Horror logo

The Girl in the Mirror

A Horror / Inspirational Short Story

By Rika LekayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5

“I can’t escape! Let me be free!” a scared, shrieking voice of a girl cries out. “What do you want from me? What do you expect from me? Why do you obsess over me? I have so many questions and they all go unanswered. You don’t respond either. I can only go off of speculation.” The young girl cries on what appears to be her bed. Tears drip onto the floor. A follower seems to be copying her very actions; crying on the bed. Though, this follower doesn’t have a voice. She’s a voice thief. Stealing voices of her victims. Copying all their day-to-day actions. Taunting her victims that they will never be perfect like her. Though she doesn’t smirk or grin or even laugh. Instead, she cries with her victim. She understands her victims well and doesn’t use their weaknesses against them. During the day, she’s merely a shadow of her victims. When night falls, she’s merely an identical twin.

"Why do you torture me constantly? Without saying a single word. You only torture me with your presence. Even if I cannot see you." the young girl asked, never really expecting an answer. She never received an answer before, so why should she expect an answer now? "I know I'm not perfect yet, but I'll keep trying. If that's what you want."

The mirror shatters and crumbles onto the floor. "That's not what I wanted. You disobeyed me, Alice." A haunting voice cries out.

"Who's there? How was I supposed to know your plans?" Alice shrieked in fear.

"I'm no one you should worry about. Besides, I'm not real," the mysterious voice replied calmly.

"What do you mean you're not real? You're right here," Alice screams in panic.

"Innocent Alice, dear. Aren't you forgetting that maybe you're merely just the crazy one? That I'm a figment of your imagination?" The mysterious voice asked. “Perhaps there’s a reason I’m here. Use that brain I know you have.”

"What do you mean? I don't understand." Alice replied confusingly.

"What series of events caused me to appear...if you don't want me around, perhaps you should try to discover yourself," the mysterious voice explained clearly.

"Discover myself? The only thing I said was that 'I'm not perfect yet, but I'll keep trying' and then the mirror shattered then you came," Alice remembered.

"And? Do you realize anything wrong with what you said?" The mysterious voice asked.

"No?" Alice asked.

Zap! "How about now?" The mysterious voice asked.

"Ow, what was that for? I just answered honestly," Alice asked.

"That was the wrong answer I was looking for!" The mysterious voice rumbled.

"Well, if I said 'yes,' I would be stuck because I don't understand anything wrong," Alice explained.

"You fool! Do I have to spell it out for you?" The mysterious voice enraged.

"Huh?" Alice asked.

"I'll give you a hint: it involves perfection," the mysterious voice explained.

"That's impossible. No one is perfect. Not you, not me, no one," Alice replied quickly.

Zap! "Silence! That's not what I'm looking for. Everyone is perfect in their own way. They have their own place in this world," the mysterious voice echoed.

“Could you stop zapping me? It’s incredibly rude of you,” Alice replied angrily.

“I’ll stop once you admit,” the mysterious voice replied.

“Admit what? That the zaps hurt? I already did that,” Alice replied rudely.

“Now who’s the rude one now? Just admit and accept what I’m looking for and I’ll be out of your hair for good,” the mysterious voice echoed.

“I don’t know what you’re looking for,” Alice replied quickly.

“Fine. I’ll say it. Everyone is perfect in their own way. Everyone has a purpose. You just have to find what you’re good at and what your purpose is,” the mysterious voice explained. “Are you happy now?”

“Slightly. What do you see in me? I don’t have any talents or anything special that highlights my personality or anything,” Alice explained.

Zap! “Could you stop thinking so negatively of yourself? This also has to do with the zapping. Negatively will only make the zaps occur more often,” the mysterious voice explained echoily.

fiction
5

About the Creator

Rika Lekay

Hi! I'm currently 20 years old and I love to write short stories, poems, novels, and writing prompts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.