Horror logo

The Forbidden Clearing

Unleashing Unimaginable Horror

By Aaric NilanPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
2
The Forbidden Clearing
Photo by Rosie Sun on Unsplash

The night was cold and moonless, the darkness swallowing the world around me as I ventured deeper into the dense, foreboding forest. The eerie silence was only broken by the sound of my own footsteps, which echoed ominously through the trees. I had always been drawn to the unknown, seeking the thrill of the supernatural, and tonight was no different. Little did I know, this would be a night I would never forget.

As I moved further into the forest, I began to notice strange markings on the trees, symbols I couldn't decipher. They seemed ancient, as though they held some dark, forgotten power. I tried to shake off the feeling of unease that washed over me but couldn't help but wonder if I was trespassing in a place I shouldn't be.

Suddenly, a rustling sound came from behind me. I spun around, my heart pounding in my chest, but there was nothing there. The forest was still, and the only sound was the whisper of the wind through the leaves. I took a deep breath and continued on, telling myself it was just my imagination playing tricks on me.

As I pressed forward, I became aware of an unsettling sensation—a feeling that I was being watched. I turned around again, but the darkness held its secrets close. It was as though the very trees were observing me, their silent judgment weighing heavily on my shoulders.

I quickened my pace, my footsteps echoing louder now, a stark contrast to the unnatural silence of the forest. I felt as though I was being herded, driven deeper into the woods by an unseen force. Panic gnawed at the edges of my mind, and I desperately wanted to turn back, to escape this nightmarish place.

But then, I stumbled upon a clearing, and the sight that greeted me made my blood run cold. In the center of the clearing was a circle of stones, ancient and weathered, with flickering candles placed around them. The air was thick with an otherworldly energy, and I could sense a presence, something not of this world.

As I approached the circle, a voice whispered in my ear, a soft, ethereal sound that sent shivers down my spine. "You shouldn't be here," it hissed, and I turned to see a figure standing just beyond the circle. It was cloaked in shadows, its features obscured, and yet its presence was undeniably malevolent.

Fear clawed at my throat as I tried to speak, but my voice failed me. The figure moved closer, and I could feel its gaze piercing into my soul. "You sought the unknown," it said, its voice dripping with malice. "Now you will face the consequences."

I tried to turn and run, but my legs were like lead, rooted to the spot. The candles around the circle flickered and went out, plunging the clearing into total darkness. Panic surged through me as I felt a cold, clammy hand close around my wrist. The figure was right behind me, its breath cold and foul against my neck.

I struggled, but it was as though I was trapped in a nightmare, unable to escape. The figure's grip tightened, and I could feel its malevolent presence enveloping me. My heart raced, and I knew that I was teetering on the precipice of something unimaginable.

Just as I thought I couldn't bear it any longer, a blinding light erupted from the circle of stones. It was a brilliant, pure light that pushed back the darkness and sent the figure recoiling with a shriek of agony. I fell to the ground, gasping for breath, as the figure was consumed by the light and vanished into the night.

I lay there for what felt like an eternity, my heart still racing, my mind reeling from the terror I had just experienced. When I finally mustered the courage to get up, I found myself alone in the clearing, the circle of stones now empty and lifeless.

I stumbled back through the forest, the symbols on the trees now a blur as I desperately tried to put distance between myself and that accursed clearing. I had sought the thrill of the unknown, and I had found it, but at a terrible cost. The horrors of that night would haunt me forever, a reminder that some mysteries are better left unsolved, and some places are better left unexplored.

halloweenfiction
2

About the Creator

Aaric Nilan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Wow, amazing! 💙♥️💜

  • Darkos8 months ago

    Brilliant I love it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.