a lot of what A24 has been putting out, the stuff by Ari Aster and Robert Eggers. Then after that, it'll be a clean slate, to dig into the next feature, which I've already started writing. It's a very exciting time!

BEN KAPLAN as Ryan

1. How did you get involved with this film?

I was involved with this film before there was a film! I was in acting class with Shane and Malia and I would do comedy with Jeremiah and Shane. Shane, Jeremiah, and I were hanging out one evening and Shane suggested there was no reason we couldn't write a film together and shoot it in their home state of Florida. We all were on board and started meeting to discuss ideas for scripts. There were originally a few other people involved but when they dropped off, we had the idea to bring in our friend Malia. She's an incredibly talented actor with a ton of knowledge about the supernatural (check out her show Macabre Mondays) so she was a perfect fit for the team. From there we started narrowing down ideas and writing.

2. What was it like working with Matt Dickstein the director and the rest of the cast? Any challenges?

Matt's great! He's incredibly talented and giving. He's also extremely dedicated. I think it was one of our first days filming, we were improvising a scene and Matt was trying to get us to react to a noise so he kicked some piece of wooden furniture. He downplayed his injury and we kept shooting but finally he took his boot off and his toe was completely swollen and purple.

As for the rest of the cast, they were all already some of my closest friends beforehand so it was great getting to work with them. All of the cast and crew stayed at the Hartline family home. We were exhausted working long hours on set and then a few more hours after wrap prepping for the next day. With little time to sleep, we would choose to sit around the dining room table, slap happily making eachother laugh at the dumbest jokes. It was a stressful and fantastic time. Shout out to the Hartline family for being such giving and gracious hosts!

3. How did you approach your character, any research or preparation?

There was a lot I already had going for me ahead of filming. Malia and I had worked together in class multiple times and always had great chemistry. Ryan may work for a travel show but my background as a filmmaker made him not so foriegn to me. Also, during the writing process, we really took the time to figure out who these people were. We discussed backstories and how they all came to know each other which was incredibly helpful when it was time to film.

4. I noticed you also involved as co-writer and co-producer on this film. Can you tell us how was the collaboration and process on making this film from development to the completion of the film? Where did you get the idea, any challenges in the process?

The writing process was incredibly collaborative. Once we had our idea locked we all wrote out our ideas of what the beats were going to be on notecards. We then looked over what everyone had and pieced together everyone's ideas into what we felt was the best story. As the story was evolving and we were developing a creature, Malia came to us with research she had done on a creature called the Sluagh. She was like "I think what we're working on is similar to this creature from celtic folklore." We all agreed and once we made the creature the Sluagh, everything just clicked.

Editing was a long process. We had a few different editors take a crack at the film with completely different takes on what the film was. There are cuts that exist of this film that are entirely different films. They weren't bad but it wasn't spiritually what we wanted for the film. Shane and Matt spearheaded a new cut with the film and with the help of a few other people, it was finally what we set out to make.

One hurdle we had was the film was originally called The Sluagh. I remember doing interviews for SLASHER.COM and people were like "tell me about your next project, the slug?" We realized no one was going to be able to pronounce it so we knew we needed a new title. The Sluagh was still better than what we wanted to call it during the writing phase. Our first title was Shhh!

5. Since your character was operating the camera most of the time, how hard to operate the camera and acting? Did you practice for the camera movements? Was there any specific instruction from Matt? Tell us more about the process.

There's very few times in the film I was actually holding the camera. I was the camera man when we shot in LAX and on the plane but other than that I think there was only one or two times I was holding the camera. Matt would hold the camera and then I would stand right behind him usually with my hands on his hips so we could move together. This was important for when the camera would be passed around in certain scenes or when my arm would reach out into frame. For everything that was shot in the car, Matt was holding the camera and I was actually laying in the trunk delivering lines. It was a challenge to react to things I wasn't actually seeing. Definitely a unique experience!

6. Are there any upcoming projects you can tell us?

I'm about to film another episode of the series What Brings You In, which is available on a couple streaming platforms including Amazon Prime! Watch it after you're done watching The Haunting of Grady Farm! I'm also working on a supernatural film with Chip Gubera, who I did SLASHER.COM with. The Grady Farm team is also talking about what's next for us. Other than that I have a few other projects I hope I can say more about soon!

MALIA MIGLINO as Emily

1.How did you get involved with this film?

I was in an acting class with Shane and Ben and Shane invited me out to drinks at a pub with himself, Ben and Jeremiah to bounce ideas off of me about a horror film idea since they knew horror was my favorite. After a few beers and hours worth of collaboration, they officially invited me to be a part of the film.

