Horror logo

The Haunted Doll

A Tale of Terror in the Attic

By gokul ganeshPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Haunted Doll
Photo by Oxana Melis on Unsplash

The old house had always given me the creeps, but I never imagined that I would uncover the dark secret hidden in its attic. I was helping my grandparents clean out the house after my great aunt passed away, and as we rummaged through boxes and old furniture, we came across a dusty trunk in the corner of the attic.

Curious, I opened the trunk, and inside I found a doll. It was old and worn, with cracked porcelain skin and faded hair. But there was something about the doll that made me uneasy. Its eyes seemed to follow me as I moved, and I could swear that I heard it whispering in the silence of the attic.

I tried to ignore the feeling of unease, telling myself that it was just an old doll, nothing more. But as the days went by, strange things started to happen. I would wake up in the middle of the night, convinced that I heard footsteps in the hallway. The air in the attic felt thick and heavy, as though something was watching me from the shadows.

And then, one night, I woke up to find the doll sitting at the foot of my bed. Its eyes were glowing in the darkness, and I could hear it whispering my name.

I tried to scream, but my throat was paralyzed with fear. The doll seemed to be growing larger, its porcelain skin cracking as it stretched and twisted into an unnatural shape. And then it lunged at me, its long, bony fingers reaching for my throat.

I managed to break free and run out of the room, my heart pounding in my chest. But the doll was always there, lurking in the shadows, waiting for me to let my guard down.

Days turned into weeks, and I became more and more obsessed with the doll. I couldn't sleep, couldn't eat, couldn't think of anything else. It was like the doll was controlling my mind, manipulating me from the darkness of the attic.

And then, one day, I heard a voice in my head. It was the doll, whispering to me, telling me to come back to the attic. I couldn't resist. I climbed the stairs, my heart racing with fear and excitement, and opened the door to the attic.

What I saw there will haunt me for the rest of my life. The doll was no longer alone. It had called forth a legion of other dolls, all twisted and contorted into grotesque shapes. And they were all staring at me, their eyes glowing in the darkness.

I tried to run, but the dolls were everywhere, their cold fingers reaching for me, pulling me back into the attic. I screamed, but my voice was lost in the silence of the house.

And then, just when I thought all hope was lost, I woke up. It had all been a dream, a nightmare that had left me shaking with fear. But as I looked around the room, I saw the old doll sitting on the shelf, its eyes staring at me with an unholy light.

I tried to tell myself that it was just a dream, that the doll was just a doll. But I knew the truth. The doll was haunted, possessed by some malevolent force that wanted nothing more than to consume my soul. And I knew that I could never escape its grasp.

By Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

how to
Like

About the Creator

gokul ganesh

Content writer passionate about creating engaging content. Eager to learn & help businesses achieve their goals through effective content marketing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

gokul ganesh is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.