Horror logo

The ex-wife who saved my life

Any creature can act as a Guardian Angel, whether it's your favorite cat, or a former partner. But does it play an important role in the world of Being if you are worthy of salvation?

By Julia NjordPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

It happened two years ago. My business trip was coming to an end, and I had to go home. After buying a ticket, I decided to wander around the city, as I still had three hours of time left. On the street, a woman approached me, whom I immediately recognized. This was my first wife, whom I divorced 12 years ago.

Elya hasn't changed at all, except that her face has become too pale. This meeting excited her no less than me. I loved her very much, to the point of pain, and because of this I got divorced. I was jealous of my wife for everyone, even her mother. As soon as she lingered a little longer, my heart started pounding wildly, and it seemed to me that I was dying. In the end, Elya left me, unable to withstand my daily questions: where she was, with whom and why.

One day I came home from work with a small puppy in my bosom; I wanted to please my wife with a funny gift, but there was no one in the room, and there was a note on the table. In the note, my wife wrote that she was leaving, although she loved me very much. My suspicions tormented her, and she decided to break up. Elya begged my forgiveness and begged me not to look for her…

And so, after 12 years of separation, I accidentally met her in the city, where I was on official business. We talked for a long time, and I remembered that I might miss the intercity bus. Finally I decided to say, "Sorry, but I have to go, I'm already late for my flight."

And then Elya said, "Mark, please do me a favor. I understand that you are in a hurry, but in order for us to be good, do not refuse my request. Let's go to one office, it's very important to me, and I can't go there alone."

Naturally, I agreed, but I said "Only quickly!"

We entered a large building and walked from one wing to another for a long time. We went up and down the stairs, and it seemed to me then that it took no more than 15 minutes. People passed by us, and they were all of different ages: from children to very old. At that moment, I didn't think about what children and old people could do in the administrative building. All my thoughts were focused on Ale.

At some point, she walked through the door and closed it behind her. Before closing the door, she looked at me as if she was saying goodbye, saying: "How strange, after all, I couldn't be with you or without you."

I stood at the door and waited for her to come out. I wanted to ask her what she meant by saying that last sentence. But she didn't come back. And then I seemed to come to my senses. I realized that I have to go, and I'm standing here and I'm late for my bus!

Looking around, I got scared. The building I was in was an abandoned structure. There were holes instead of window openings. There were no stairs at all. There were boards on which I descended with great difficulty.

I missed the bus by an hour, and I had to buy a new ticket for another flight. When I took the ticket, I was informed that the bus I was late for turned over and flew into the river. None of the passengers escaped. And two weeks later, I was standing at the door of my former mother-in-law, whom I found through the address bureau.

Miss Salrow informed me that Elya died 11 years ago, a year after our divorce. I didn't believe her, thinking that Ali's mother was afraid that I would pursue her daughter with my jealousy again.

To my surprise, my mother-in-law agreed to my request to show me the grave of my ex-wife. A couple of hours later, I was standing at the monument, from which the woman I had loved all my life was smiling at me and who inexplicably saved her for me.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Julia Njord

Hi! I'm glad to see you on my blog!

Mysticism and drama from life.

Subscribe to my blog and stories will come immediately to your email :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.