2. What was it like working with Matt Dickstein the director and the rest of the cast? Any challenges?

Matt was incredible. This film demanded lots of physical challenges and since Matt was both filming it and directing it, he had to work doubly as hard to achieve the awesome results he achieved. The biggest challenge was definitely making sure Matt didn't hurt himself....but accidents still happened!

3. How did you approach your character, any research or preparation?

Emily Wolf is essentially me haha. When we started the film I was already hosting a show very like the fictional show Emily hosts "Haunted America" so most of the character building was just asking myself what I would do in that situation. Truthfully, most of our characters are similar to how we are. We wrote it that way. Even the name Emily Wolf is a play on my real name; my nickname is M which is Emily's nickname and my last name is technically Miglino-Wolf so I dropped the Miglino and kept the Wolf.

As far as the research goes, for me it was the research on the Sluagh (our monster) that occupied most of my time. We divided a lot of the tasks and since I already host shows about legends and lore, the task of learning our creature/ villain inside and out became mine.

4. I noticed you also involved as co-writer and co-producer of this film, can you tell us how was your collaboration with them and how did you get the others to be involved to do this project?

The film really started with the four of us; just four actors wanting to make a project for ourselves. The film grew as the script grew and we realized we would need to cast most people and bring on a skeleton crew. Our pre-production consisted of lots of late nights in each others apartments brainstorming and writing out the script and that evolved to lots of Skype meetings with Matt. The writing process was probably my favorite part of the entire process.

5. Do you think there will be a sequel?

Never say never, right?

6. Are there any upcoming projects you can tell us?

I currently host 4 different shows on my Youtube so I am always creating something over there! Additionally I am releasing a Podcast at the end of the year I'm really excited about called "Trunk of Debauchery" so look out for that!

AMANDA SADIA as Samantha

1. How did you get involved with this film?

I was cast in this film because I was friends with all 4 producers. Most of us went to acting class together and already were fans of each other's work! It was very easy to agree to be in this film with all these people (Ben, Shane, Malia, Jeremiah) that I already respected and loved so much.

2. What was it like working with Matt Dickstein the director and the rest of the cast? Any challenges?

Matt really was amazing to work with. Originally, we had another Director who was amazing, but there were some major obstacles we needed to work through. Matt was super under the radar at first, but once things started getting rocky, he stepped up and helped to lead the film in the right direction. He was truly a pleasure to be around. The cast is what really made this experience incredible for me. We all were friends already, so going on this journey and facing the challenges of filmmaking together and doing what we love together was one of the most amazing experiences I've ever had. It's films like this one that remind you why you love the craft so much.

3. I see you also served as the line producer, how did you manage to do the line producer's task and acting as Samantha at the same time? Especially on set juggling on both simultaneously, what kind of challenges and experience on this?

Working on the crew and also as an actor is always tough to manage. And when you have such a small crew, you end up having a lot more work per person than usual. There were definitely a couple times when it was hard for me to jump into character after stressing about something else. For example, we were filming late into the night and I was at basecamp getting the extras into their very tight costumes, then I get called out to film the scene where I (Samantha) find out that Charlie let Andy go out there alone and that Andy was going to propose to me. I had to vigorously jump up and down and run around in 20 degree weather to get myself into that manic headspace. It was definitely challenging, being so distracted and cold and tired. But it was also invigorating and so much fun.

4. How did you prepare your character and what was the process you had to go through with Shane Hartline who played your boyfriend in the film?

Each character was actually vaguely based off of the actor playing that character, so it was pretty easy to prepare for Samantha. We have lots of similarities in our personalities so it was easy to sit in that space. Working with Shane was very easy. As I said before, we were in an acting class together for about a year or more before this, so we were very comfortable with each other. He is incredibly respectful and open as an actor so I think we meshed well.

5. Do you think there will be a sequel or prequel?

I haven't heard any sequel or prequel talk, but I would be SO down for one!! The great thing about a film like this is you can build off of the original story very easily. For example, a prequel about how the farm became haunted in the first place, or a sequel where another group comes to the farm, and successfully solving the case and going home. There are so many possibilities.

6. Are there any upcoming projects you can tell us?

I've spent the better part of the last 2 years producing a documentary about homelessness, but it's not looking like it's going to get finished. So I'm going to invest some time and energy into one of the many scripts I've written and get it off the ground! :)

SHANE HARTLINE as Andy

1. How did you get involved with this film?

I got involved in The Haunting of Grady Farm formerly known as The Sluagh at the beginning. It all started when Ben Kaplan, Malia Miglino and Jeremiah Burton and I all came together with the simple goal, like many, of just wanting to make a movie. We all were already very close friends, actors and filmmakers and after seeing other friends make films and get them out there, it inspired the hell out of us. We spent a few months coming up with the concept and then ultimately decided to crowdfund to raise money to shoot.

