Horror logo

The Halloween Feast

You're invited to a feast with a spooktacular playlist

By Britt Blomster Published 2 years ago 3 min read
13
The Halloween Feast
Photo by Jonathan Francisca on Unsplash

Halloween night is here. My favorite time of the year for I can unmask and not have to hide behind my human costume. Celebrations will begin at sunset, and my spooky side is ready to be unleashed. This year I’m luring my victims in with a Halloween party. The plan is to distract them with chocolate bars and a spooktacular playlist. The striking clock reminds me that my guests will arrive at any moment. Guests or gullible victims?

Rising from the crypt that it’s kept in but for one night of the year, the voice of the Mad Scientist beings narrating as “Monster mash” lures my victims, I mean guests, into my home. I swallow my haunting chuckle as my guests think they will dance with fake monsters. They don’t realize they will twirl around my ballroom with vampires with sharp teeth and zombies weak from a year without brains.

Nina Simone’s hypnotic voice sings “I put a spell on you” as I release my spell onto my unsuspecting guests who are chowing down on Frankenstein avocado dip or marveling at how real the blood running down the walls looks. I mingle among my guests, accepting praise for how real my “costume” looks and directing guests to the feast spread out in the ballroom's corner. Dips, trays, and treats of all kinds cover the cobweb-covered tables. Servants dressed as ghosts and ghouls circulate among the crowd, with trays enticing them with the savory spread.

To make sure I didn’t make my spell too strong, the classic song of “Thriller” starts playing through the speakers as the guests rally to the dance floor to show off the moves they have learned from watching the Thriller video dozens of times. My guests jive and groove, so my spell has put no one into a full trance yet. Laughter and conversation drift over the ballroom as pirates and fairies perform the iconic dance moves in unison.

“Disturbia” by Rihanna keeps everyone tethered to the dance floor. This is perfect. I want them to build up an appetite so they will chow down on my feast. Sniffing in the youth that hangs heavy in the air, and the saccharine excitement. I’m looking forward to those emotions being embedded in me later when I devour them.

Margarita’s are ready as my assistants move through the crowd, to the delight of my guests as “Toxic” by Britney Spears plays for those remaining on the dance floor. Sweat trickles below their costumes and hunger strikes a few guests as they make their way to the refreshment tables. Fog curls from the cauldron in the corner, sending out a potion that blanks minds. Food and drink will enhance the effect and I anticipate them being submissive to my whims.

The backdoors open, bringing in the October air and allowing guests to venture outside to smoke and vape under the full moon. “The freaks come out at night” pumps through the patio speakers. Amazement as the fog spins and twirls around them. Animated, I nod and smile as I walk among them, my thoughts cloaked as I act like one of them.

The tolling of the bell has guests enthused for “Hell’s bells” a rock classic from AC/DC. Smoke makes visibility low and a slight tremor of fear leaks from the crowd. The food is dwindling fast and the drinks keep refilling as my followers ensure cups stay full and plates emptied. Ingesting fear is my favorite Halloween treat and I’m counting down until the midnight hour is upon us.

The sultry voice of Lana Del Rey singing “Season of the Witch” gives a spooky air to the candlelight ballroom. Glazed eyes and limbs move as if tied to a string, showing that my potion has sunk its claws into most of the gathered as the fog coils back into the cauldron. The crowd sways as if hypnotized as the laughter dies and the conversations fade into the shadows.

The haunting tune of “Don’t Fear the Reaper” is the next tune to play. They leave empty margarita glasses and discarded vapes as the guests sway in place, not saying a word. A phone chimes with an incoming text and no one makes a move to pick it up. Good, the spell has woven into the fibers of their being and they are ready to face their bloody destiny.

The chords to the last song they will ever hear plays as the fear seeps from their pores as I transform into the evil being that I am. The sinister theme to Halloween plays as I turn to my followers and tilt my head. It’s time. The invited guests devoured my feast and now I feast upon them.

halloween
13

About the Creator

Britt Blomster

I'm a writer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. I'm inspired by the world around me and channel that into my writing.

Blog:

Facebook

Instagram

Medium

E-mail: [email protected]

My Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.