Horror logo

The Haunted Mirror

Challenge Story

By Zuhaib AhmadPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. At first, I thought it was just my imagination, that my mind was playing tricks on me. But as I stared into the glass, I realized that something was wrong.

The reflection staring back at me was distorted, twisted, almost as if it belonged to another person. The eyes were dark and hollow, the skin pale and lifeless. It was a face of pure horror, and I couldn't look away.

I tried to back away from the mirror, but my legs wouldn't move. I was frozen in place, unable to escape the terrifying image in front of me. And then, the reflection started to move, its lips moving as if it were trying to say something.

I leaned closer, trying to make out the words. And then, I heard it, a faint whisper that echoed through the room. "Help me," it said, the voice barely audible.

I was terrified, but I couldn't look away. The face in the mirror was now contorting in agony, and I could hear the sound of something scratching at the glass.

And then, just as suddenly as it had begun, the image disappeared, leaving me alone in the room, shivering with fear.

Over the next few days, I tried to forget about the mirror, but I couldn't. Every time I walked past it, I could feel the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. I knew that something was wrong, that the mirror was more than just a simple piece of furniture.

One night, as I was getting ready for bed, I heard a faint tapping sound coming from the direction of the mirror. I tried to ignore it, but the tapping grew louder and more insistent.

Finally, unable to take it any longer, I got out of bed and approached the mirror. And that's when I saw it, the faint outline of a figure standing behind me.

I turned around, but there was no one there. And yet, the tapping continued, growing more and more urgent with each passing moment.

I knew that something had to be done. I couldn't live with this constant fear, this feeling that something was watching me, something malevolent and evil.

And so, I decided to seek out the help of a local psychic, someone who might be able to shed some light on the mystery of the haunted mirror.

The psychic arrived at my home the following evening, and after taking one look at the mirror, she knew that something was wrong.

"It's a portal," she said, her voice barely above a whisper. "A portal to the other side."

She explained that the mirror was a powerful tool for summoning spirits, and that over the years, it had become a magnet for the supernatural.

But there was a way to seal the portal, to prevent any more spirits from entering our world. The psychic led me through a series of rituals and spells, each one designed to close the portal and seal the mirror forever.

And when it was over, I knew that the mirror was safe. The haunting had stopped, and I could finally rest easy.

But even now, years later, I can't help but wonder. What was it that had been trying to escape from the mirror? What kind of evil had I unleashed when I first gazed into its depths?

I may never know the answers to those questions, but I know one thing for certain. That mirror was haunted, and that its secrets were more terrifying than anything I could have imagined.

But then, one night, I heard a faint tapping sound coming from the direction of the mirror. At first, I ignored it, thinking it was just my imagination. But the tapping grew louder and more insistent, until it was impossible to ignore.

I approached the mirror, my heart pounding in my chest. And that's when I saw it, the faint outline of a figure standing behind me.

I turned around, but there was no one there. And yet, the tapping continued, growing more and more urgent with each passing moment.

I knew that something was wrong. The mirror had been sealed, the portal closed. But somehow, the spirit had found a way back.

I called the psychic, desperate for her help once again. She arrived at my home the following day, and after inspecting the mirror, she knew that the seal had been broken.

"There's a powerful force at work here," she said, her voice grave. "Something that wants to escape from the other side."

We performed the same rituals and spells as before, but this time, they seemed to have little effect. The tapping continued, growing more and more frenzied with each passing night.

And then, one evening, I woke up to find that the mirror had shattered into a million pieces. The force behind the tapping had become too strong, and the seal had been broken.

I knew that I had to act quickly. I gathered up the pieces of the mirror and buried them deep in the ground, hoping that they would never be found.

But even now, I can still feel the presence of the spirit, still hear the tapping in the back of my mind. And I know that someday, it will find a way back, a way to break through the barriers between our world and the next.

I may never be able to escape the haunting of the mirror, but I will always be prepared for its return. And I know that when the time comes, I will be ready to face the spirit head on, armed with nothing but my wits and my courage.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Zuhaib Ahmad

Welcome to my page!If you're looking for highquality content that engages and informs your audience,you've come to the right place.Lets work together to create compelling content that drives results and takes your business to the next level

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.