2. What was it like working with Matt Dickstein the director and the rest of the cast? Any challenges?

Matt Dickstein is one of the kindest and collaborative directors I've ever worked with. He was so open to our ideas and our vision as the writers/producers. There were many challenges when making this film, the main one being micro budget. We shot this movie for $15,000 in my hometown of Lake Wales, FL. So it was asking a lot of favors, having my family to make us food and provide us lodging, etc etc etc. Also on top of that, we had a very very small crew of less than 10 people at a time. So many of us were having to wear multiple hats. Not only was I one of the lead actors and producers I also had to become the AD, which you find out over time like all crew positions is SO vital and important.

3. I noticed you also involved as co-writer and co-producer on this film, can you tell us more how was your collaboration with them, any challenges? How was the experience?

Honestly the pre-production, production phase of the film was the easiest and most exciting part. I think when you're seeing things actually happen and the build up to it it's easy to keep morale and excitement up on any project. The hard part is keeping up that excitement and morale when the shooting wraps. When there's no money left in the budget and the film is placed on your shoulders to finish. That got really hard over the years because we had to scrounge up money for one post production puzzle piece at a time. There were many times where the end never seemed in sight and I wanted to give up. But I'm so glad I didn't because it's the best feeling in the world when "your baby finally goes off to college" haha.

4. Do you think there will be a sequel or maybe a prequel to explore the previous residence and maybe a bit of history of Sluagh?

I personally have a great idea for a sequel and I could even see a world where a prequel/origin story exists both of which would be very freakin' fun. But I think it all depends on if there's a demand for it. If people want it, I'd do it.

5. Are there any upcoming projects you can tell us?

Speaking for myself I'm currently developing a comedic television concept that I'm very excited about. I also am writing a comedy/horror feature that I'll hopefully be shooting within the next year if we can secure funding. Other than that I'm also auditioning and creating content online.

JEREMIAH BURTON as Charlie

1. How did you get involved with this film?

I was on an improv team at the time called "We are NASA" with Shane and the two of us had been working on all sorts of other projects, mainly video sketches and short comedic episodes. We wanted to progress into making films, so we met up with a few friends at a diner up in the valley and kicked around a few ideas until we came up with the Grady Farm.

2. What was it like working with Matt Dickstein the director and the rest of the cast? Any challenges?

Matt is such a great person, super humble and hard working. A real professional. Working with everybody else was a joke. I think the word "scrub" comes to mind when I think of having to work with the rest of the cast. (Shane is going to kill me). In all honestly, I knew all the core people who made this movie happen since it's inception and I consider them all my very good friends. The challenges that we faced were majority on the post side of things. Outside of some really late nights during the 2 weeks that it took to shoot the film, it was smooth sailing.

3. I see you played a character that was a complete jerk, how did you like it? Was there any research or preparation?

I did a comedic character that had flashes of Charlie a few years ago so I more or less adapted him from that. I cherry picked the qualities I wanted for Charlie and just dialed up the obnoxious/jerk traits that were on the surface. Luckily for me, I got to figure Charlie out during the script writing process and hone in his character every time we put words on the page.

4. I noticed you also involved as co-writer and co-producer on this film, can you tell us more how was your collaboration with them, any challenges? How was the experience?

Again I think the biggest challenge was on the post side of things. The writing process and pre-pro was fairly quick in the scheme of things. We would sit in my apartment with two huge posterboards and hundreds of 3x5 cards that had plot points and character arcs written on them. Using that as a method to keep the script on track. Assembling the team to get this done was a big task but getting it finished once it was shot was an even larger one. Shane and Matt were the two who really got this film made at the end of the day.

5. Do you think there will be a sequel or maybe a prequel to explore

the Sluagh?

I'm not sure - if there was a large fan response to make another I'm sure we could. But I always go back to thinking I'd have to work with a buncha scrubs again...

6. Are there any upcoming projects you can tell us?

Right now I host a show on YouTube called Bumper 2 Bumper so the majority of my time is running that show, but I also have a few short films in the works that I'm looking to get into production soon. If all goes as planned they will be wrapped up by summer 2021!

The Haunting of Grady Farm is now available on VOD from High Octane Pictures.

Written By Pat Kusnadi

Syndicated From Culture Slate

interview
Like

About the Creator

Culture Slate

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.