Horror logo

The Eyes that Watch

Mystery in the mountains

By Hillary Curtis Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Eyes that Watch
Photo by Kevin Mueller on Unsplash

Somehow I always saw myself living a better life. The house, the car, and the picket fence with kids and a dog. I always dreamed of this extra extravagant life but after one really bad breakup and a lay off from my job I decided a new start was necessary. I sold my house and moved to the Mountains in Tennessee in hopes of restoring my peace of mind.

My name is Samantha Pick, yeah I know sounds weird but that’s me. I was packing my belongings and all these memories started to come back to me. I was so successful and so in love and then in an instant there was nothing. I quickly packed the U haul and began this trip toward a new life. It was a six hour drive that I made alone because all my friends were busy with careers and stuff. After a gruesome six hours I finally arrived at the big cabin that is now my new home. The trees were covered in a thin layer of snow and the place was this beautiful elegant white. It is almost like Christmas of course this is not what I’d see in Georgia.

I was met by a grounds keeper, Mr. Rider he called himself, he was tall, dark-haired,with blue eyes. He was actually quite handsome but a little weird at the same time.

He said, “Samantha right?”

“Yes.” I replied.

“I’d be really careful put here this place is no where for a lady like you.” He said with a menacing grin

“Well I’m sure I can manage!!” I said loudly

He walked away and as I saw him leave I looked up and saw a white owl in the tree. It was staring right at me, almost like it was reading my soul. Then it flew toward me and I ran away and in that instant I heard a snap and a big tree had fallen in the place I stood .

I looked up and the owl stared down at me and began making noises. Then the groundskeeper ran back and the owl was gone , no where to be found. He helped me move everything in and get my home set up nicely, I thanked him and he went on his way.

I sat on my laptop and began watching YouTube videos and laughing at some of my favorite YouTube stars and then,I see a little girl in my window dressed in all white.She had the most beautiful blonde hair, and her skin was all pale and she had on a beautiful white dress that shined so bright. I looked up and she had run off, I thought maybe it was a neighbors child. I brushed it off and kept watching my videos.

The next morning I asked the groundskeeper about the girl. He said, “don’t go digging for things, you may find more than you bargained for.” I began researching the house and I saw a picture of the little girl and her family. They said the little girl had gone missing but they later found her dead in the backyard. Not only to make matters worse I hear rustling in my home.

I grab the bat I keep near me at all times, and I go toward the noise. I creep slowly around the corner to the kitchen and there it is the white owl. I get closer and notice the window is open and wind is blowing in. I stepped closer and I saw a light come from the owl. It was so bright it was blinding and then all of sudden I was in the living room again except with a family.

I saw the little girl run off outside, I ran toward her to see where she went and then I saw someone dressed in all black snatch her . Then the light grew brighter and I was back in the kitchen. No owl, no open window, no nothing.

Now I knew the owl chose me,but now I’m uncertain about what it is I’m supposed to do. I have to find out what happened to her.

Like

About the Creator

Hillary Curtis

Writing is my life. I write every single day !!! If you want to see any specific contact. Send me challenges or any subject matter just send me an email [email protected] ! I will publish them here challenger included,gifts accepted.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.