Horror logo

The Haunted Experience

Do you believe in an afterlife?

By Eric PricePublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

Nothing like a good ole scary story in the month of October; for me personally I like scary stories all year round. But this really isn't going to be something like there's a knock at the door and the killer is there. This will be more of my views and personal experiences with... dare I say... ghosts! Many people don't believe in ghosts, but then there are many people that do. Just to go off track for a second... Aliens, Bigfoot or whatever is out there, we don't REALLY know for sure what is walking among us. I've always said you have to be somewhat arrogant to not have a open mind or heck even have some fun to think of those things out there. Anyway, I've personally had many encounters with something I'm STILL not too fully sold on but I could say there are definitely things out there.

Where It All Started

When I was about 15 I never really thought about death or ghosts, nothing of that nature. I was always into scary movies though, mainly old school ones such as Freddy, Jason, and one of the most underrated Halloween movies (that's what I think)... Killer Clowns From Outer Space. I've always had this weird love for things scary. Then one day watching TV I came across a show called Ghost Adventures. I saw three guys doing this thing called "ghost hunting" and right there I was thinking to myself, "What in the world is this crap?" They caught my eye so I watched it and after a couple episodes I was all about this show. I didn't care if it was fake or real, it was entertaining me so much, things moving, random voices, doors slamming. Ghost Adventures started to give me a new look at things. Is this stuff real or is this just all for a TV show? I started to wonder a lot so I went out myself to see if there really is an afterlife.

Wait Did that Just Happen?

Later in life I wanted to see things for myself, so pack up the car I'm going to Gettysburg, PA. Gettysburg held one of the most violent wars in America's history, between 46,000-56,000 people died on the battlefield. I only live about 30 mins away from all this, so I KNOW something has to happen with all of the energy. My best friend (Erick) and I did this private tour, I forget what the company is called but they were great people. We were basically doing what I saw on TV with using the tools so we could see things and here noises. Walking into the woods with a random stranger is pretty creepy itself when he's telling you all of the history while you're trying to watch your back.

Some Guy Named Robert

While in the woods we are asking questions with a recorder and nothing was happening for awhile. Then all of a sudden we hear a voice, it was soldier by the name of Robert. I will personally never forget this man—while asking him questions, we were getting smart responses back. The guide that was with us freaked out and told Erick that she saw a black shadow right behind him. Once that happened we heard a very loud whistle... We looked around everywhere and nobody was in sight for miles. I couldn't really explain that feeling we had around us but it was intense. There also was no wind blowing that night and since we are in the woods, I wanted this soldier to move something so I could fully believe. I saw a big weed sticking out of the ground, so I asked Robert if he could move this weed. Again, nothing was happening so I asked again. When I asked the second time this huge weed started to move in tiny little circles. Our flashlights were going out, my phone battery was dying fast when all this was going on. I oddly thank Robert for that, and that's when I fully believed.

The End, and We Ran

During this tour they took you to three spots, the woods and two bridges. The one bridge we went to nothing went on, so that was a bummer, but our last stop we went to had a covered bridge and a huge oak tree. This oak tree had a history, there was a lady that was hung there because the people in the town at the time thought she was a witch. It sucks because I forget what her name was but she also had two children that the towns people hung with her. Let's just say when we got to that spot all we felt was sadness. Erick and I kept getting this feeling like we just wanted to break down and cry. Right before the lady died it was said that she put a curse on the tree and if you touched it you would get 50 or something years of bad luck. Thankful we didn't touch that, then I would've really cried. That experience by that tree was just too much to handle, so we moved to the covered bridge... While we are on the covered bridge again it was just silent. But while we are just standing around talking at this point I was just taking random pictures with my phone then something crazy happened... I swear the pictures I took showed a white mist of a soldier running with his gun. In one shot there is nothing, the next shot the maybe soldier, then the next shot nothing was there again. You can tell they were different shots due to our shadows changing in the pictures. We looked at those couldn't explain it.. SO we ran.

My personal experiences I had were awesome. I don't care when people are like "wow, you believe in that." It's what I believe in and I really think something is out there besides us... As for the pictures of the soldier, I will post the pictures I took below.

Like

About the Creator

Eric Price

Here to talk about hot topics in sports and entertainment. Might throw some random life stories in there from time to time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.