Horror logo

The Gingerbread Challenge

When being lucky means making it out alive

By Amy RiversPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
The Gingerbread Challenge
Photo by Ryan Wallace on Unsplash

“Five. Four. Three. Two… One!”

I felt the bang of the starting gun echo through every inch of my body, but I didn’t give myself a chance to feel afraid.

I threw the little black book down into the dirt and ran for my life. I grasped the small curled photograph crinkled up in my hand harder than necessary. If I held it tight, maybe my heart would stop pounding in my ears.

I ran barefoot and weaved through the woods and trees. The thick branches scrapped my arms as I ran aimlessly.

I heard a scream as someone was shoved hard and fell to the ground. They seemed to be a distance behind me and going in another direction. I didn't look back.

I tried to stay ahead of the others. Faster and faster. And still, it wasn’t fast enough.

I wasn’t sure if I was even going in the right direction.

It was all part of their sick game. Losers die. Winners get $20,000.

Did I mention I never signed up for this? I was just a normal 18-year-old girl. Excited to go to college. I was on a cruise ship when they found me.

I’m still judging myself for falling for their scheme - an easy $20,000 for college. But they had failed to give me all of the details. Soon after meeting them, they had me follow them to a restaurant at the next port. I really dressed up for that meeting too... I had on my best dress with pearls. They threw a bag over my head and took me to the middle of a forest. I was told run or die. Be one of the first to find the gingerbread house or die.

Oh god, I’m going to die today.

I was stuck in some demented version of Hansel and Gretel, except for the kid needs to make it to the house of candy to survive.

Their laughter echoed through the woods. My skin began to prickle. The cackling laughs seemed to come from all directions rather than just one. I felt surrounded.

I ran and ran. The twigs and rocks were hard on my feet.

I think I see the house. It was below in the meadow in the valley below.

I sprinted.

That’s probably where I went wrong. I was going too fast down the hill.

My foot landed in a small divot hole and I went face first into the dirt.

Shit! I’m going to die!

I pushed off with my hands and ran. A boy around my own age was right beside me. I probably would have thought he was cute if I wasn’t running for my life.

Just a few more feet. A few more… we ran between the rows of lollipops leading up to the door.

We were head-to-head. How many get to live? Was it one, two, or three? I wish I paid attention when they were talking, but my body was in shock the whole time they were talking.

I reached for the doorknob, but it didn’t budge.

I’m done with this shit. I jumped and threw myself at the thick gingerbread door lined with lemon drops. It fell in, taking took me with it. A pain shot through my arm.

What the...? What kind of gingerbread is this? It felt like rocks. The door didn’t even crack.

I stepped into the house. I was so close to living. God. I promise if I make it, I’ll go to college and be the best damn lawyer! I’m going to come back and get them! Manslaughter, abduction, false advertising… not to mention breaking international laws. Though I’m not sure which ones exactly. I’m not a lawyer yet.

“We made it!” the boy yelled as he turned to me. “We made it!” A happy tear fell from his eye.

The sound of bullets rung out from a distance. The boy grabbed my shoulder and we both crouched down on the floor.

How could they do this? What kind of animals kill people for sport? Would the poor kids' parents ever be notified?

I was beginning to doubt if it was really even over. We had seen too much. I finally allowed my hand holding the photograph to relax a little. It seemed we were safe inside this house of candy.

By Ross Parmly on Unsplash

I sat quietly on the plane. The boy sat in the seat beside me. We were the lucky ones. They just let us go. They even took us to the airport.

I stared down at the crinkled polaroid photograph that was taken of me on the ship. My abductors in the background. It gave a clear view of their faces. I tucked it away to along with the $20,000 that sat in my back pack, and held it safely between me and the window. I smiled, knowing that the tables have turned. I will hunt them down with every last breath.

psychological
2

About the Creator

Amy Rivers

I'm a an educator, counselor, and amateur writer and artist. I still enjoy reading the Harry Potter series.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.