Horror logo

The Haunted Children's Hospital (Chapter 1)

Anaiya Tomson never wanted to move nor did she want to go to Skental High, a private and prestigious school for young men and women. But when her mom gives her a book that seems harmless enough, Anaiya's life starts to twist. She starts seeing a shadowy figure, meets an interesting and mysterious boy, and finds mysterious clues in the book she was given. When weird things start happening at Skental High, Anaiya teams up with Kayle, the daughter of a bookstore owner, and Alden, a proclaimed seer of ghosts, to solve these instances. Little does Anaiya know, her whole life is endangered and she has special powers of her own.Will Anaiya figure out how to solve the mysteries of the book? Or will everything go completely wrong?

By Ariana Limone-RyanPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

"Anaiya! Dinner!"

"Coming!"

I closed my laptop and ran downstairs. Boxes were strewn here and there, their contents safely tucked in packing material. As I walked into the kitchen, cooking utensils were already put in their proper places. A sweet smell came from the dining room, making my mouth water. Following the smell, I saw a woman of medium stature with long and wavy blonde hair setting up the dining room table for three people. She wore a light orange shirt and blue jean capris.

"What's for dinner, mom?" I asked, sitting down at the table. In front of me were dishes filled with food.

My mom looked at me with her bright baby blue eyes and smiled. "Grilled salmon with brussel sprouts, cheese covered broccoli, and yams with honey." Her skin was a light tan color and it glowed under the lights.

I was going to say something when I heard the door open. "I'm home!" A voice bellowed. "Hey, Dad!" I ran out into the living room and hugged him.

"Hey, squirt! Is dinner ready?" My dad asked, kissing my forehead. He's a few inches taller than my mom, and is a bit muscular. His hair is a dusty brown, his eyes a little darker. He wore a navy blue long sleeved shirt, jeans, and black work boots. His skin was a deep olive color.

I nodded. "Yup! Mom has it all ready in the dining room." I led him to the dining room and he gave my mom a kiss on the cheek. We all sat down at the table and began eating.

"You begin school Friday, Anaiya. I talked to the principal yesterday and she gave me your schedule. Your first class is English." My mom commented. "Skental High is the most prestigious private school in this town."

She handed me the schedule and I groaned a bit. "I hate wearing stupid uniforms..."

"Just think of this school as a way to complete your goal faster. They have a very good art class, which is one of your classes," my father explained. "You'll be fine."

The rest of dinner was a bunch of small talk and joking around. After dinner, I washed my dishes, unpacked some of the boxes, and went up to my room to relax. Opening my laptop, I finished sending an email to my best friend, Lana, in Ashen, Massachusetts.

My father's a computer fixer. He got a job here in Ghostville, Maine and we, of course, had to leave our house in Ashen and move. I went to a public school in Ashen with most of the kids I grew up with. Now I'm going to a private school which'll probably have stupid snobby rich kids.

I sighed and stared up at the blank ceiling of my room. The only problem was that the whole ceiling was a mirror. Staring, I started to realize how different I was from my parents. Bright, golden eyes. Long, midnight black hair. Pale skin. Nothing like either my mother or my father. I frowned and my reflection frowned back. "I really need to cover that up."

Minutes later, my mom walked in. "I have a small present for you."

"What is it?" I asked, sitting up. My mom walked over to me, handing me a book. I looked down at the cover. It had the picture of a very creepy hospital and words that read "The Haunted Hospital." "Where'd you find this?"

"In a little bookstore downtown. I stopped there after food shopping. I knew you would probably like it so I bought it for you." My mom explained. "Did you send an email to Lana?"

"Yeah. Thanks for the book, mom." I said, setting it next to me. She left after a while, so I stared up at my mirror ceiling again. In the corner of my eye, I thought I saw a shadow appear. I paid no attention to it and soon fell asleep.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Ariana Limone-Ryan

¤19 year old artist and writer

¤Fan of all different kinds of things

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.