Horror logo

The Haunted Woods: A Terrifying Encounter with a Hermit

A True Story of Fear, Mystery, and the Unknown

By The Truth SpeaksPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Haunted Woods: A Terrifying Encounter with a Hermit
Photo by Simon Wijers on Unsplash

WARNING: This story contains content that some readers may find disturbing. Reader discretion is advised.

It was a warm summer evening when I decided to take a walk through the woods behind my house. I had always enjoyed spending time in nature and the quiet serenity of the forest always helped to clear my mind. However, little did I know that this particular walk would be different than any other I had taken before.

As I made my way through the dense undergrowth, I began to feel uneasy. It was as if someone or something was watching me. I shrugged it off, thinking it was just my imagination getting the best of me. However, the feeling persisted, and I couldn't shake the feeling of being watched.

Suddenly, I heard a rustling in the bushes ahead of me. I froze, my heart pounding in my chest. I couldn't see anything, but I knew something was there. I slowly backed away, trying not to make any sudden movements. But it was too late.

Out of nowhere, a figure emerged from the bushes. It was a man, tall and gaunt, with wild hair and a beard. He wore tattered clothes that looked as if they hadn't been washed in years. His eyes were sunken and dark, and they seemed to bore into my soul.

I was paralyzed with fear. I couldn't move, couldn't scream. The man just stood there, staring at me with those dark, empty eyes. Then, he spoke.

"Come with me," he said in a voice that was both hollow and menacing.

I shook my head, unable to form words. I wanted to run, to get as far away from this man as possible, but my feet wouldn't move.

The man took a step towards me, and I finally found the courage to turn and run. I didn't look back, but I could hear the sound of his footsteps behind me. I ran as fast as I could, my heart pounding in my chest.

I didn't stop running until I reached my house. I slammed the door shut and locked it, gasping for air. I couldn't believe what had just happened. Who was that man, and why did he want me to come with him?

I didn't sleep that night, too afraid that the man would come back for me. But he didn't. In fact, I never saw him again. However, the memory of that encounter stayed with me for years, haunting me and making me afraid of going back into the woods.

It wasn't until many years later that I learned the truth about that man. It turned out that he was a hermit who had been living in the woods for years. He had been spotted by other hikers before, but he had never been known to be violent or aggressive.

However, a few months after my encounter with him, the hermit was found dead in his makeshift shelter in the woods. It was a gruesome sight, and the cause of death was never determined. Some said it was natural causes, while others suspected foul play.

The discovery of the hermit's body only added to the mystery and fear surrounding the woods. People began to talk about the strange occurrences that had happened there over the years, including reports of ghostly sightings and unexplained noises.

I never went back into those woods again after that night. The fear and uncertainty of what might be lurking there was too much for me to handle. But the memory of that encounter with the hermit stayed with me, a reminder that sometimes the scariest things are the ones we can't explain.

vintageurban legendtravelsupernaturalslasherpsychologicalmonsterhalloweenfiction
Like

About the Creator

The Truth Speaks

The Truth Speaks is a compassionate and empathetic individual who seeks to understand and support others in their journey towards living a more authentic life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.